Author Topic: Differences Among Keithley 610 Models  (Read 1548 times)

Offline adamredwineTopic starter

Differences Among Keithley 610 Models
« on: June 20, 2019, 12:16:14 pm »
I am relatively new to electrical test equipment but I am starting a PhD in experimental physics and need to learn fast.  My advisor says he knows that the Keithley 610C electrometer will work for our needs but he sees a model 610B for sale for a good price.  He has asked me to determine if the model B would work for our needs.

Now, I don't know the exact specifications we will need but I believe we will only need to use it as an ammeter for very low currents (around 10^-13 Amps).  I have obtained specification sheets for these models but they look functionally identical with the exception of one listing offset current and the other listing grid current.

Are there any big difference between these models that I should be aware of?  Generally, what differentiates the model (other than the 'R' designation for rack form factor)?

Online Kosmic

• Super Contributor
Re: Differences Among Keithley 610 Models
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2019, 03:33:43 pm »
My understanding is that the a, b and c models are revision. So they offer the same overall features but precision and accuracy was improved over time.

Personally I would try to get the later revision (610C).

Offline MadTux

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2019, 09:01:41 pm »
As I remember, the older A/B models used vacuum tube input amplifier, while C model uses FETs with isolated gate and super low gate leakage. Don't really know, which are better, vacuum tubes probably are more tolerant to abuse, while with the FET version, there are no vacuum tube related troubles.

Keithley 602 is different, in that it's battery powered. So add the price of like 10 9V batteries to your instrument and be prepared for leaked battery mess, when opening it.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2019, 09:03:18 pm by MadTux »

Online Kosmic

• Super Contributor