Author Topic: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)  (Read 34664 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline sdouble

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: fr
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #125 on: January 08, 2018, 12:02:44 am »
can someone confirm that the low current reading is only available on model E36312A an  E36313A ?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #126 on: January 11, 2018, 06:33:36 pm »
Anyone aware of delivery or production problems with these power supplies?
Order of a E36313A placed in December last year is now scheduled for 14 February or some later. At moment of ordering it was confirmed for 18 January.
Maybe some hardware fixes or upgrade firmware?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #127 on: January 11, 2018, 06:50:15 pm »
I ordered a E36313A as well and delivery is confirmed Januari the 26st. Perhaps this model is produced in lower quantities or more popular than expected.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #128 on: January 11, 2018, 10:10:44 pm »
I ordered a E36313A as well and delivery is confirmed Januari the 26st. Perhaps this model is produced in lower quantities or more popular than expected.

My ordered E36313A has also had in the meantime a confirmation of 26 January but when I looked yesterday on the suppliers website they mentioned 3 weeks later.
I asked and they confirmed the delay.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #129 on: January 22, 2018, 03:44:47 pm »
I ordered a E36313A as well and delivery is confirmed Januari the 26st. Perhaps this model is produced in lower quantities or more popular than expected.
Mine arrived today so that is slightly ahead of schedule. I'm going to update the firmware first and do some tests.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Messtechniker

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 331
  • Country: de
  • Old analog audio hand - No voodoo.
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #130 on: January 22, 2018, 04:47:13 pm »
I will very much hesitate buy one of these E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
because these belong to the not so large group of  benchtop supplies where + is on the  left and - is on the right. :palm:
This can be highly confusing when mixed with units where - is on the  left and + is on the  right, as is the case for the majority of benchtop supplies.
At least KS have in this case maintained the semi-standardized colour code for - =  black and + = red.

Even colour coding the COM terminal instead of the Volts input on my VC 940 (UT71) meter gets me confused from time to time
when tired or needing to do things quickly.

Agilent 34465A, Hameg HMO1022, R&S HMC 8043, Voltcraft VC 940 and M-Audio Audiophile 192
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #131 on: January 22, 2018, 06:47:02 pm »
I ordered a E36313A as well and delivery is confirmed Januari the 26st. Perhaps this model is produced in lower quantities or more popular than expected.
Mine arrived today so that is slightly ahead of schedule. I'm going to update the firmware first and do some tests.
As expected channel 1 still has a spike for several hundred ms when mains are applied: 7.7V when loaded with 820 Ohm and 12A when shorted.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline glowitz

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #132 on: January 23, 2018, 06:37:02 am »
Daniel, maybe I missed it in all the threads. Were you able to obtain preliminary release notes or even a cryptic bug-list of items allegedly fixed or improved in this beta release (just so we don't have to guess and retest every parameter or UI trap?). And do you know whether there has been an updated version of the beta given that some people have still reported issues, such as with the turn-on spikes, etc? I'm interested in any bug fixes as well as other UI improvements. My Keysight rep has asked me to document the list of issues I've found (as well as UI suggestions), but I don't want to waste time on stuff that's already been or planned to be implemented in the upcoming release. Thanks in advance!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #133 on: January 24, 2018, 11:32:36 am »
I ordered a E36313A as well and delivery is confirmed Januari the 26st. Perhaps this model is produced in lower quantities or more popular than expected.
Mine arrived today so that is slightly ahead of schedule. I'm going to update the firmware first and do some tests.

My expected delivery date is now changed to March grrrrr
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #134 on: February 05, 2018, 10:04:35 pm »
After using the E36313A for a while now and I start to miss something: I think it should remember the last settings so the next time you power it on it already has the previous settings. I have been working on projects which need the parallel mode or series mode and it is kinda tedious to have to setup the PSU from scratch every day.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline glowitz

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #135 on: February 05, 2018, 10:07:20 pm »
I believe you can set a SAVE state to be the "POWER UP" mode. Note that the current (release) firmware does have a bug that can cause the unit to hang after recalling a state. I haven't tried this, though, with the power-on setting which should happen automatically upon power-up. New firmware in the works should resolve this issue in any case.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #136 on: February 05, 2018, 10:19:46 pm »
I know it can do that but for a bench power supply it would be nice if it can keep the last settings without needing to push any buttons. Saving & recalling a preset takes more button presses than setting it up again.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline glowitz

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #137 on: February 05, 2018, 10:21:47 pm »
I think once you assign a state as a power-up mode, it will save it and automatically recall it. But if you're saying you don't even want to save it, then yes, it doesn't do that. You would have to save it each time if your condition is changing.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #138 on: February 06, 2018, 05:49:59 pm »
I think once you assign a state as a power-up mode, it will save it and automatically recall it. But if you're saying you don't even want to save it, then yes, it doesn't do that. You would have to save it each time if your condition is changing.
But again: I wished it behaved more like (for example) an oscilloscope. Turn it on the next day and you can continue where you where the day before.
I have a PSU from a different brand and that does retain it's settings.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline glowitz

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #139 on: February 06, 2018, 06:21:06 pm »
It's a good idea. Perhaps there could be a setting in the utility menu to enable/disable "remember last setting on power up". I can see some situations where you would not want to have prior settings activated (as it could potentially blow up a new circuit if the next user wasn't aware or forgot).
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 08:02:55 pm by glowitz »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Dubbie

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 987
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #140 on: February 06, 2018, 07:52:50 pm »
this forgetfulness would bug the crap out of me.
I have my rigol set up in a way that I use 80% of the time. Usually, I can just flick the power switch then enable the output. It would infuriate me if I had to dial it in every single time.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #141 on: February 06, 2018, 08:55:41 pm »
this forgetfulness would bug the crap out of me.
I have my rigol set up in a way that I use 80% of the time. Usually, I can just flick the power switch then enable the output. It would infuriate me if I had to dial it in every single time.
You can set the default the way you like it (and have 10 presets) so if you mostly use 5V you can have that as a default.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #142 on: February 23, 2018, 10:47:33 am »
Hi Everyone,

Good news, I have beta code with some fixes: http://bit.ly/E3631x_Beta

Use at your own risk! It hasn't been fully QA tested, and I haven't even able to test it myself since I'm on Christmas break.

I also don't have a change log yet, I'm working on getting one. If by some chance you end up with a fatal error, please post here and message me so we can handle it.

Official code is scheduled for February. I'll do my best to get a change log, but am also expecting a new kiddo any day now so life might get crazy fast :).

Thanks!

Any news about the expected new firmware?
Received my power supply with the 'old' firmware.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #143 on: March 02, 2018, 06:40:31 pm »
Anyone tried the new firmware on the Keysight website?
Version 1.1.1-1.0.2-1.05 from 26 Feb 2018

Bug Fixes
• Fixed knob inconsistency issue
• Fixed store/recall issues
• Fixed relay state after power cycle (E3631A Persona Mode)
• Fixed incorrect configuration on series mode
• Fixed unit hung issues

Enhancements
• Added Multiple Languages help (French, German, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, and Russian)
• Enhanced SCPI datalog fetch command parameter to support up to 65536
• Enhanced front panel to run LIST when trigger source set to IO
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7887
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #144 on: March 02, 2018, 06:41:59 pm »
Hmm, nothing about the excessive power consumption when "off."
I TEA.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #145 on: March 02, 2018, 10:22:28 pm »
And the spike on channel 1 when the mains power is connected hasn't been fixed either  :'( I've still got the box!
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline LaurentR

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: us
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #146 on: March 07, 2018, 06:28:28 am »
Got one of these puppies yesterday (E36313A), updated firmware, started using it and...

I noticed that the Series mode current is off by (exactly) 10% under some circumstances.

E.g. I set (any sufficient voltage), current = 1.000A, the supply reads back 1.000A and my DMM reads back 1.100A.
I can set current to pretty much any value and it's exactly 10% off.

I did some more experiments with different meters in different modes (e.g. the 34465A exhibits the problem on the 10A range and not the 3A range) and long wires in series... and it seems that it's 10% off under a certain burden voltage (experimentally 200mV) and then gradually becomes correct above that burden voltage.

Has this already been reported? Is anyone else seeing this?

I did notice this line in the firmware notes "Fixed incorrect configuration on series mode". I am wondering if it's related.

It's possible they are compensating for something like internal relay or trace resistance in sw and the sw is confused by the very low voltage.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #147 on: March 07, 2018, 06:23:58 pm »
I'm pretty sure it is oscillating. Probably a design trade-off to measure low currents which prohibits using large electrolytics on the output due to their large and time dependant leakage current.

Edit: just tried it myself. No oscillations but it only seems to occur when you connect a dead short in series mode.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 06:35:28 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline LaurentR

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: us
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #148 on: March 07, 2018, 07:44:42 pm »
It turns out that the set Voltage (!) is what makes the issue appear or disappear as shown on the video below.

Basically, if the set voltage is below a small multiplier (3-4 in this case) of the burden voltage, it's all fine. But if the set voltage is higher, the burden voltage increases and so does the current until current reaches 1.1x, then both stabilize. In the video, I go up then back down in voltage. As the set voltage crosses 2.5-3V, the transition occurs.
The top DMM is showing actual voltage (matches the power supply's voltage readout and the bottom DMM is showing current).

« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 07:48:44 pm by LaurentR »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17623
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #149 on: March 07, 2018, 08:32:30 pm »
Daniel!!!!!!   :wtf: :scared:
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf