Author Topic: Dodgy Fuses?  (Read 1059 times)

Offline slubtleTopic starter

Dodgy Fuses?
« on: January 09, 2020, 11:05:40 pm »
Hey everyone,

My next project is a DIY valve amplifier kit, so having something which can handle decent voltages and currents without killing me is an absolute imperative. I upgraded my very, very old Fluke 77 for a used Fluke 175 off trademe, and it seems in pretty good condition.

The first thing I checked after it turned on was the fuses. They both appear not to have blown, but it looks like the previous owner had a wildly-out-of-spec fuse in the 440mA spot, and I wanted to make sure that:

a) I was reading it correctly; and
b) there isn't anything fishy about the 11A fuse too

I've already ordered a proper replacement 440mA from element14, but given the intended use of this meter is the high energy inside valve amps, I want to be 100% that I'm as safe as I can be before touching anything. I'm a newbie to electronics, but am slowly learning and taking on projects to learn as the hobby deepens. That being said, I have an immense amount to learn, so coming here with my question was intended to check with infinitely more experienced and knowledgeable folks to make sure my thinking is correct.

Cheers!

Offline Yansi

• Super Contributor
  • STM32, STM8, AVR, 8051
Re: Dodgy Fuses?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2020, 11:15:05 pm »
There is none "high energy" anywhere within valve amps, unless you are of course poking one with kilovolts anode voltages and thousands of output watts.

I wouldn't be scared to poke in a valve amp using a cheap Uni-T multimeter.

When high energy is relevant, is using the meter within power distribution/industrial equipment and industrial size power inverters, where the cap banks easily store kJ of energy. (not your typical pisspoor valve amp).

Offline wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2020, 11:20:26 pm »