Author Topic: Microcurrent out of range  (Read 2338 times)

Offline DavidDLCTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Microcurrent out of range
« on: December 09, 2016, 12:25:11 am »
How Am I know if the microcurrent is out of range ? This question is when I want to measure unknown currents.

What is the microcurrent value for overload ?

I made this just for experiment:

I'm reading a current of 155 uA on the uA range very stable, then I switch to the nano amps range expecting to have the maximum value on  the range which is 1250 nA, but the readings on the voltmeter are fluctuating between  770 and 817 nano amps.

Can somebody explain please ?

David DLC.

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Microcurrent out of range
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 01:05:40 pm »
I have no actual experience with the microcurrent but nevertheless I'm willing to suggest that that this is normal operation. Just as any ordinary multimeter uses progressively larger value shunt resistors with a corresponding increase in burden voltage, the microcurrent must play by the same rules, it is merely designed mainly to  minimize these losses where insertion of such a measurement device might upset normal operation of the circuit, mainly an issue with low voltage, relatively high current circuits, 3.3 volts, 2.5. 1.2, etc.

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 06:03:55 pm »
Dave, can you comment on this please ?

David DLC

Offline guenthert

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 06:07:56 pm »
In the nano amp range the u-current uses a moderately large 10 kOhm shunt resistor.  This seems to be large enough to allow EMI picked up via the leads to have a significant effect.  Try shielding the leads and the u-current or otherwise minimizing EMI (at my place Ethernet-over-powerline, a.k.a. HomePlug, causes quite some grieve).

Generally speaking though, you might want to avoid driving measurement instruments outside their specifications.

Online wraper