Author Topic: Equipment for EE student/beginner hobbyist?  (Read 15663 times)

Offline AmpereTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Equipment for EE student/beginner hobbyist?
« on: June 10, 2015, 04:04:17 am »
I'm an EE student who has recently started to delve into the world of hobby electronics -- which I've learned more from in a few weeks than some of my classes have taught me. Especially thanks to the people like Dave who put helpful info online for us struggling beginners.

Anyway, I'm currently working on my first real electronics project. It's the whole package: design, simulate, have board printed, assemble, test, brag, etc. Partially for fun and partially as a mini simulation of the actual process. I'm currently knee-deep in the design stage, but I've just realized that I don't have the equipment to actually assemble the thing, and classes are out for summer so that removes the possibility of using the school's equipment. So I'm looking for equipment which is reasonably inexpensive but will last a long time if well taken care of.

First I need a soldering station. The ones at my school put my wimpy pencil-size, no-adjustment soldering iron to shame. I've heard nothing but good things about the Hakko Digital FX888D. Is there anything better at this price point? I also plan on using lead-free solder (I've gotten quite a bit of practice with traditional solder in my classes, don't worry) so will I need special soldering tips? Are tips universal or is there a way to tell which ones will fit?