Author Topic: Considering a new Rigol DHO924 vs. Siglent SDS120X-E model - Any Bug stoppers?  (Read 2652 times)

Online radiohomebrewer2000Topic starter

• Contributor
Hello,
There seems to be 2 topics related to the Rigol DHO800/DHO900 series scopes. 
One topic only allowS discussion of the bugs in the Rigol DHO800/DHO900 series scopes. The other seems about unboxing, teardown, and hacking. Neither topic seems suited to my question.

I heard there are bugs in the Rigol DH0924.  Technically, any new model from any electronics manufacturer will have bugs...  So, not a shocker.

Have the bugs been fixed?  Are they important? blockers?

I am no professional; I am just an amateur radio operator who likes to build and test radio equipment in the HF frequencies and below including audio frequencies.  So, are the bugs a blocker for an amateur who would only be doing common measurements, such as, measuring the frequency and voltage of a VFO?

I really like the FFT math function in the new scope.  Which is why i was also interested in the Siglent SDS-1204X-E.
But maybe I can get by with just a TinySA as a spectrum analyzer.  Sure, you can get a Siglnet SDS-1104X-E and hack it, but then you still need 4 count of 200 MHz probes. Pay that, you might as well have bought the SDS-1204X-E.  I really like the markers and table listing the peaks in FFT - very helpful for identifying the harmonics and if there are indeed down below enough to meet government regulations concerning transmitter emissions.

The new Siglent SDS800X HD series scopes look nice but past my budget of $700.  Besides, they just came out.  I would rather the professionals/experts find the bugs first.  As an amateur it is hard enough to know if I properly measured something vs. the device under test really does have such and such issue vs. some unknown bug. 

Yet, the Rigol DHO924 is a very nice looking scope with a lot of cool new features including a very nice FFT that gives Siglent a run for the money.