Author Topic: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)  (Read 32745 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andrey_irk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 86
  • Country: ru
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #100 on: December 21, 2017, 12:28:58 pm »
Any PSU ramps up the output until either CV or CC is hit after you enable the outputs and with the load attached. OTOH the output capacitor will discharge first before going into CC mode if you connect a load after the output has been enabled.
This is why people build power supplies without output capacitors.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline rsjsouza

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3186
  • Country: us
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #101 on: December 23, 2017, 03:18:55 am »
I am not sure if this is just my impression or not, but last night I entered my lab space (the laundry room) with the lights out and it seemed that my E36312A had the TFT backlight on with the power supply off.

It may have been the reflection of the yellow standby LED, but the dim glow looked too evenly distributed across the display.

Does anybody else see this?
Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico http://videos.vbeletronico.com

Oh, the "whys" of the datasheets... The information is there not to be an axiomatic truth, but instead each speck of data must be slowly inhaled while carefully performing a deep search inside oneself to find the true metaphysical sense...
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Keysight DanielBogdanoff

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 677
  • Country: us
  • ALL THE SCOPES!
    • Keysight Scopes YouTube channel
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #102 on: December 23, 2017, 05:57:16 pm »
Hi Everyone,

Good news, I have beta code with some fixes: http://bit.ly/E3631x_Beta

Use at your own risk! It hasn't been fully QA tested, and I haven't even able to test it myself since I'm on Christmas break.

I also don't have a change log yet, I'm working on getting one. If by some chance you end up with a fatal error, please post here and message me so we can handle it.

Official code is scheduled for February. I'll do my best to get a change log, but am also expecting a new kiddo any day now so life might get crazy fast :).

Thanks!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew, rachaelp

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7503
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
I TEA.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew, Keysight DanielBogdanoff

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: ca
  • GHz
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #104 on: December 23, 2017, 06:35:09 pm »
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pmcouto

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: pt
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #105 on: December 23, 2017, 07:53:14 pm »
I am not sure if this is just my impression or not, but last night I entered my lab space (the laundry room) with the lights out and it seemed that my E36312A had the TFT backlight on with the power supply off.

It may have been the reflection of the yellow standby LED, but the dim glow looked too evenly distributed across the display.

Does anybody else see this?

Yes!

The backlight is not fully on, but there's a faint light coming from the display when the PSU is in standby.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #106 on: December 23, 2017, 10:11:15 pm »
Can someone test whether this has fixed the startup issues?

@Daniel: thanks for making this available! I hope everything goes well and your new born is healthy. If it is the first: be sure to be there when it is born. If it is not then you probably already know that you need to be there when the magic happens  ;)
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew, Keysight DanielBogdanoff

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #107 on: December 23, 2017, 11:23:02 pm »
Thanks Daniel and congratulations!
I wish you all the best but especially good health for the newborn and the mother.

I am updating the firmware right now and then will run a few tests
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #108 on: December 23, 2017, 11:38:07 pm »
The Firmware update went smooth from FW 1.04 to FW 1.08 with the PC firmware utility.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 12:04:29 am by HighVoltage »
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #109 on: December 23, 2017, 11:59:38 pm »
Ok, here are the results.
Not so good, when power is switched ON, on the mains level, these are the results:


« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 12:03:42 am by HighVoltage »
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: nctnico, Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #110 on: December 24, 2017, 01:11:55 am »
The good thing so far with the new FW:

I have not been able to crash the PSU by pushing some buttons as before.
It seems Keysight have implemented some good changes.

What I find also interesting...
The new FW shows the PSU model number on the top left corner of the display.
Hmm ... but why would it only say E3631A instead of E36312A?


There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7503
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #111 on: December 24, 2017, 10:56:28 am »
The new FW shows the PSU model number on the top left corner of the display.
Hmm ... but why would it only say E3631A instead of E36312A?

An homage to its ancestor. ;D
I TEA.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #112 on: December 24, 2017, 11:06:34 am »
Hi guys,

I'm interested in the E36312A!
However, I am a private consumer and cannot order through a company.
Does anyone know about any website located in Europe that could ship the E36312A (within very short delay at the standard price) to a private consumer in Belgium?
I really could not find any (Farnell, RS, Mouser, Digikey and others failed meeting all the conditions above)...

Thanks!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #113 on: December 24, 2017, 11:18:13 am »
Hi guys,

I'm interested in the E36312A!
However, I am a private consumer and cannot order through a company.
Does anyone know about any website located in Europe that could ship the E36312A (within very short delay at the standard price) to a private consumer in Belgium?
I really could not find any (Farnell, RS, Mouser, Digikey and others failed meeting all the conditions above)...
Try Eleshop.nl . They have Keysight multimeters so maybe they can deliver the E36312A as well. OTOH I think Farnell offers a way to order for non-companies so check their website.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #114 on: December 24, 2017, 12:10:38 pm »
Thanks for the advice on Eleshop.nl, I'll contact them to ask if they can order it and if they can deliver it quickly. :)
Regarding Farnell, they redirect to sinuss.be (their partner website for private consumers), but there the E36312A costs 160€ more and is out of stock without possibility to order it.
In case eleshop replies they cannot order it, I'm still listening to any other advice for ordering the E36312A to a private consumer in Belgium, thanks!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #115 on: December 24, 2017, 08:28:20 pm »
I am sure you can order one at Meilhaus as a private person with shipping to BE.
But it has 2-3 weeks delivery time.

https://www.meilhaus.de/e36312a.htm
« Last Edit: December 24, 2017, 08:30:39 pm by HighVoltage »
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #116 on: December 24, 2017, 08:57:10 pm »

Thanks for the advice. :)
Unfortunately, I find this field in the form: "VAT No. ( required for bussines clients from EU - no sales to private/consumer customers)".
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #117 on: December 24, 2017, 09:54:29 pm »
Try Distrelec, I bought it from them, you can create a private account.
Unfortunately for you they had till 22 December a 15% discount on there whole product range with a coupon code
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Ryl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: be
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #118 on: December 25, 2017, 12:00:14 am »
Thanks pe1oxp, Distrelec seems to be just fine!
New units seem to arrive within one week, so that's not in stock but it's okay.
Too bad for the 15% discount. :'(
Do they propose such discounts regularly?
« Last Edit: December 25, 2017, 12:06:19 am by Ryl »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #119 on: December 25, 2017, 12:46:50 am »
Thanks pe1oxp, Distrelec seems to be just fine!
New units seem to arrive within one week, so that's not in stock but it's okay.
Too bad for the 15% discount. :'(
Do they propose such discounts regularly?

I have a 10% off code for Distrelec that I have not used, valid to 12-31-2017.
I am just not sure if it is limited to my account.
It is only valid for regular priced items.
PM me, if you want it.

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16934
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #120 on: December 25, 2017, 01:16:46 am »
Ok, here are the results.
Not so good, when power is switched ON, on the mains level, these are the results:
To me is seems they only fixed the power on spike on channel 3. Channel 1 seems to be unchanged.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #121 on: December 25, 2017, 03:53:20 am »
Ok, here are the results.
Not so good, when power is switched ON, on the mains level, these are the results:
To me is seems they only fixed the power on spike on channel 3. Channel 1 seems to be unchanged.

Yes, you are correct, there are no changes on Channel 1.

Actually the current output from Channel 1 after a mains cycle, killed the 3A fuse on my 34470A on the 3A input.
I probably should have known better and have it hooked up to the 10A input when I started.

Hopefully the PSU can be fixed through a firmware update and does not require a hardware change
for this mains spike.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3955
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #122 on: January 08, 2018, 02:12:09 am »
Anyone having issues with USB 3.0-type sticks? I tried three different drives, none of them work with either 1.04 or 1.08 beta FW.
I was assuming that USB 3.0 signals just unconnected on the PSU, but should be still functional in USB 2.0 mode. Same sticks work fine on other gear,  like Tek scope.

1.04 firmware was detecting sticks, but not saving anything. Datalogging also unable to start/use either.
1.08 firmware says "Unsupported USB stick" and that's it.
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4161
  • Country: de
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #123 on: January 08, 2018, 02:13:44 am »
I have only tried USB 2.0 compatible sticks so far and had no issues
Tomorrow I can try a USB 3.0 stick
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline adamgreig

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: gb
    • Adam Greig
Re: E36300 Series Programmable DC Power Supplies (E36311A, E36312A, E36313A)
« Reply #124 on: January 08, 2018, 02:16:15 am »
My 32G USB3 stick works OK on both 1.04 and 1.08 beta, usb detected and screenshots save OK. Might just be the specific stick?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf