Author Topic: DG4000 - a firmware investigation  (Read 158022 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline roket

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ru
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #175 on: February 04, 2014, 08:38:23 am »
I meant file tool generates - ;DG4000 cengen; from cybernet for DG4062? http://pastebin.com/ipkJCxPM
doesn't work unfortunately  my mail roket333@rambler.ru
 

Offline roket

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ru
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #176 on: February 04, 2014, 10:59:26 pm »
help!  help!  SOS!  SOS!  |O
 

Online Orange

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Country: nl
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #177 on: February 05, 2014, 06:18:19 pm »
I meant file tool generates - ;DG4000 cengen; from cybernet for DG4062? http://pastebin.com/ipkJCxPM
doesn't work unfortunately  my mail roket333@rambler.ru

 

Offline roket

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ru
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #178 on: February 05, 2014, 07:13:13 pm »
thanks a lot, I already received, but it is good that it will be here
 

Offline dougbert

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #179 on: February 06, 2014, 01:04:45 am »
Silly question, but could someone please post instructions on how to upgrade firmware on DG4000?  I got a DG4062 for Xmas, ran the cengen output and would now like to upgrade to latest firmware.

BTW, is 00.01.07.00.03 still the newest available firmware?

Thanks,
Doug
 

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #180 on: February 06, 2014, 02:11:01 am »
BTW, is 00.01.07.00.03 still the newest available firmware?

Appears to be the case.  In fact, it's already later than the "latest" version listed on Rigol's website, which is 00.01.06
http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-000d/t/page/fm/0

Edit: actually, the link above is showing old information...dated June 2013...it is not the most recent info I have seen.  Appears to be something wrong with Rigol's "Firmware Request" feature at the moment...
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 02:21:50 am by Sparky »
 

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Country: us
DG4000 button responsiveness
« Reply #181 on: February 06, 2014, 03:01:00 am »
Hi everyone,

I noticed a change in my DG4062's response to button presses after applying the "cengen" upgrade to DG4202.  I thought perhaps it's just me, but I tried a retail DG4102 and it was more responsive, like my DG4062 used to be.  I just used my DG4062 again and I'm convinced there is a reduction in responsiveness to button presses.  Some times button presses are not even registered and I have to push the button twice or three times --- this never happened in the past, and nor did it happen on the DG4102 I used a couple of days ago.

I wonder if this is something to do with the cengen mod, or could it be related to a 01.07 firmware update I did around the same time?

For most of the time I've had the DG4062, I was running firmware 01.06 and never had any troubles with buttons.  I've only been running 01.07 since applying the cengen mod.

Has anyone experienced anything similar?

Cheers!
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 03:03:46 am by Sparky »
 

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 button responsiveness
« Reply #182 on: February 06, 2014, 07:11:51 am »
Hi everyone,

I noticed a change in my DG4062's response to button presses after applying the "cengen" upgrade to DG4202.  I thought perhaps it's just me, but I tried a retail DG4102 and it was more responsive, like my DG4062 used to be.  I just used my DG4062 again and I'm convinced there is a reduction in responsiveness to button presses.  Some times button presses are not even registered and I have to push the button twice or three times --- this never happened in the past, and nor did it happen on the DG4102 I used a couple of days ago.

I wonder if this is something to do with the cengen mod, or could it be related to a 01.07 firmware update I did around the same time?

For most of the time I've had the DG4062, I was running firmware 01.06 and never had any troubles with buttons.  I've only been running 01.07 since applying the cengen mod.

Has anyone experienced anything similar?

Cheers!

Answering my own question:  I decided to downgrade from 01.07 to 01.06 to see if indeed it was the firmware upgrade that caused it.  To my delight the responsive keys are back with 01.06 installed!  The higher max frequencies that come with the cengen (DG4202 model) change have remained.

So, at least in my instance, the 01.07 firmware had the effect of introducing a slower response time to detecting and processing key presses.  It seems weird that it could be true, but certainly the usability has improved back to what it was originally.

>> I am still be interesting to hear anyone else's experience related to button press responsiveness.  As a test, on 01.06, I can enter the sequence "121212121212" (say for frequency setting) quickly, one button after the other using a single finger and the key pad, it shows as you'd expect on the display "121212121212".  However on 01.07, it'll miss some keys and I'll get "121221212112122" where there are missing '1' and '2' where a key press wasn't detected/processed.

Anyone on 01.07 or 01.06 care to try it?
 

Online Orange

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 297
  • Country: nl
Re: DG4000 button responsiveness
« Reply #183 on: February 06, 2014, 04:31:34 pm »
Hi everyone,

I noticed a change in my DG4062's response to button presses after applying the "cengen" upgrade to DG4202.  I thought perhaps it's just me, but I tried a retail DG4102 and it was more responsive, like my DG4062 used to be.  I just used my DG4062 again and I'm convinced there is a reduction in responsiveness to button presses.  Some times button presses are not even registered and I have to push the button twice or three times --- this never happened in the past, and nor did it happen on the DG4102 I used a couple of days ago.

I wonder if this is something to do with the cengen mod, or could it be related to a 01.07 firmware update I did around the same time?

For most of the time I've had the DG4062, I was running firmware 01.06 and never had any troubles with buttons.  I've only been running 01.07 since applying the cengen mod.

Has anyone experienced anything similar?

Cheers!

Answering my own question:  I decided to downgrade from 01.07 to 01.06 to see if indeed it was the firmware upgrade that caused it.  To my delight the responsive keys are back with 01.06 installed!  The higher max frequencies that come with the cengen (DG4202 model) change have remained.

So, at least in my instance, the 01.07 firmware had the effect of introducing a slower response time to detecting and processing key presses.  It seems weird that it could be true, but certainly the usability has improved back to what it was originally.

>> I am still be interesting to hear anyone else's experience related to button press responsiveness.  As a test, on 01.06, I can enter the sequence "121212121212" (say for frequency setting) quickly, one button after the other using a single finger and the key pad, it shows as you'd expect on the display "121212121212".  However on 01.07, it'll miss some keys and I'll get "121221212112122" where there are missing '1' and '2' where a key press wasn't detected/processed.

Anyone on 01.07 or 01.06 care to try it?

Hi Sparky

I have an upgraded DG4102, running 1.07 FW and I cannot reproduce your findings, keyboard is responsive (sometimes a bit to overly responsive :-))
 

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 button responsiveness
« Reply #184 on: February 06, 2014, 05:09:38 pm »
Hi Sparky
I have an upgraded DG4102, running 1.07 FW and I cannot reproduce your findings, keyboard is responsive (sometimes a bit to overly responsive :-))

Thanks for checking Orange!  It is good to hear that keyboard remains very responsive on 01.07.  I will see if anyone else has further news.  Probably I will try a re-install of 01.07 after some more use and testing.
 

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 431
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 button responsiveness
« Reply #185 on: February 06, 2014, 10:39:43 pm »
I noticed a change in my DG4062's response to button presses after ......
Has anyone experienced anything similar?
@Sparky  No prblem here with 'Keyboard Version 04.01' 
 No stall here, with 2 index fingers tapping any 2 digits .

Thanks Teneyes for your testing and report.  I used the DG4062 again this morning, still okay with respect to button presses, so I decided to upgrade again to 01.07...

And, working good so far!  So, I've no idea why it was acting weird before, but working smooth now --- no missing digits when typing on the keypad!  Will call this "problem solved"!

Thanks Orange and Teneyes!
 

Offline Ivan7enych

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ru
    • My astronomy projects
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #186 on: February 25, 2014, 02:16:29 pm »
I was trying to compile source code with MS Studio 2010 and generate cen file, but have got invalid file.

After several attempts, I've found working instruction here (using online compiler) -
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/dg4000-a-firmware-investigation/msg333919/#msg333919

Byte comparison shows me that windows compiler added \r\n line ending in one place, after that all other bytes appear wrong. So the current source code is for unix only.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 02:27:04 pm by Ivan7enych »
 

Offline Commander_Alpha

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #187 on: March 19, 2014, 04:39:17 pm »
Hello Everybody,

a few days ago i received a new firmware for my DG4062. its version 1.08.

I attached the file. so everybody can try it.
ops to big. so here is the dropbox link

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39956960/DG4000%28DSP%29Update_00.01.08.00.02.zip

greets
 

Offline KedasProbe

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 542
  • Country: be
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #188 on: March 20, 2014, 09:14:59 am »
Thanks, it has a version history file:
Google translate
1) added more languages
2) increasing the synchronous output mode

So any idea what changed about the synchronous output, bugfix?

Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts.
[W. Bruce Cameron]
 

Offline ted572

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 405
  • Country: ca
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #189 on: April 22, 2014, 08:30:44 pm »
Thanks, it has a version history file:
Google translate
1) added more languages
2) increasing the synchronous output mode
So any idea what changed about the synchronous output, bugfix?
After installing the new firmware do you still have 160 MHz and any other option hack you had before?
   Thank you in advance.
 

Offline KedasProbe

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 542
  • Country: be
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #190 on: April 23, 2014, 11:05:28 am »
I did not hack my 100Mhz version (yet), so I cannot tell you.
Not everything that counts can be measured. Not everything that can be measured counts.
[W. Bruce Cameron]
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #191 on: April 23, 2014, 07:25:51 pm »
a few days ago i received a new firmware for my DG4062. its version 1.08.
I Loaded it , All looks ok
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline ted572

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 405
  • Country: ca
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #192 on: April 24, 2014, 11:13:07 am »
a few days ago i received a new firmware for my DG4062. its version 1.08.
I Loaded it , All looks ok
Teneyes:  Apparently you have your DG4000 set for 200MHz.  Questions:  1. When you use a automatic Sine sweep up to 200MHz is the output now flat, or does it drop off 4.5 - 5dB at 200 MHz from the output at 160MHz, as was our observation several months ago (whereas a manual CW sweep resulted in essentially a flat output level)?  2. Have you found any other glitches that were the result of having the DG4000 configured for 200MHz (instead of 160MHZ)?

I'm asking because I initially had my unit set for 200MHz, but decided to go back to 160MHz to avoid any other unknown glitches other than the level drop off above 160 MHz in the Sine sweep mode (although the CW output was flat up to 200MHz).  I also would like to use the 200MHz mod. for the benefit of the improved Rise and Fall times for the Square and Pulse waveforms, if all else is OK with the 200MHz.

Thank you for your opinion about the use/risks of using 200MHz vs. 160MHz.  Ted572

      PS   Firmware 00.01.08 is working fine for me also.  Thanks for your comments in your Reply 194 above.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2014, 12:05:45 pm by ted572 »
 

Offline EV

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 517
  • Country: fi
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #193 on: April 24, 2014, 11:30:46 am »
My generator is set to 160 MHz in factory. It drops about 1 dB from 1 MHz to 160 MHz.
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #194 on: April 24, 2014, 11:59:05 am »
2. Have you found any other glitches that were the result of having the DG4000 configured for 200MHz (instead of 160MHZ)?
I haven't done much with the DG4000
Just be aware to do "Auto Sweeps" only up to 160,
Manually(pic) set output is mostly flat to 200
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline hacker27

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #195 on: July 04, 2014, 01:33:32 pm »
I just noticed a problem upgrading to the non-existing DG4202: LXI does not work anymore. If you want to use LXI, stay with the DG4162, this works well.
 

Offline cybernet

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • Country: 00
  • pm deactivated, use the search function ...
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #196 on: July 04, 2014, 01:38:01 pm »
LXI works fine, for me.
if u mean the ultra sigma crap tool u have to hack the config files i doesnt know about a non existent model of course
___________________
"all rights reversed :-)"
R0=-0x18;
UNLINK;
RTS;
 

Online Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1673
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #197 on: August 03, 2014, 05:28:42 pm »
I've just ordered a DG4062.  I paln to try the upgrade to 4162 or higher.  Questions:

1. Is Clayton's online compile (bottom of P7 of this thread) to generate an upgrade .cen file still valid?
2. If I have vn 3.0 firmware, do I need to downgrade to 2.0 first?
3. Will the 4062 upgrade to 300 MHz? If so, what is the target model number?

Any guidance much appreciated.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Online Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1673
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #198 on: August 04, 2014, 11:51:59 am »
@ Gandalf
What are you talking about?    Check rigol. site for FW and models
Are you buying a DSO or a Function gen.  .
Erm... just having a senior moment, I'm talking about an AWG, the DG4062 but I am mixing my refs to firmware versions up with the DS2072 that I just ordered too.  But I guess the question is, does it matter what firmware version mine is (when it gets here) if I'm thinking of upgrading the AWG?
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 

Online Gandalf_Sr

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1673
  • Country: us
Re: DG4000 - a firmware investigation
« Reply #199 on: August 08, 2014, 12:37:54 am »
That was easy, just followed the instructions at the bottom of page 7.

I was concerned that my Ser# started DG4E1xxxxxxxx and that there was a strncmp or something that would block that but all I found in code were comments.

Parameters DG4062 DG4202 DG4E1xxxxxxxxx worked, extracted the cen file, and it was accepted no issues.  I can dial up 200 MHz sine waves but haven't actually scoped em.

How do I get to see the Sw Vn, all I see is 00.01.07

Will look at the cal stuff over the weekend.

 :-+
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf