Author Topic: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer  (Read 8677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3011
  • Country: ca
  • GHz
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #25 on: February 11, 2018, 05:38:06 pm »
Sorry, I was thinking of something else and it is too early in the morning for me.
Try changing the 4 bytes before the serial # to 00 00 00 00 and see what happens. - 01ff8e though 01ff91
VE7FM
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 358
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #26 on: February 13, 2018, 06:49:36 pm »
Sorry, I was thinking of something else and it is too early in the morning for me.
Try changing the 4 bytes before the serial # to 00 00 00 00 and see what happens. - 01ff8e though 01ff91

Thank you so much it's working great  :-+
Now I need to cleanup this guy because whole case is dirty and somehow sticky.
Do you have already installed color display instead of CRT?

« Last Edit: February 13, 2018, 07:01:24 pm by BFX »
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3011
  • Country: ca
  • GHz
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2018, 07:08:44 pm »
I installed an LCD but it was very easy for my model as it has  a regular VGA output.
VE7FM
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 358
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #28 on: February 14, 2018, 06:41:15 pm »
Cleaning in progress  8) (its work like rebuild a church)

 

Offline VT7

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: de
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #29 on: July 31, 2018, 06:10:11 pm »
Hi!

i have now downloaded the firmware from the Flashroms to change the chips and try to upgrade the Firmware within beeing able to revert.
for anyone who needs it, it is posted below.

The Machine works as well as with AMD 28F020 Flashes. I did change them because i could not find any INTEL for a reasonable price.
My AMD Flashes are now from Aliexpress :D 20 pieces for something below 20€ shipping included.


have fun with the files..
« Last Edit: July 31, 2018, 06:11:57 pm by VT7 »
 
The following users thanked this post: BFX

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1141
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2018, 11:32:22 pm »
I just purchased a broken 8714C unit that has BOOTROM Version C.01 and it is checking for BOOTROM checksum and when I change the 4 bytes to 0 to enable all the options, the unit gives checksum error.  Has anyone experienced the same issue?

The exact error message:

Bad Checksum table at 0x00000c01 byte offset 0x0c

EDIT: Never mind... My Flash programmer did something wrong while reading the original BOOTROM, so when I modified and re-programmed it, it changed some extra unexpected bytes.  I programmed using the 8714C bootrom image that was posted by TheSteve and everything is working fine now.  All options enabled.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2018, 12:28:11 am by TK »
 
The following users thanked this post: BFX

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #31 on: October 18, 2018, 03:24:20 pm »
I have been looking out for a 1F7 LAN option for my HP8713C for a long time and wonder if anyone knows were I can source one or has a picture of it that I can look at?

I would also like to know if there is any need to store calibration constants prior to upgrading the boot rom?
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1141
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #32 on: October 18, 2018, 03:37:02 pm »
I have been looking out for a 1F7 LAN option for my HP8713C for a long time and wonder if anyone knows were I can source one or has a picture of it that I can look at?

I would also like to know if there is any need to store calibration constants prior to upgrading the boot rom?
The LAN option is a software option and can enabled by following the instructions on this same thread.  It is a safe practice to save the calibration constants (I think it is called correction constants) to floppy disk before upgrading the firmware.  It is erased during the process and the firmware update process asks for the CC from floppy after installing the new firmware.
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #33 on: October 19, 2018, 08:57:37 am »
Tnx for the reply.

My HP8713C does not have a LAN connector. This led me to believe that this option lives on a plug in card :'(
 
A further concern is the stiffy drive. So far, mine works OK but stiffy drives seem to have limited life spans and the HP versions are non standard. Sourcing reliable media is also problematic. As such, I would love to replace the drive with a USB port and wonder if any one has done so with success.
 

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1141
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #34 on: October 19, 2018, 12:41:54 pm »
Tnx for the reply.

My HP8713C does not have a LAN connector. This led me to believe that this option lives on a plug in card :'(
 
A further concern is the stiffy drive. So far, mine works OK but stiffy drives seem to have limited life spans and the HP versions are non standard. Sourcing reliable media is also problematic. As such, I would love to replace the drive with a USB port and wonder if any one has done so with success.
Floppy drive on the 8713C is an EPSON SD-300 or SD-1300 and it is standard 3.5inch floppy drive.  Are you sure you have the 8713C model?  Do you mind posting some photos of the unit (front, back)?

Also the 8713C can be software upgraded to the full VNA 8714C using the information on this thread
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3011
  • Country: ca
  • GHz
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2018, 04:33:42 pm »
The unit must be an A/B model, if it was a C it would have a network port.
VE7FM
 

Offline rfdes

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • Country: us
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #36 on: October 21, 2018, 01:36:48 pm »


Hi guys...

I just noticed this thread.  About 7 years ago I managed to reverse engr the HP Unix firmware code and created a keygen that would enable all of the option features for this series of analyzers.  In fact the code is essentially the same as the 8753 analyzers which was ported to the 871? analyzers.  The features can be enabled from the front panel and you don't need to program proms, etc.

Private message me with the serial number of your analyzer and I would be happy to help you out.  Please don't ask for a copy of the keygen tool, I will not give it out and please don't abuse the offer.  I've had some people, who own a stack of these analyzers, ask for the enable keys so that they can increase their resell value.  That upsets me.  This offer is only for those of us who love the art of electronics and are not trying to generate a quick $.

Jim
 
The following users thanked this post: edavid, TheSteve

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #37 on: October 22, 2018, 02:27:50 pm »
TK and TheSteve,

Thanks for pointing out the error of my imagination. The start menu must have blinded me with the power of suggestion as to the existence of a LAN Connector on my HP 8713C  :-[  It indeed has a LAN connector :clap:

And to add to my joy, "rfdes" has just posted an equally exciting offer.

73 ZS6GST
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #38 on: November 07, 2018, 02:02:43 pm »
Does anyone perhaps know the difference between Firmware revision: C.04.50 (in my analyser) and Firmware revision: C.04.52 that is available on the Agilent web site)?

73 de ZS6GST
 
« Last Edit: November 07, 2018, 02:06:58 pm by ZS6GST »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf