Author Topic: DS2000A Upgrade Utility  (Read 115154 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mrflibble

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2024
  • Country: nl
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #50 on: April 09, 2014, 04:08:47 pm »
They are stupid and I have no idea why people use them.  I inherently distrust software served from these places.  Legit software authors should know better.
Or at the very least provide some checksums. Provided you trust the authors post on this forum of course. At least that then solves the "I trust you, but not your crappy download location" issue.

That method has worked for me in the past. Get the part including the checksums using annoyingly slow but trusted channel A, then get the bulk using non-trusted but fast channel B. Then verify checksums. And if they managed that many hash collisions I deserve the malware. :P

« Last Edit: April 09, 2014, 04:34:03 pm by mrflibble »
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #51 on: April 09, 2014, 04:23:55 pm »
Happy to host the full version, but these stupid download sites make me download it at home then upload it again, and after 100MB or so I gave up. If anyone wants me to bother, just ask.
PM-ed you
 

Offline ve7xen

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 756
  • Country: ca
    • VE7XEN Blog
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #52 on: April 09, 2014, 05:56:15 pm »
stupid download sites

They are stupid and I have no idea why people use them.  I inherently distrust software served from these places.  Legit software authors should know better.
  • Amazon S3 (< $0.10/month for the traffic we'll create for a file this size.)
  • Dropbox
  • OneDrive
  • Google Drive
  • etc...

I can kinda understand, as one may not trust the anonymity of services that require a login (or credit card!) for a "hacking" tool.

madcrow requested, so I have now mirrored both files.
73 de VE7XEN
He/Him
 

Offline Kappes Buur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #53 on: April 10, 2014, 02:42:20 am »
I tried to use this tool on my new DS2072A.

It could not detect the USB-connected scope at that step after loading the custom firmware.

Ditto.

When I plug in the scope, the computer plays the connection sound but nothing appears in the selection pane.

During the installation process, some NI utility was installed, but obviously not the correct one.
So, I downloaded visa540_runtime from ni.com, where I had to create an account. After unzipping and running setup.exe, a message came up that no notifications could be found and no software will be installed. Then I downloaded the same named program from Batronix and again, no software will be installed.

Ergo, while the upgrade utility will work for some, it does not work for others.

It just sounded too good to be true.
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #54 on: April 10, 2014, 08:42:04 am »
I tried to use this tool on my new DS2072A.

It could not detect the USB-connected scope at that step after loading the custom firmware.

Ditto.

When I plug in the scope, the computer plays the connection sound but nothing appears in the selection pane.

During the installation process, some NI utility was installed, but obviously not the correct one.
So, I downloaded visa540_runtime from ni.com, where I had to create an account. After unzipping and running setup.exe, a message came up that no notifications could be found and no software will be installed. Then I downloaded the same named program from Batronix and again, no software will be installed.

Ergo, while the upgrade utility will work for some, it does not work for others.

It just sounded too good to be true.

Sorry about the connection issue, guys.
Last night, I investigated the issue and found the cause of the problem (dll binding redirect stuff). Stay tuned for a fixed version in the next couple of days ;)
I am happy to provide technical details about the problem and fix, too, in case someone is interested.
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #55 on: April 11, 2014, 08:38:23 pm »
========UPDATE========
=====================

I am happy to announce that the connection issue reported by Noircogi and Kappes Buur is now completely fixed.
I performed all my recent tests on a WIN8.1 x64 VM, so now I can also confirm that the Utility is fully compatible with Win8[.1].
I also thoroughly tested (and then updated) the install / uninstall mechanism.
The new release along with the changelog is available in the OP.
Have fun :)
« Last Edit: April 11, 2014, 10:14:16 pm by madcrow »
 

Offline hari

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: at
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #56 on: April 12, 2014, 06:25:40 am »
the tool itself seems to be a nice job, but I also think that lowering the effort for the hack that much puts even more pressure on Rigol to prevent such hacks in the future. My 2c.
 

Offline Kappes Buur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #57 on: April 12, 2014, 07:01:57 am »
========UPDATE======== worked perfectly. Thank you.

My two cents worth on if this is good or bad in the long run.
From what I can tell, the DS2072A is just flying off the shelf, at least at Tequipment.
They seem to buy them in 100 lots and within a few weeks they are gone. I doubt
very much, that this kind of sales turnover could have been achieved without the
possibility of an easy upgrade.

If  this had not been investigated as thoroughly as indicated in the 'Sniffing' thread,
most likely some other, lower priced oscilloscope, would have been more popular.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2014, 07:06:25 am by Kappes Buur »
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #58 on: April 13, 2014, 05:39:12 pm »
@madcrow

sorry mate,  Stupid Question

I had the same issue with the USB Connection Not Detecting
i know you said the fix was available at the OP

i didn't understand what you meant by that

I'm assuming i need to re download the Standard Edition with Installer from this location again
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/ds2000a-upgrade-utility/
and then repeat the process ??

i did that, However the file is the same and i get the same issue

is there another location i should be getting the file from

I'll keep a keen eye on this Forum and Await your reply

thanks again, in advance.
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #59 on: April 13, 2014, 06:55:44 pm »
For the Sake of Troubleshooting and Further to my issue of Running the Application and not having the DS2072A Detect at the "Connect to DS2000A to your computer" STAGE

I've checked my Drivers
I"m using Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit with Service Pack 1

I've checked Device Manager and under "Portable Devices"  DS2072A is listed as having the Driver Successfully installed
and
thus explaining why When i plug in the DSO to USB it will Automatically detect

I Tried Manually installing the Nivisa Package , since i know it has the Drivers in the package

this did not help the issue

I checked the Directory location
{install location}\Temp          since the process did not complete, this location does not contain any error Logs

I checked the Installers Folder and the NiVisa .txt File  there's a lot there
but.. i don't think there are any errors

What do you suggest i do next

i think what you meant by   OP, may have been O.P. = Original Post  (just guessing)

i did go to the Original Post and found a Second Link but that didn't help much either

PS, is there something i'm supposed to do with the Changelog file,  i don't clearly understand what the ChangeLog File is for

i do However understand what the purpose of the Portable Version is .

Awaiting you reply
thanks ahead of time
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline Kappes Buur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #60 on: April 13, 2014, 09:53:16 pm »
I am not sure if this will help you.

After the unsuccessful attempt I uninstalled everything National Instruments related.

I didn't have much success with the download from
http://www.filedropper.com/ds2000aupgradeutility1001installer

so I downloaded this one
http://gotroot.ca/rigol/DS2000A_Upgrade_Utility_1_0_0_1_Installer.exe

The 1001installer installs the app in C:\Program Files (x86)\DS2000A Upgrade Utility
and installs NI visa540_runtime.exe during the setup procedure.

Then running DS2000A_Upgrade_Utility.exe everything went smoothly.

Just one question though, when you hook up your scope to the PC, you are using the rear
USB-B connector ? On my scope the usb cable connector had to be pushed onto the scope
connector with some force before it was seated properly.
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #61 on: April 14, 2014, 02:41:57 am »
Hi Kapper Buur

i read your post,
My thoughts are as follows:

1. I agree with you about the filedropper.com link, it's a bit iffy and sometimes works and sometimes doesnt

2. i also Uninstalled Everything related to this entire solution before i installed this Work around solution

3. LOL   i like the fact that you asked the question "Did i connect the PC to the Rear or Front USB of the scope" LOL... no offense taken though, it's cool   this actually never occurred to me,   YES i connected it to the Rear of the Scope as per the instruction Manual,
Besides the Cable that came with the Scope is USB A - USB B
the Rear of the scope is USB B, so  if we think about it,  i actually couldn't plug it into the wrong place anyway, because the computer is USB A

but.. RESPECT goes to you for being thorough in your troubleshooting and assuming that i'm a new who doesn't know Jack LOL   it's all good mate.

on a serious note though.

I'll try the same procedure on my laptop
Maybe, (not sure why it would matter) , but maybe it's because my PC is a 64bit system
i'll do your procedure on my laptop and see what happens and then i'll post my results.

thanks mate
be cool
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline Kappes Buur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #62 on: April 14, 2014, 03:23:54 am »
My system:


Perhaps, for the installer to run properly you may need
Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5.1, Microsoft Silverlight
or some such.

But madcrow would know for sure.
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #63 on: April 14, 2014, 09:00:06 am »
Interesting...

My System is...
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit OEM, Service Pack 1
Intel Core i7 2.8GHz
RAM DDR3  16GB  1333MHz

Net Framework is CONFIRMED to be 4.5.1
Microsoft Silverlight IS installed

further to all this

I have disabled Norton Internet Security , Spyware and Windows Firewall and Defender

in light of the whole executable showing up as a false positive, it stands to reason that antivirus MAY be blocking the detection from the USB Ports

it still didn't work

Anyway, I"m now in the process of Reformatting and Installing Win 7 Pro 32bit on my laptop

I'm that far into the process that it's just easier to go ahead and test it, Just in case.

the O/S is installed
I've just finished installed all Base Drivers

I'm going to get back to it, and see how it goes, i should be able to check back in in about an hour or so and let you all know how i went with it.

by the way
how do i get into contact with madcrow  HE/SHE has disabled their PM

thanks for your patience with me in this matter, i really really appreciate it.
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline AndersAnd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: dk
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #64 on: April 14, 2014, 09:14:05 am »
Changelog
Instead of uploading a .txt file you have to download and open before seeing the changelog, I would suggest just posting the changelog in the original post.
Alternatively post the changelong to pastebin instead, so you can view it directly in the browser, and still be able to hit the download button at the top to download it in a .txt file.

Example: http://pastebin.com/0LeULaSE

I would also suggest adding the application name in the top of the changelog document so you can see what program it for.

Before creating a pastebin you can set these options:
Syntax Highlighting:
Paste Expiration: [set time or chose never]
Paste Exposure: [Public/Unlisted/Private]
Paste Name / Title:

There's a link at the bottom named "create a new version of this paste", but remember to enter a "Paste Name / Title:" every time you do that, otherwise the document will be named "Untitled". Including the version number in the document in the "Paste Name / Title:" would be nice.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2014, 09:32:22 am by AndersAnd »
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #65 on: April 14, 2014, 09:49:20 am »
ok.  SO...

@ Kappes Buur


I've failed to get the Passed the USB recognition stage
with the Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit system

another thing i discovered was that i had the USB cable plugged into a 3.0 Port (not sure if that's relevant or not)

either way

with the New installation of Win 7 Pro OEM 32bit on my laptop
the laptop has a USB 2.0

i did only the following

- Installed the O/S
- Installed only Necessary Drivers for the laptop
- Installed Flash Player 13 Active X
- Installed Shockwave Player 12.1
- Installed Java 7 Update 51

the Applilcation you wrote installed

- Bonjour
-Microsoft NET Framework 4.5.1
- National Instruments Software
- Visa Shared Components

i ran all that, and that only
Same issue  at the stage where the DSO needs to be connected to the USB Port on the computer, it doesn't detect in the software

However, in Device Manger IT DOES SHOW UP as
PORTABLE DEVICES
                                DS2072A
                                F:\
                                G:\

as well as the fact that it always Detects in Windows Automatically

NOTE: this occurs because your application of course, installs the drivers (i didn't install drivers seperately)

after this Failure

i installed Microsoft Silverlight and did the whole thing all over again,

Still no luck

same issue

i then Disabled Windows Firewall and Windows Defender  (the system currently has no other antivirus or malware applications installed.

i then attempted the procedure...
still no luck

i then went to the extreme of adding DS2000A Utility in the menu of

Windows Firewall / Add Another program though the firewall
I'm connected Via Ethernet to my router
the current network is NOT HOMEGROUP and the current network is HOME NETWORK private.
Permissions have been granted to the application and it still doesn't run

Any ideas...

THANKS
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #66 on: April 14, 2014, 10:30:12 am »
OK... GOT IT

[Let me now contain my excitement Just long enough to explain how i fixed the issue]

SO..
After doing all of the above i got to thinking as follows

- My PC works without issues
- MY PC is 64 bit win 7 but then again, others have had the application work on 64 bit as well
  and.. on top of that, the 64 bit thing shouldn't be a factor anyway.
- after the reformat of the Laptop and retry several times unsuccessfully, i started to think
   that perhaps the download was at fault
   BUT.. That' Can't be right either,  Because others have used the same download and confirmed success of Upgrade

- i Then started to explore the idea that perhaps My RIGOL Supplied USB Cable (USB A - USB B) May be faulty,   but that was sort of dumb, considering that windows Flawlessly recognizes the device.

- i then thought it may be the actual USB B Port on the Scope that may be faulty or Loose
   so, i jiggled the cable around slightly , but then again, it occured to me
   that can't be the case either, because . IT DETECTED IN WINDOWS

- FINALLY WE GET TO THIS POINT
  i decide to have a look through all the options in the scope (Keeping in mind that i'm new to this piece of hardware.

after a bit of fiddling around, ...
I DISCOVERED THE SOLUTION

in UTILITY\IO SETUP\USB DEVICE     it was set to PictBridge
as opposed to AUTO  or   COMPUTER

I SET IT TO  "COMPUTER"
and re ran the software, with all fingers and toes crossed
and YES... SUCCESS

it detected right away

i changed the setting back and was able to duplicate the problem

i then went back to my original PC and was able to duplicate the problem and rectify the problem there as well,

and performed the Upgrade without a Hitch

I'M NOW HAPPY AS A KID IN A CANDY STORE.



guys, i want to sincerely thank everyone for helping me on this

I want to especially thank the following people
- DAVE JONES    For actually creating this super cool forum where you can actually interact with Intelligent people who actually know something, and can actually teach me a thing or two.
And for keeping the Legend of Marty McFly Alive in today's day.

-  CYBERNET,  Mate, thanks a million for reverse engineering this  and saving everyone thousands of dollars in upgrades,  and thanks for doing all this Free of Charge
(i'm the same way , i help people in this way as well, when i can)

- MADCROW - Thankyou to you also mate, for all your effort and development, Your a champion

- KAPPES BUUR - Thanks mate for your patience with me, i appreciate everything

AND LASTLY, I'd like to say this to everyone and extent this offer to anyone on this forum.

At first i just thought EEV Blog was a You Tub thing and a Website,
it wasnt until i started researching this Rigol Scope thing that i discovered that Dave had a Forum

the People one this forum Seem to be pretty cool
I'd like to actively participate and Help

if anyone needs anything from me, and i can help, Please let me know
Especially if you are the above mentioned people that i thanked


Thanks Again guys,
Really Appreciate it
Be Cool
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline AndersAnd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 568
  • Country: dk
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #67 on: April 14, 2014, 10:34:33 am »
I DISCOVERED THE SOLUTION

in UTILITY\IO SETUP\USB DEVICE     it was set to PictBridge
as opposed to AUTO  or   COMPUTER

I SET IT TO  "COMPUTER"
and re ran the software, with all fingers and toes crossed
and YES... SUCCESS

it detected right away

i changed the setting back and was able to duplicate the problem

i then went back to my original PC and was able to duplicate the problem and rectify the problem there as well,

Does it work on the AUTO setting too? Would be nice to know if it should be included in a user's guide.
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #68 on: April 14, 2014, 11:09:41 am »
OK,  i can easily test that for you without the need to reflash the Firmware

give me 5 mins, i'll test all the options for you.

STANDBY....
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #69 on: April 14, 2014, 11:31:42 am »
Hi Mate

Now.. what i found out was this

When you run the DS2000A Upgrade Utility
and you get past the screen where is loads the Custom Firmware onto USB
and then you required to plug in your DSO, but it doesn't detect

HERE'S THE DEAL

You need to go to UTILITY\USB DEVICE

You have 3 visible Items
Auto Detect
Computer
PictBridge

Now (AT LEAST ON MY SCOPE) it seems that only the last 2 are selectable

I guess (and it is just a guess) that it's always in Auto Detect Mode

I did some further reserach
i downloaded the Manual which is available here
http://www.rigolna.com/download/501G00000001PKXIA2/

and the relevant page is ........ 14-6

it reads as follows:
============================================================
USB Device

This oscilloscope can communicate with PC or PictBridge printer via the USB Device interface at the rear panel. You need to set the oscilloscope to make it match with different device types.

Press Utility - IO Setting - USB Device and use (Intesity Knob) to select the desired device type.

- Computer: in this type, the oscilloscope can communicate with the PC.
- PictBridge: in this type, the oscilloscope can communicate with the PictBridge printer.
===============================================================

Going off that
i would guess to say that the Manufacturer has it in AutoDetect Mode always, but you can force it to Communicate with a Port at will

Mine was in PictBridge Mode when i had the problem
that was most likely as a result of my other Engineer freind who came over the evening and who owns an Old 7 Year old Tektronix Digital Scope

He must have changed the setting without me realizing it.

But.. I'm unable to actually manually select Auto Detect
and i've tried going through the scope to find other relevant settings that may Cause this item to NOT BE GREYED OUT

have not had any luck finding such an item

will continue to tinker with my scope, and if i happen to find a way to do it, i'll post it,
but, going off the manual i'm guessing that won't happen.

Hope this has helped you
let me know if you need any further assistance

BE COOL
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline Kappes Buur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 136
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #70 on: April 14, 2014, 02:51:25 pm »
I'M NOW HAPPY AS A KID IN A CANDY STORE.

Yup, that about describes it.  :)

Well, done with that troubleshooting.
 

Offline BTO

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #71 on: April 14, 2014, 03:01:51 pm »
Thanks mate
and Now, after a good nights rest
and Purely for the sake of satisfying my thirst for knowledge

I'm going to go away tomorrow and sit down and make sense of all the relevant bits in this enormous blog
put it down in a Word Doc and have a read through it

Im now going to try to go away and Understand exactly how

CYBERNET
YOURSELF
MADCROW
ZOMBIE

Reverse Engineered all this stuff

i guess that will all be good fun
im sure it'll keep me busy for a few months. LOL

BE Cool Guys  :)
QUESTION EVERYTHING!!!
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #72 on: April 14, 2014, 06:04:09 pm »
Looks like I am a bit late to the party :)
Nevertheless, I will still try and answer some of your questions which might be relevant for others who are troubleshooting their installation:
  • OP = Original Post. All the links in the first post have been updated. All of them point to the new, 1.0.0.1 versions.
  • Reinstallation / Installing a newer version: I have not written any instructions about this, because I considered it unnecessary. You can just run the installer (which will overwrite your existing installation), or alternatively, you can uninstall your current version, then install the one you wish to use. Both solutions achieve exactly the same result, it makes absolutely no difference which method you choose.
  • Portable version: It is a ZIP archive of the software without an installer and without the prequisites.
  • Prequisites: .Net 4.5 / 4.5.1, Bonjour 3, NI Visa 5.4. That is it. The installer of the Utility installs all of these dependencies by default (unless they - or their newer versions - are already installed). There is nothing else you need to install manually afterwards.
    If installation of one of those prequisites fails, and then you attempt to launch the Utility you should expect the following behaviour, (depending on which dependency is missing):

    .Net: The Utility will not start.

    NI VISA: You will be greeted by a message box saying the application could not find the VISA runtime. Clicking OK will terminate the application.

    Bonjour: In fact, Bonjour is not even a mandatory requirement. The Utility is capable of operating without it. The only restriction you will have if it is not installed is that the Utility won't let you initiate an LXI device discovery in Quick Config mode (i.e. the "LXI search" button will always be grayed out).
  • PM: As far as I know, I am available via PM. In fact I've just PMed myself, to make sure :D (Just press the button below my name). If it really doesn't work please let me know, and I'll try to enable it.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2014, 06:32:17 pm by madcrow »
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #73 on: April 14, 2014, 06:10:14 pm »
You need to go to UTILITY\USB DEVICE

You have 3 visible Items
Auto Detect
Computer
PictBridge

Now (AT LEAST ON MY SCOPE) it seems that only the last 2 are selectable

I checked on my DS2072A, (FW#00.02.01.00.03), and I experienced the same thing: the "Auto Detect" option is always grayed out. I could not find a way to enable it either :S
 

Offline madcrow

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #74 on: April 14, 2014, 06:25:36 pm »
Alternatively post the changelong to pastebin instead, so you can view it directly in the browser, and still be able to hit the download button at the top to download it in a .txt file.
Example: http://pastebin.com/0LeULaSE
Hey AndersAnd,

Thanks a lot for your great pastebin tutorial! I will definitely take your advice.
TBH, wanted to use a solution exactly like the one you've just showed me. But I did not know which hosting site can achieve this, so I just went with filedropper instead.

I replaced the link in the OP with the one you created.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2014, 06:34:57 pm by madcrow »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf