Author Topic: Dual channel multimeter or another option?  (Read 3215 times)

Offline thared33Topic starter

• Contributor
Dual channel multimeter or another option?
« on: December 07, 2022, 10:17:58 am »
I'm a musician and I've been aligning and calibrating some old tape machines with great success. Currently I just use a desktop Mac for checking levels. I run the cables into an audio interface, look at the dbfs meters in software and tweak the pots on the machine until I get the L&R channels evenly matched within 0.1db.

But now I'm getting tired of lugging around machines over to my computer. I have a couple multimeters but they're only single channel. Would a dual channel multimeter be a good fit for my purposes, and if so are there any out there that won't break the bank?

Offline coromonadalix

• Super Contributor
Re: Dual channel multimeter or another option?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2022, 11:11:22 am »
ou have precise vu meters who could do the job instead ? 

A dual display meter like the prova-903,  pls note the dual inputs are common ground, they are not floating / isolated

0.1 db appart means some resolution, not sure an meter will be good for dedicated audio ?  or use an portable dual channels scope ?

You calibarte them at 0db  with 1khz signal ?

Or a gadjet like this
https://www.ebay.com/itm/184796771209?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2022, 05:20:56 pm by coromonadalix »

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2022, 11:51:16 am »
ou have precise vu meters who could do the job instead ? 

A dual display meter like the prova-903,  pls note the dual inputs are common ground, they are not floating / isolated

0.1 db appart means some resolution, not sure an meter will be good for dedicated audio ?  or use an portable dual channels scope ?