Author Topic: HP 8505A VNA  (Read 1614 times)

Offline Squarewave

• Regular Contributor
HP 8505A VNA
« on: January 06, 2021, 07:56:01 pm »
I have suffered from the addiction of buying test equipment for some time.

I'm now the owner of a HP 8505A VNA set, it has the 8501A normalizer and the 8503a S parameter test set. I just saw it at a bargain price and thought, I'll have a go at measuring coax and connectors with that, for no other reason than just having something looking nice to play with.

It'll be something I'd like to learn about too, so I really ought to learn how to use it.

Any tips on how to get to grips with this set and get going would be welcome. I have the manuals, but they appear to only be useful to someone who already knows how to use one. Sorry if this seems a bit vague   :-DD

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: HP 8505A VNA
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2021, 08:13:27 pm »
I am also fairly new to VNAs.  I mostly use the Smith chart function although the others are very useful.

You set the frequency range of interest and observe the impedance, SWR, and phase.  The line length can be measured as well as characteristic impedance.

A very useful device but I am not familiar with the model you have.

Online Bud

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2021, 08:19:38 pm »
For general VNA use Google for HP/Agilent VNA Application Notes.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

Offline eb4fbz

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2021, 10:55:53 pm »
A VNA is useless without a calibration kit. Depending on the connector and frequency range you want to cover, you will find they are more pricey than the VNA itself.

Offline xmo

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2021, 12:22:21 am »
Start by tracking this down:  5952-9251 HP8505A RF Network Analyzer Basic Measurements

Also, there was a recent topic on the HP-Agilent-Keysight io group that discussed the 8505a and software for acquiring traces from the instrument.