Author Topic: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments  (Read 40565 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Mike G

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #125 on: July 26, 2021, 12:44:21 pm »
Can anyone help me with this please?
I wanted to add the facility to adjust the current at which the zener voltage is read, not a big problem and it works fine apart from one tiny niggle that I cannot puzzle out.
The maximum current is set at 10mA, the minimum at 1mA, the Max and Min buttons work fine but if I manually enter 10mA on the keypad it will not allow it saying "Value is greater than 10.0mA"
If anyone could try it on their BB3 and see if it does the same.
I am running 1.7.1 with a R2B4 CPU module
If I am doing something stupid please forgive me as I am a crusty old hardware engineer.
The extenstion of the txt file needs changing to .res to load.
Thanks in advance.
 

Offline jan28

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: nl
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #126 on: July 26, 2021, 02:16:42 pm »
Can anyone help me with this please?
....
The maximum current is set at 10mA, the minimum at 1mA, the Max and Min buttons work fine but if I manually enter 10mA on the keypad it will not allow it saying "Value is greater than 10.0mA"

Line 42 of the script:
    value = scpi('DISP:INPUT? "I_SET",NUMBER,AMPER,0.001,0.01,' + str(I_SET))

If I type the SCPI command directly in studio I get the same behaviour.... I can only reproduce this at max 10mA, other values I tried don't have this behaviour. It also gives the error if you type 9.9999999mA with a max of 10mA...

My conclusion: Some kind of conversion/rounding threshold anomaly. Worth making a GitHub issue for.

Workaround I can give for now: 'DISP:INPUT? "I_SET",NUMBER,AMPER,0.001,0.01000001'
(hitting max will also give 0.01)
 
The following users thanked this post: prasimix

Online Mike G

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #127 on: July 26, 2021, 02:45:13 pm »
Can anyone help me with this please?
....
The maximum current is set at 10mA, the minimum at 1mA, the Max and Min buttons work fine but if I manually enter 10mA on the keypad it will not allow it saying "Value is greater than 10.0mA"

Line 42 of the script:
    value = scpi('DISP:INPUT? "I_SET",NUMBER,AMPER,0.001,0.01,' + str(I_SET))

If I type the SCPI command directly in studio I get the same behaviour.... I can only reproduce this at max 10mA, other values I tried don't have this behaviour. It also gives the error if you type 9.9999999mA with a max of 10mA...

My conclusion: Some kind of conversion/rounding threshold anomaly. Worth making a GitHub issue for.

Workaround I can give for now: 'DISP:INPUT? "I_SET",NUMBER,AMPER,0.001,0.01000001'
(hitting max will also give 0.01)

Thank you jan28
I too had found the workaround and could find no issue with the python code so was wondering if it was the same on other BB3s. Maybe this is not my fault, I just like things to work correctly.
Thank you again, regards Mike
 
The following users thanked this post: Slh

Offline prasimixTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2022
  • Country: hr
    • EEZ
EEZ Studio and R&S®VISA
« Reply #128 on: October 31, 2021, 08:48:49 am »
Yesterday we released the latest version of EEZ Studio v0.9.88 which now includes an experimental R&S®VISA interface. A short How to article has also been published describing how to easily start collecting screenshots from DSO and other equipment. It is currently tested with Rigol DS1074Z and Siglent VNA1015X.

Thanks in advance to everyone who will invest some time and test EEZ Studio with their instruments. Feel free to report issues on GitHub issue tracking, your feedback will help us make it better and useful for as many instruments as possible.

 
The following users thanked this post: PlainName, Kean, Romain, jan28, Markus2801A

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #129 on: July 12, 2022, 03:22:35 pm »
Awesome tool
Just started playing with it an the 8714 over ethernet.

 
The following users thanked this post: prasimix

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #130 on: July 12, 2022, 09:02:13 pm »
trying to make a graph
So far a was able to create an array of frequency steps and an array of data points for the corresponding  frequencies.
Trying to make a graph from the data but the scope examples are confusing.
Is the scope data organized  as [x1,y1,X2 y2.......Xn,Yn]?
If I need interleaved data I can easily do that inside the js.

here is the js code so far

connection.acquire();

    connection.command("FORMat real 64");
   
    var StartF = await connection.query("SENSe1:FREQuency:STARt?");
    var StopF = await connection.query("SENSe1:FREQuency:STOP?");
    var PointsF = await connection.query("SENSe1:SWEep:POINts?");
    var StepF = ((StopF-StartF)/(PointsF-1));
//    notify.info(`steps ${StepF/1000000}MHz`);
    var freq = [];
    var level = await connection.query("TRAC? CH1FDATA");
    var level_array = level.split(',');
    for (var i =0; i < PointsF; ++i){
        freq.push(StartF + i * StepF);
        //notify.info(freq);
    }
//   notify.info(freq[0]/1000000);
//   notify.info(freq[PointsF-1]/1000000);
//   notify.info(level_array[1]);
   

 

Offline mvladic

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: hr
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #131 on: July 13, 2022, 07:35:26 am »
If you mean the example of "Waveform data" for the Keysight oscilloscope, then know that in that example the data is not sent as [x1, y1, x2, y2, ...] but as [y1, y2, ...], and the x values are defined with sampleRate, i.e. x values are implicitly calculated, so they are not sent.
 

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #132 on: July 14, 2022, 03:18:15 am »
thanks for your reply . Yes .... that should be easily adapted to my needs as the VNA 8714ET also sends only Y values. I calculated all the X  values and the x step.  But its still complicated for me to understand how to get the data to display.  I  found that the instrument also generates prn files that are easily imported to excel so thats  my fall back. I would love to get the instrument working as the scope example.

here is an example prn file.

The array here provides the y values:

  var level = await connection.query("TRAC? CH1FDATA");
  var level_array = level.split(',');

here I calculate the step size between the samples on the x axis
    var StartF = await connection.query("SENSe1:FREQuency:STARt?"); // read start frequency (5MHz)
    var StopF = await connection.query("SENSe1:FREQuency:STOP?"); // read stop frequency (55MHZ)
    var PointsF = await connection.query("SENSe1:SWEep:POINts?");  //read number of points (401)
    var StepF = ((StopF-StartF)/(PointsF-1));                                          // calculate the step size 0.125MHz 

My graph is not rolling data but should be from 5Mhz to 55Mhz with a 0.125Mhz in between every sample
* Y values .txt (3.36 kB - downloaded 58 times.)" alt="" class="bbc_img" />
The issue is what next ? 

There is the preamble stuff that is confusing me.



Maciej

« Last Edit: July 14, 2022, 01:16:51 pm by kawal »
 

Offline mvladic

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: hr
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #133 on: July 14, 2022, 02:22:12 pm »
Here is the example how to add a chart where data is in CSV format. The source code is in the attached zip file.

Some screenshot:

 

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #134 on: July 14, 2022, 04:19:35 pm »
mvladic
I appreciate it . Thank you.
kawal
 

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #135 on: July 14, 2022, 05:07:37 pm »
mvladic
I got it somewhat working
how to change the X from seconds to Hz KHz or Mhz  ?
 

 

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #136 on: July 14, 2022, 05:48:28 pm »
mvladic
Your example helped me a lot but still need more help to get this usable.
X axis needs to be in different units , in this case Hz
I need to have a way to specify the start of the graph since my data starts at 5Mhz not at 0MHz
I can easily  manipulate the graph but can t change the units  on the x axis  and i cant specify the start of the graph.
maybe its not possible?
Are there any other types of graphs available?  Where can i find information about this?

thank you so much
kawal
 

Offline mvladic

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: hr
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #137 on: July 15, 2022, 07:04:30 am »
Currently, it is not possible to change unit or start value for the X axis.
 

Offline HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2899
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #138 on: July 15, 2022, 07:33:41 am »
X axis needs to be in different units , in this case Hz
I need to have a way to specify the start of the graph since my data starts at 5Mhz not at 0MHz

If you can export to cvs format you can use TestController: https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerIntro%20UK.html
Any column from the cvs file can be used on the X axis, if you are missing a frequency column, it may be possible to calculate on
 

Offline prasimixTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2022
  • Country: hr
    • EEZ
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #139 on: July 15, 2022, 08:39:21 am »
mvladic
I got it somewhat working
how to change the X from seconds to Hz KHz or Mhz  ?

Feel free to open a new feature request in GitHub: https://github.com/eez-open/studio/issues/new

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #140 on: July 15, 2022, 11:58:25 am »

Feel free to open a new feature request in GitHub: https://github.com/eez-open/studio/issues/new

prasimix
Thanks - I did - great job on EEZE studio . Its real easy to use  and very useful.

Kawal
 
The following users thanked this post: prasimix

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #141 on: July 15, 2022, 06:55:50 pm »
I found a temporary solution for my problem  - display Mhz as us Ghz as ms.

I added padding to the data and adjusted the sampling rate and timescale based on the scanned frequencies.   
If the applications allowed just to  change the units from ps=Hz   ns=kHz  us= Mhz and ms=GHz it would be 75% of my needs.



 
« Last Edit: July 15, 2022, 07:07:23 pm by kawal »
 

Offline kawal

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #142 on: July 18, 2022, 03:49:57 am »
making a lot of progress on the 8714ET

added  remote functions :
Averaging on/off and number of samples 1.....64
bandwidth selection  15Hz...6500Hz
Start and stop frequency  - your choice - defaults populate from current as read from instrument
Frequency center
Span
number of data points

A general setup function that will ask you of most of the settings.

Changed the padding to use the Y value of the 1st data point instead of a fixed -80dB
next  will be to stitch  graphs if more than 1601 data points are needed







« Last Edit: July 18, 2022, 03:52:36 am by kawal »
 

Offline CScott

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #143 on: December 08, 2022, 06:59:11 pm »
I'd like to add an instrument to EEZ Studio.  The documentation for this seems to be here https://www.envox.eu/studio/create-an-instrument-extension/project-items/settings/

My problem is that documentation seems to bear no relation to the current version of the software 0.9.97. The difference is so large that I'm not sure if there is something wrong with my installation or the documentation is out of date, or that I'm dumber than a rock.

As an example the docs show the screen for new Project Features "esp_settings-new_project.png" attached.

What I see is this "MyNewProject.jpg" attached.

There is just no correlation between these.  Can someone point me in the right direction please?

 

Offline prasimixTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2022
  • Country: hr
    • EEZ
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #144 on: June 26, 2023, 01:13:48 pm »
Hi, and sorry for huge delay in response (I never received a notification about a new message). You're completely right. The existing documentation is obsolete, but we are in the process of writing complete documentation for the latest version of EEZ Studio, so an updated version of the instructions for creating IEXT can be expected soon. Thank you for following us and for your patience.

The progress of creating new documentation can be followed at https://www.envox.eu/eez-studio-docs/
 
The following users thanked this post: CScott, gnavigator1007

Offline prasimixTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2022
  • Country: hr
    • EEZ
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #145 on: September 07, 2023, 10:05:52 am »
A refreshed version of How to create an IEXT is now available at https://www.envox.eu/eez-studio-docs/iext-introduction/
Please let me know if you find any inconsistencies so I can correct them.

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5795
  • Country: ca
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #146 on: September 07, 2023, 12:29:15 pm »
Is there any Siglent SSG  SDG extensions somewhere ???

Is there a repo to see some extensions and or try to create them

I want to try adding a picoscope in the mix ....
 

Offline prasimixTopic starter

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2022
  • Country: hr
    • EEZ
Re: Open source EEZ Studio for accessing your (SCPI) instruments
« Reply #147 on: September 07, 2023, 12:34:16 pm »
Thank you for your interest. There are currently several instruments supported and the projects can be found here: https://github.com/eez-open/studio-extensions/tree/master/org

The entry point to download EEZ Studio for FREE is here: https://www.envox.eu/support-us/

 
The following users thanked this post: coromonadalix


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf