Author Topic: DP832 Timer/Delay  (Read 480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wolfgang6444

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
DP832 Timer/Delay
« on: October 27, 2019, 04:59:22 pm »
I own a Rigol DP832 and want to use the timer/delay but don't understand how to set it up from the front-panel.
The user-manual is not much help either. Maybe somebody can give me a kick-start.

What I want to do:
For some HTOL-test I want to program the DP832 to force say 12V with say 1A of current-limitation.
Now I want to interrupt this every 10minutes for say 10 seconds - either by switching the corresponding output off/on, or by periodically setting the voltage to 0V.
I would like the instrument to cycle this forever.

If possible I would prefer to this without controlling the instrument externally.

Many thanks,

Wolfgang
 

Offline H.O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 638
  • Country: se
Re: DP832 Timer/Delay
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2019, 07:30:59 pm »
I'll try a step by step instruction:
Press the Timer button to enter the Timer/Delayer feature.
Press soft button Timer Set
Press soft button Groups, enter 2, press OK.
Press soft button Parameters, use the Up(V), Down(mV), Left(mA), Right(A) keys to navigate the "cells" of the Groups at the bottom of the screen.
Enter 12V, 1A, 600s for Group 0 and 0V, 0A, 10s for Group 1.
Press the -->1/3 soft button until you see the Cycles option at the bottom, press it until Cycles reads infinite
Press the -->2/3 soft button until you see the 'Enter button' at the bottom, press it to get out of the configuration window.

Now enable the output and then press the Timer Off soft button, confirm the message with the OK button.

/Henrik.
 

Offline wolfgang6444

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: DP832 Timer/Delay
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2019, 07:40:59 pm »
Great,

this seems to work.
Is there a way to use more than a single output at a time with timers?

Many thanks,

Wolfgang
 

Offline JDubU

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 260
Re: DP832 Timer/Delay
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2019, 07:59:44 pm »
You can press the channel select buttons on the front panel (labelled 1, 2, 3) while in the timer settings screen to edit each channel separately.
 

Offline H.O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 638
  • Country: se
Re: DP832 Timer/Delay
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2019, 08:04:14 pm »
Yes, I just tried it - as JDubU says.
For what originally described perhaps the delayer is a bit easier, I don't know.
 

Offline wolfgang6444

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: DP832 Timer/Delay
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2019, 09:29:14 am »
O.K.,

I think I got the concept:
There is actually a separate timer per channel.
Each timer can be programmed, started and stopped independently.
What is called 'Group'  is actually a single step in the programmed sequence.

Many thanks,

Wolfgang

BTW:
Can I also program the On/Off switches?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf