Author Topic: DS2000A Upgrade Utility  (Read 113549 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline adi101

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #100 on: July 07, 2014, 02:32:58 pm »
Hello all, I am new to this forum.

I am trying to upgrade my brand new DS2072A to 300MHz.
I have installed this utility, but I get stuck because the boot loader doesn't load the modified .GEL file.
The USB stick seems to be good, I have saved a picture on it just fine.

After pressing the Power-up and Help buttons in sequence very fast and inserting the USB stick, instead of getting the Ch1 LED blinking, the boot loader jumps to lighting all the LEDs, as it was all finished.
The only .GEL file that gets loaded ok with this procedure is the latest file from the site, which is version 03.00.01.03.
My scope's  FW version is 00.03.00.SP1.

I have read that the FW could be downgraded to v2.0 first, but I have no idea if this is the solution to my problem (or which .GEL file to use for this operation).
Could you please help me with this?
Thank you very much.
 

Offline f1rmb

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: fr
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #101 on: July 07, 2014, 06:23:56 pm »
Hi,

Hello all, I am new to this forum.

I am trying to upgrade my brand new DS2072A to 300MHz.
I have installed this utility, but I get stuck because the boot loader doesn't load the modified .GEL file.
The USB stick seems to be good, I have saved a picture on it just fine.

After pressing the Power-up and Help buttons in sequence very fast and inserting the USB stick, instead of getting the Ch1 LED blinking, the boot loader jumps to lighting all the LEDs, as it was all finished.
The only .GEL file that gets loaded ok with this procedure is the latest file from the site, which is version 03.00.01.03.
My scope's  FW version is 00.03.00.SP1.

I have read that the FW could be downgraded to v2.0 first, but I have no idea if this is the solution to my problem (or which .GEL file to use for this operation).
Could you please help me with this?
Thank you very much.

Maybe the .GEL file you'd put on the USB stick is corrupted. Just re-download it then try again.

Cheers.
 

Offline adi101

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #102 on: July 08, 2014, 12:00:54 pm »
Thank you for your reply.
I have tried with all .GEl files, the only one working is the latest firmware v3.
Looking at the FPGA version, I see that the MCU version is 00.06, which is newer than what others reported that works.

I don't know, but this could be the problem, that RIGOL has upgraded and patched it with the latest release.
If this is the case, what is the solution?

Regards and thank you.
 

Offline n40

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #103 on: July 09, 2014, 06:29:49 am »
I just wanted to second what adi101 said. I have just received a new DS2072A with the latest firmware installed - 00.03.00.01.03 (installed at the factory) and I cannot seem to load any of the firmwares available on http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/.

I have tried the license key dump version, the non-A license key version, even the stock standard version 02.01.00.03 and the scope doesn't seem to load any of them. I have used 5 different USB keys just to be certain that it is none of those as well.

Is it possible that Rigol have patched the latest firmware/bootloader to no longer allow downgrades?

Thanks.
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #104 on: July 09, 2014, 07:21:19 am »
Hello all, I am new to this forum.
After pressing the Power-up and Help buttons in sequence very fast and inserting the USB stick, instead of getting the Ch1 LED blinking, the boot loader jumps to lighting all the LEDs, as it was all finished.
For the New owners of DS2072A, to help clarify.
Are there Trial options on these latest purchased DS2000?

Do you observe that after pressing help on boot-up :
    1: That all LEDs go off and ONLY the "SINGLE"  is ON
    2: then when the USB stick is inserted the active led on the USB stick flashes? at least once
    3: if the USB stick Flashes only once and NO 'CH 1" flashing , try removing and re-insert.

Try Small 4GB Stick works Best, make sure only a few files,
for me I use 2 files  DS2000Update.GEL  and DS2000Update_00.03.00.00.00.GEL   in order to tell which FW is on each Stick
« Last Edit: August 26, 2014, 11:34:37 pm by Teneyes »
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline AintBigAintClever

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #105 on: July 09, 2014, 07:58:11 am »
I found (using a 32MB - yes, 32 MEGAbyte - MMC card in an SD-USB adapter) that the following would happen:-
1) Press help on bootup: SINGLE light lit
2) Plug in USB adapter with MMC card: nothing
3) Unplug USB adapter and plug it back in again: indicator on reader lights up, card starts reading, everything goes to plan.
 

Offline n40

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #106 on: July 09, 2014, 08:07:25 am »
Teneyes,

To answer your questions:
Yes there are trials enabled - I will take a shot and send it if you need that. Just let me know.
1. Yes I have done that. Only the "single" light is lit.
2. Just like adi101 said, as soon as you insert a USB (containing only the DS2000Update.GEL) the CH1 lights for just a moment (not what I'd call flashing) and then ALL of the other lights are lit solid.
3. I have tried re-inserting the USB stick and I have tried numerous different keys. No change in the symptoms. I have also left the key inserted for a "long time" (5-10mins). Again no change. I have retried the sequence 10+ times. No change.

I have tried 7 different keys now from really old 1GB devices, several 4GB and a couple modern 8GB devices. I have tested all of these USB keys using the file browser in the "storage" menu with the scope booted normally and all of the USB's seem to work fine, but I have not been able to install the older firmware's from any of them using the "help" bootloader technique.

I am keen to try out anything that you might need to get to the bottom of this.

Thanks.
 

Offline theatrus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Country: us
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #107 on: July 09, 2014, 03:39:17 pm »
Looks like the FileDropper links have stopped working.
Software by day, hardware by night; blueAcro.com
 

Offline Bukurat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #108 on: July 10, 2014, 05:23:39 am »

For the New owners of DS2072A, to help carify.
Are there Trial options on these latest purchased DS2000?

Do you observe that after pressing help on boot-up :
    1: That all LEDs go off and ONLY the "SINGLE"  is ON
    2: then when the USB stick is inserted the active led on the USB stick flashes? at least once
    3: if the USB stick Flashes only once and NO 'CH 1" flashing , try removing and re-insert.


Another new DS2072A here.

Trial options are there, 12 in total.
Software version 00.03.00.SP1
Hardware version 2.0

After pressing Help on boot:
All lights off except "Single" and "Power"
On inserting USB stick:
CH 1 light illuminates and about half a second later the other lights illuminate.
CH 1 light does NOT flash.

On continuing with the upgrade utility the next step produces an error and the error log reads

2:55:26 PM Thursday, 10 July 2014

Code length not appropriate: 12

Code: 00.03.00.SP1

Tried with two different USB sticks and both FAT 16 and FAT 32 format. Also checked the sticks can be written to by the 'scope.

Any Ideas?

John

 

Offline MarcelM

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: nl
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #109 on: July 10, 2014, 11:07:21 am »
Hey Guys,

just wanted to let you know that my MSO2072A (running the very latest firmware version 00.03.00.SP1) has been successfully upgraded to 300MHz with all options.
Thanks Tirulerbach and many others!  :-+

(Although a firmware downgrade does not seem to work, using rigup on the memory dump did the trick)

Regards,
Marcel
--------------------------------------------
Electronics is FUN !
If you want me to take it seriously,
... Call, and we'll talk consultancy rates ...
--------------------------------------------
 

Offline adi101

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #110 on: July 10, 2014, 12:26:40 pm »
...just wanted to let you know that my MSO2072A (running the very latest firmware version 00.03.00.SP1) has been successfully upgraded to 300MHz with all options.

This is great news! It means there is still hope.  :)
Could you give a short step by step guide of how you did it?
I am ready to go looking for a JTAG debugger for this.

Thanks!
 

Offline MarcelM

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: nl
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #111 on: July 10, 2014, 02:28:12 pm »
Short step-by-step guide:

- Order the Olimex ARM-USB-OCD JTAG USB interface
- download / install the bfin toolchain (see the famous post on page 163 of the megathread)
- use the MSO's own probe wires (the loose patch wires for the logic probes) to connect the Blackfin's JTAG bus to the OLIMEX interface
(TDI, TDO, TMS, TRST, GND); I didn't bother with the resistor pullups
- Take 3v3 from the SPI connector instead of the JTAG one
- memdump the SDRAM as per the Tirulerbach instructions
- use rigup tool on this memdump

The result is a set of option keys, that can be entered via the scope's front panel
(or, apparently, via Ultra Sigma, I didn't bother with that ...)

So, in short, using the JTAG memdump route, no need to downgrade firmware (which might brick the MSO)

As far as I'm aware, this is the only way to enable the extra features on the latest non-downgradeable MSO's

JTAG interface => sdram memdump => rigup0.1 => enter keys

Good luck!
Marcel
--------------------------------------------
Electronics is FUN !
If you want me to take it seriously,
... Call, and we'll talk consultancy rates ...
--------------------------------------------
 

Offline bnred777

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #112 on: July 10, 2014, 08:47:10 pm »
That's great news... just bought my jtag interface today. Could you point me in the right direction to the rigup tool? I'm guessing that it might be hanging out in here: http://www.gotroot.ca/rigol/ but which version did you use or am I looking at the wrong stuff?

Thanks,
Brandon
 

Offline AintBigAintClever

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #113 on: July 10, 2014, 09:03:55 pm »
They're quite small so you may as well download all of them :)
 

Offline MarcelM

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
  • Country: nl
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #114 on: July 10, 2014, 11:15:44 pm »
I used rigup 0.1 but only because I didn't realise there was a newer version.
I would guess that version 0.4 will work (at least) as well...

One thing I did notice: on MY installation of the bfin toolchain (I used xubuntu in a VirtualBox)
The mem info command returned some error about missing XML support.
I just skipped that step, and did just a binary memdump of 0x00000000 to 0x07ffffff
Took about 45 minutes, then copied the resulting .bin file into my rigup directory (on the Windows machine)
1 second later I had my 28 character keys....

Good luck, and Happy Upgrading!
--------------------------------------------
Electronics is FUN !
If you want me to take it seriously,
... Call, and we'll talk consultancy rates ...
--------------------------------------------
 

Offline Bukurat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #115 on: July 10, 2014, 11:30:55 pm »
Thanks MarcelM. I've ordered the Olimex ARM-USB-OCD JTAG USB from a local sparkfun  distributer.
I'll see what I can do when it arrives.

John
 

Offline Neddie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #116 on: July 11, 2014, 09:36:59 am »
I've just bought an DS2072A , and this upgrade utility looks awesome.
I'm obviously worried about bricking my scope however.
Has anybody tried this on scopes with firmware version 00.03.00.SP1  , Hardware version 2.0
I did a search and I see someone could not get it to work with V3. something , can't remember which exactly.
Cheers
Neddie
 

Offline Bukurat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #117 on: July 11, 2014, 11:41:09 am »
I've just bought an DS2072A , and this upgrade utility looks awesome.
I'm obviously worried about bricking my scope however.
Has anybody tried this on scopes with firmware version 00.03.00.SP1  , Hardware version 2.0
I did a search and I see someone could not get it to work with V3. something , can't remember which exactly.
Cheers
Neddie


I posted about 8 back in this thread that I couldn't get mine to work as it wouldn't accept the downgrade. It appears there is a way but it means opening the case and dumping the memory, it's mentioned a few posts back.
 

Offline Neddie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #118 on: July 11, 2014, 12:36:50 pm »
Hi , didn't see that.
I just took a chance and tried it. WORKED!!
Now have 300MHz bandwidth , all options enabled. Followed the application instructions , no problem.
Was a bit nerve racking I must admit :0)
All hail software writer guy!!!  :-DD (MADCROW)
Cheers
Neddie
« Last Edit: July 11, 2014, 12:55:42 pm by Neddie »
 

Offline Bukurat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #119 on: July 11, 2014, 11:50:34 pm »
Hi , didn't see that.
I just took a chance and tried it. WORKED!!
Now have 300MHz bandwidth , all options enabled. Followed the application instructions , no problem.
Was a bit nerve racking I must admit :0)
All hail software writer guy!!!  :-DD (MADCROW)
Cheers
Neddie

Did yours read the usb stick and install the modded software? If so, what size and make usb stick did you use?

John
 

Offline Neddie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #120 on: July 12, 2014, 08:17:11 am »
Hi John.
It's a crappy old 64Mb (yes that is an M) stick I got at a conference a few years ago with the course material on it.
I initially tried using a 16Gig stick to save some waveforms , but this failed. It detects the stick , but when trying to save a waveform it fails. Then I tried this old stick and it saved fine , so I used this in the upgrade.It worked flawlessly.
It uploaded the modified firmware as expected. It did take quite a few minutes but it worked.
Cheers
Neddie
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15388
  • Country: za
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #121 on: July 12, 2014, 08:35:47 am »
I have some old 512M ( yes less than 1GB) SD cards that I bought new for $1 each. Used for old cameras that cannot understand higher spec SD cards. I also keep some 1G flash drives for the same reason.
 

Offline Neddie

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #122 on: July 12, 2014, 09:05:41 pm »
Another quick question. Now that  I have "cracked" the scope and it's now a DS2302A , if I want to do an upgrade
of the firmware , I assume I must get DS2302A firmware from the website.
And will this work?

Cheers
Neddie
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #123 on: July 13, 2014, 12:14:12 am »
, I assume I must get DS2302A firmware from the website.
I think the Firmware is the same for all DS2000 & MSO2000 devices (A,-S )
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline Bukurat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: au
Re: DS2000A Upgrade Utility
« Reply #124 on: July 13, 2014, 01:38:13 am »
I'm glad it worked for you Neddie. I've tried a few different sticks here, both usb 1 and 2. It can save screen pics to them but it won't accept the modded firmware off them. I even tried an old 512 MB card in a reader, it wouldn't have a bar of that one.

Looks like I'll have to go the FPGA dump way.

Somewhere here people have mentioned 4000 min trial time on the options. Mine were at  2148 min when I first turned it on.

John
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf