Author Topic: DS1054Z Rs232 decoding  (Read 7745 times)

Offline nealfoxTopic starter

• Contributor
DS1054Z Rs232 decoding
« on: February 28, 2018, 03:04:57 pm »
I am having problems performing Rs232 decoding with my new DS1054Z. While I have years of experience using analog scopes I’m new to digital scopes and protocol decoding. So, I’m trying to determine is I have a problem with my scope or with me.

I am generating a serial stream using an Arduino Uno and capturing it as a single-shot. As I start examining it everything is fine but at some point, as I change the horizontal position the decode breaks up. Also sometimes changing the timebase effects the decode.

Offline m_t

• Contributor
    • GitHub
Re: DS1054Z Rs232 decoding
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2018, 03:39:44 pm »
Unfortunately, there is no way to fix this. The RS232, I2C and SPI decoders on the 1054Z all stop working if your timebase setting is too large. Also, the list view only decodes the waveform currently shown on the display. This can be pretty annoying if you have to "scroll" through a long single shot capture.

The following users thanked this post: nealfox

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2018, 03:58:12 pm »
Yep. It has a lot of limitations.

It's good for finding out if RS232 is working correctly or not but it's not a serious tool for hacking or examining long data sequences.

(Use your Arduino for that...)

Offline GeorgeOfTheJungle

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2018, 04:03:41 pm »
That's correct, but in the 2nd image the rigol should have lost only the first "o" in the "o-p-q..." sequence, not everything up to the "A-B..." as it did, no?
The further a society drifts from truth, the more it will hate those who speak it.

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2018, 04:27:16 pm »