Author Topic: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?  (Read 12985 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Marco

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5135
  • Country: nl
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #50 on: March 19, 2017, 12:28:25 am »
Only the sensor is inexpensive.  Include the rest of it and the development part is $150.

If your time is free, just experiment ... and report the results :p AFAICS the datasheet is complete. Diametric magnets, steel rod, bushings, springs ... it's all cheap.
 

Offline AlanS

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: au
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #51 on: March 15, 2019, 01:37:00 am »
For me it's the Keysight E36313A - John Kenny gives a good overview on YouTube.

The second best is the Prasimix's H24005A - a wonderful beast. Its screen is a little small and fiddly with fat fingers and it would benefit from having separate voltage and current knobs - with switches at each output. But still the best affordable P/S I've seen.
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1985
  • Country: us
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #52 on: March 15, 2019, 02:36:17 am »
For me it's the Keysight E36313A - John Kenny gives a good overview on YouTube.

The second best is the Prasimix's H24005A - a wonderful beast. Its screen is a little small and fiddly with fat fingers and it would benefit from having separate voltage and current knobs - with switches at each output. But still the best affordable P/S I've seen.


Poor yellow on the display for channel 1.
If they want to use yellow, then make the display yellow and NOT olive green.  :--
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12921
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #53 on: March 15, 2019, 03:02:02 am »
I wonder if they care about the lesson Xcelite learned.  Inexplicably, a higher percentage than expected of male technicians and engineers are color blind.
 

Offline CrazyTiger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: my
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #54 on: March 15, 2019, 02:29:00 pm »
I did happen to see the new R&S Power Supply NGL200, the UI is looking good :-+
The price point is about 2K euro for the base model  :palm:
The best part is it has 6.5 digit resolution
https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/nl/product/ngl200-productstartpage_63493-596117.html

*email tag removed

« Last Edit: March 15, 2019, 10:57:56 pm by CrazyTiger »
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 21156
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #55 on: March 15, 2019, 10:12:41 pm »
I did happen to see the new R&S Power Supply NGL200, the UI is looking good :-+
The price point is about 2K euro for the base model  :palm:
The best part is it has 6.5 digit resolution :-+

https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/nl/product/ngl200-productstartpage_63493-596117.html
You need to have deep pockets for this one:
Copy & paste from the website: Starting at EUR30,382,000  :scared:
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline Caio Negri

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: br
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #56 on: March 16, 2019, 08:27:40 pm »
I did happen to see the new R&S Power Supply NGL200, the UI is looking good :-+
The price point is about 2K euro for the base model  :palm:
The best part is it has 6.5 digit resolution
https://www.rohde-schwarz.com/nl/product/ngl200-productstartpage_63493-596117.html

*email tag removed
I find it weird that the 2-ch model doesn't have sense terminals on the front.
"Start where you are, use what you have, do what you can." - Arthur Ashe
 

Offline AlanS

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: au
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #57 on: March 17, 2019, 07:54:39 am »
Poor yellow on the display for channel 1.
If they want to use yellow, then make the display yellow and NOT olive green. 

Hmmm. Didn't notice that on the video - but the real thing is a lot better.

 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 304
  • Country: us
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #58 on: March 17, 2019, 05:17:37 pm »
I did happen to see the new R&S Power Supply NGL200, the UI is looking good :-+
The price point is about 2K euro for the base model  :palm:
The best part is it has 6.5 digit resolution
The price is not horrible considering it is a two-quadrant device, able to sink current.  It is a shame that Ethernet is a $$$ option and not standard.
 

Offline rsjsouza

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4634
  • Country: us
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #59 on: March 17, 2019, 06:45:23 pm »
Poor yellow on the display for channel 1.
If they want to use yellow, then make the display yellow and NOT olive green. 
Hmmm. Didn't notice that on the video - but the real thing is a lot better.
I was going to say that as well - the yellow is much better than what is shown in the video. Perhaps there was a white balance mishap during shooting.

The fact the Keysight can "zoom in" a channel of interest is quite interesting for me. However, I find the fonts of the options at the bottom menu a bit too thick for my taste, but this is nitpicking.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 07:50:00 pm by rsjsouza »
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...
 

Offline james_s

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14971
  • Country: us
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #60 on: March 17, 2019, 07:42:03 pm »
The price is not horrible considering it is a two-quadrant device, able to sink current.  It is a shame that Ethernet is a $$$ option and not standard.


I cannot imagine what I would need or want ethernet for on a power supply, certainly I wouldn't pay extra for it. IMHO nothing beats old fashioned analog knobs.
 

Offline rsjsouza

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4634
  • Country: us
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #61 on: March 17, 2019, 07:52:59 pm »
The price is not horrible considering it is a two-quadrant device, able to sink current.  It is a shame that Ethernet is a $$$ option and not standard.
I cannot imagine what I would need or want ethernet for on a power supply, certainly I wouldn't pay extra for it. IMHO nothing beats old fashioned analog knobs.
I would love if the E36312A had a better acceleration on its encoder knob - that or a fixed faster setting. I miss being able to continuously change a voltage using the knob.
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12921
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #62 on: March 17, 2019, 08:12:34 pm »
I cannot imagine what I would need or want ethernet for on a power supply, certainly I wouldn't pay extra for it. IMHO nothing beats old fashioned analog knobs.

I would want Ethernet on a source-meter in place of GPIB or serial for automation.
 

Offline james_s

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14971
  • Country: us
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #63 on: March 17, 2019, 09:36:55 pm »
If one is doing automation then some form of connectivity is great, but most people using a bench power supply are likely using it on a bench. Certainly I'm not doing production testing on my hobby bench, when I want to change the voltage I want to reach for a knob and change it. The best arrangement I've used has separate knobs for coarse and fine adjustment.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 21493
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #64 on: March 17, 2019, 10:35:33 pm »
If one is doing automation then some form of connectivity is great, but most people using a bench power supply are likely using it on a bench. Certainly I'm not doing production testing on my hobby bench, when I want to change the voltage I want to reach for a knob and change it. The best arrangement I've used has separate knobs for coarse and fine adjustment.
Yeah sure but if you need to check power ON rail sequencing then you need a programmable output timer function that you can set with the physical UI or via some utility program.

When you have projects/products with multiple rails you have to have the tools to allow this ^ or suffer any manner of unexplained behaviors.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 21156
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Is there such a thing as a Lab Power Supply with a decent UI?
« Reply #65 on: March 17, 2019, 10:56:23 pm »
If one is doing automation then some form of connectivity is great, but most people using a bench power supply are likely using it on a bench. Certainly I'm not doing production testing on my hobby bench, when I want to change the voltage I want to reach for a knob and change it. The best arrangement I've used has separate knobs for coarse and fine adjustment.
I hate fine and coarse adjustments. The fine adjustment is always at the end so you keep going back & forth. So far my favorite way of setting a voltage is just keying it in through a numerical keypad.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf