Author Topic: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming  (Read 1635 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6051
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2024, 08:54:25 pm »
What exactly is wrong with it?
I usually set the frequency I need via the keypad, for example.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, KungFuJosh

Offline tautechTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28719
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2024, 08:59:05 pm »
What exactly is wrong with it?
I usually set the frequency I need via the keypad, for example.
Likewise but not always.

I commonly use < and > to select the exact digit to change then use the encoder. < Quick and accurate.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6051
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2024, 09:02:31 pm »
This makes me so curious that I'm going to use the SDG1062X at work tomorrow.
Maybe I'll make a clip of it.
I don't remember any problems with the encoder wheel.
Maybe I've forgotten about it, we'll see.

Offline tautechTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28719
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2024, 09:05:52 pm »
This makes me so curious that I'm going to use the SDG1062X at work tomorrow.
Maybe I'll make a clip of it.
I don't remember any problems with the encoder wheel.
With considered and deliberate use the encoder works fine.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist.
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: Martin72

Offline pope

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Country: pl
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #29 on: Yesterday at 10:29:49 pm »
What exactly is wrong with it?
I usually set the frequency I need via the keypad, for example.

Some times (quite often actually) I need to manually sweep through a frequency range.
 

Online Martin72

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6051
  • Country: de
  • Testfield Technician
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #30 on: Yesterday at 11:12:44 pm »
I also use it to find a resonance point, for example.
But in my case we're talking about maybe +/-50Hz and slow "start-up", which has never been a problem with the SDG1062X.
But there are supposed to be people who turn the encoder as if it wasn't smart and then complain that not every turn is acknowledged immediately.
Nobody can tell me that they are doing a serious task at that very moment.
I can't take that seriously.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline pope

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Country: pl
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #31 on: Today at 10:51:49 am »

I can't take that seriously.

You don't have to. I'm just sharing my personal experience. It's not a secret that the encoder on the SDG1000X sucks  :-//
 

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6666
  • Country: de
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #32 on: Today at 01:21:30 pm »
But there are supposed to be people who turn the encoder as if it wasn't smart and then complain that not every turn is acknowledged immediately.

By "smart" you mean that the encoder response accelerates when you turn it faster? I only have an SDG2000X -- on that one, there is no dynamic acceleration, and I think I like it that way: One encoder detent equals one audible click equals one step up or down on the numerical digit. Is the SDG1000X encoder implemented differently?

I do notice that the SDG2000X encoder starts to miss steps when I turn it a bit faster. Which is not an entirely irrelevant scenario in my use: Say I expect the need to "tune up" slightly, e.g. to find a resonance, and then find that I am still further off than I thought. Rather than changing the cursor to a more significant digit, I just give the encoder a turn or two, which I can do blindly (while looking at the scope). In that case the encoder response becomes spotty, quite noticeable from the irregular audible clicks.

It seems that Siglent took a very conservative approach with the encoder debouncing. Still better than too little debouncing, with the encoder making extra steps or moving backwards! But based on the experience with encoders in other products or my own designs, I think that they could have found a better balance.

 
The following users thanked this post: egonotto

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11899
  • Country: us
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #33 on: Today at 02:39:01 pm »
... Still better than too little debouncing, with the encoder making extra steps or moving backwards! ...

At least with the one we bought for a trial, it will randomly change directions.




Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6666
  • Country: de
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #34 on: Today at 04:33:12 pm »
... Still better than too little debouncing, with the encoder making extra steps or moving backwards! ...

At least with the one we bought for a trial, it will randomly change directions.

Ouch... So they should probably copy the conservative debouncing approach from the SDG2000X.

The SDG2000X had issues with bouncing buttons in its earlier firmware versions, which Siglent fixed with an update a few years back. I don't recall any changes to the encoder behaviour, but maybe that was improved at the same time?
 

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 11899
  • Country: us
Re: Upgraded SDG1000X Plus AWG's coming
« Reply #35 on: Today at 06:03:02 pm »
Guessing that it can't be corrected with firmware or they would have addressed it.   Personally, I really like having an encoder for a UI and will frequently put it to use.  I'm not a fan of the detent but I can't overlook the fact the settings are not smooth.   

In this case, the product didn't cost much.  I have asked about other higher cost Siglent products having this potential problem but this thread reflects the typical response I receive. 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf