Author Topic: Hp1660c lan option.  (Read 973 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weistek

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Hp1660c lan option.
« on: November 08, 2015, 06:31:20 am »
This may fall under the repair sub forum but I'm not repairing anything yet.

I was curious if anyone had the schematics for this option and or had one they were willing to let go of?

I can't seem to find much on it. I'll do some more googling but I was just curious if anyone had any info on it. Also any interesting mods for this one? I know it's ancient but I like old equipment :)

Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk

 

Offline sleary78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: gb
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2018, 09:57:12 pm »
I just bought one. Plugged it in and no joy.

I can tell you its option E2472A LAN Upgrade

Photos to follow
 

Offline sleary78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: gb
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2018, 10:03:02 pm »


 

Offline sleary78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: gb
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2018, 10:05:17 pm »
It looks like a v simple circuit but I haven’t confirmed it working in a unit. It’s also an arse to install
 

Offline sleary78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: gb
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2018, 10:06:44 pm »
Also it’s integrated with the keyboard, mouse and parallel port ... so it’s unlikely anyone will part with theirs. But recreation is possible
 

Offline sleary78

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: gb
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2018, 10:08:10 pm »
Ok. I finally got this working. For anyone needing to do this here is the process.

1. Install the "new" IO Board (i.e. the module i posted a pic above.
2. If you havent got 8Mb of RAM already then upgrade the 72 pin SIMM to 8Mbyte (needed for LAN option)
3. Download the software to a floppy and reflash.

Step 3 is essential. It reconfigures the hardware based on the LAN option being detected.

Have fun.
 

Offline Copeland

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: nl
Re: Hp1660c lan option.
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2019, 11:16:22 am »
Any luck in ducplication the LAN option shown here?

Does any of you know where to get the software of the HP1660C? My Hard drive died.

Best Regards, Robert
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf