Author Topic: DSOX2000 and 3000 series - licence , have anyone tried to hack that scope ?  (Read 774273 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 67
  • Country: de
    • My Website
Select MSZIP in the compression type of CABPACK then the file should have near the same size.

The step with a hybrid CAB is not nessesary.
When i did the downgrad on my scope i have tried out different things.
This step is only needed if you need the latest firmware on the scope with USB Boot (issues with different dll versions are posible??)

TO downgrade it must be enough to replace these two file with files from 2.35
infiniiVisionLauncher.exe
infiniiVisionCore.dll

after a reboot it should be possible to load the 3000XSeries.02.35.2013061800.cab

I have to test this on my scope again but this should be the easiest way and should work.

And while downgrade there should be no infiniivisionStartupOverride.txt on the usb drive  :phew:
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Country: fr
Wooo well done Mr Kilobyte!!

From the Agilent 2.35 upgrade CAB I extracted the files you said:
infiniiVisionLauncher.exe
infiniiVisionCore.dll

Put them on a USB stick, booted the 2.37 scope and got telnet access (infiniivision, skywalker1977)

Killed the running version (a step you didn't mention, probably because it was obvious to you!):
processmgr kill infiniiVisionLauncher.exe

Change to application directory
cd \secure\infiniivision

Copy those two old files:
copy \usb\infiniiVisionLauncher.exe
copy \usb\infiniiVisionCore.dll

Reboot and get firmware concerns message, scope still thinks it has 2.37, no problem.

Put Agilent 2.35 upgrade CAB onto USB stick and up(down)grade as normal. Lots of waiting, scope then reboots with 2.35 up and running.

Then reboot with USB stick with modified 2.37 files to get all options including MSO and full bandwidth.


Many, many thanks sir. I owe you something nice from under my desk!!

 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Rigby

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1476
  • Country: us
  • Learning, very new at this. Righteous Asshole, too
Many, many thanks sir. I owe you something nice from under my desk!!

That took a weird turn...
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline jmole

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Country: us
    • My Portfolio
How interesting, I just noticed that Keysight extended their bundle offer for the option pack until 12-6-2014.

And yes, if you ask your distributor for an additional discount, you probably get it.
At least in Germany they offered it.

sigh.. did this earlier today; really needed the wavegen. TestEquity gave me the package for $450ish. Not too bad since I got the scope on ebay, certified refurbished from Agilent for around $2k two years ago.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline 2lostkiwis

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Wooo well done Mr Kilobyte!!

...

Reboot and get firmware concerns message, scope still thinks it has 2.37, no problem.
Put Agilent 2.35 upgrade CAB onto USB stick and up(down)grade as normal. Lots of waiting, scope then reboots with 2.35 up and running.
Then reboot with USB stick with modified 2.37 files to get all options including MSO and full bandwidth.
Many, many thanks sir. I owe you something nice from under my desk!!

This process worked for me too, my scope that was shipped with 2.37 is now running 2.35. Now I just have to get to work and build the USB stick. Not sure why I am doing this as I bought the app bundle, still I can go from 350MHz to 500MHz. I think it just must be the curiosity...
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 689
I am really close of purchasing a new DSOX2004A (without any options) in the next couple of days.
However I am not sure about the following. Can please somebody confirm:
  • Is it still hackable? By reading this thread I think so -  I just need to add a LAN board. Am I correct?
  • The DSOX2004A (default is 70 Mhz) can be 'enhanced' to 200 Mhz?
  • Any idea where to get the logic probes then (item # N6459-60001, I did not find a price for it). Are there any other (maybe older) logic probes from Agilent usable?
Thanks!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2014, 01:50:21 pm by Pinkus »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline daemon82

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
So you are saying that the bundle stayed intact after downgrading?
We also purchased a bundle. I was thinking about downgrading too, just for the logic analyzer. Although we would use it very seldom it would be nice to have the option to it.
If your bundle remained intact I will make the downgrade too.

This process worked for me too, my scope that was shipped with 2.37 is now running 2.35. Now I just have to get to work and build the USB stick. Not sure why I am doing this as I bought the app bundle, still I can go from 350MHz to 500MHz. I think it just must be the curiosity...
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Country: fr
I am really close of purchasing a new DSOX2004A (without any options) in the next couple of days.
However I am not sure about the following. Can please somebody confirm:
  • Is it still hackable? By reading this thread I think so -  I just need to add a LAN board. Am I correct?
  • The DSOX2004A (default is 70 Mhz) can be 'enhanced' to 200 Mhz?
  • Any idea where to get the logic probes then (item # N6459-60001, I did not find a price for it). Are there any other (maybe older) logic probes from Agilent usable?
Thanks!

Yes I hacked a 2.37 scope using just a LAN card and telnet. Logic pods are easily bought on ebay for $200 or so. If anybody wants to borrow the LAN card for a day you can, just pay shipping both ways.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 689
Thanks Toploser!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 689
I am hoping I can get a good Black Friday deal on an Agilent Keysight DSOX2000/3000.
But the shipping costs can eat up all the savings. As intl. shipping costs are not only calculated by weight but also volume of the box, can somebody please measure the size of the original Agilent/Keysight box (should be identical on 2000/3000 series) and post it here? Thanks!!

 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline georgd

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
Outer dimension of DSOX3000 box is 24 x 34 48 cm.

Georg
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 689
Grrrr :--  Zoro raised the price by exactly 5% this morning ...

Oh, and thank you for the measurements George.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline DavidDLC

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 742
  • Country: us
Yes I hacked a 2.37 scope using just a LAN card and telnet. Logic pods are easily bought on ebay for $200 or so. If anybody wants to borrow the LAN card for a day you can, just pay shipping both ways.

Is there somebody in USA that can offer to borrow a LAN card as TopLoser ? Of course I will pay the shipping both ways.

If yes, I will order an oscilloscope.

Guys, please help here !

David
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline tivoi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: 00
any body try with dsox2000 ver 2.38?
thanks
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline michanisani

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Hi
Where I get full instructions for DSOX2000 Lan update?
thanks
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3280
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
any body try with dsox2000 ver 2.38?
thanks

Thanks for the head´s up about the new FW. I will install the 2.38 FW soon (BTW I have not a hacked scope).

Here the link for the new FW

http://www.keysight.com/main/software.jspx?id=2014548&nid=-11143.0.00&lc=eng&cc=US

Here what´s new:

New Features for 2000A and 3000A

Software is now Keysight Technologies branded.

Trigger Rate SCPI query has been added - TRIGger:FREQuency? <gate time in sec>

New bit rate measurement has been added.

New Features for 3000A

N2804A/N2805A 100MHz/300MHz differentia
l probe support has been added.

N7020A Power Rail probe support has been added.

Bug Fixes

AER/TER behavior is improved.

*STB behavior is improved


See attachments for details.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 67
  • Country: de
    • My Website
The new Splash screen looks a bit boring.
I found the old Agilent Splash screen looks nicer but its simple to change this.

The new Bit-rate measurement is a nice new feature.

I can Start the Modified V2.38  (another Address must be used) from USB with V2.35 on the Scope.

Ok i tested it here the Telnet Downgrade Method back to 2.35 is still working.

« Last Edit: December 15, 2014, 09:58:39 pm by kilobyte »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Sparky

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: us
I can Start the Modified V2.38  (another Address must be used) from USB with V2.35 on the Scope.

kilobyte: Thanks for the testing and reporting here on v2.38!

Could you mention the updated addresses at which the bytes need to be changes?

Thanks!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 67
  • Country: de
    • My Website
I have change the Data At 0x27AF78 to 00 00 A0 E3
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 67
  • Country: de
    • My Website
I modified the keysight logo to a more known brand  >:D

A real HP/Agilent/Keysight product now  ;)

I wrote a little tool to extract the Bitmap data and the location from the dll, not finished yet but it works with 4byte aligned Bitmap data.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Hydrawerk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2423
  • Country: 00
Wow, I love it.  :-+ :-+
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4670
  • Country: de
I modified the keysight logo to a more known brand  >:D
This is very impressive!
It would be great to have this on my scope.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline fons

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Hi!

Does anybody know where can I find the 2.35 firmware? The keystone website only lets you download the latest one (2.38)

Thanks!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3280
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
I wrote a little tool to extract the Bitmap data and the location from the dll, not finished yet but it works with 4byte aligned Bitmap data.

master of disaster... congrats...

on 1st April?

also this one would be good...

Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 689
Is there somewhere a comparision of the DSOX3000A board differences between the 100/200 and the 350/500 Mhz version available (e.g. high res pictures of the front end of both versions)? I could not find any.

It is always said that Agilent/Keysight will swap boards if you want to upgrade from 100/200 to 350/500 Mhz. I am wondering if there is really a significant difference or if they just inject some software instead of swapping boards.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf