Author Topic: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)  (Read 31058 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Robert763

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: gb
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #75 on: October 20, 2019, 08:42:34 pm »
Hi,
old thread I know, but does anyone know of  source for a CRTU-G HDD disk image or other means of recovering a crashed HDD. My unit has an Intel CPU. Version 4.x would be great I only really need the DOS "Service" firmware.

 

Online mzzj

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 985
  • Country: fi
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #76 on: October 20, 2019, 08:59:24 pm »
I was fairly certain I made image from my CRTU-RU HDD but appears to be nowhere to be found.  :-//
 

Offline mjs

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #77 on: November 08, 2019, 09:01:30 am »
I think I've got one or two HDD:s left - I changed a few into SSD:s. Where do you live if I just mail you one ? I think I don't have 2.5" IDE capable machine to make an image at the moment.
 

Online Robert763

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: gb
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #78 on: March 03, 2020, 11:24:56 am »
Hi MJS,
Sorry I missed your response. Thanks for the offer.
I have actually sorted out my CRTU-RU. It is now a pseudo CMU200   :-+
Having done a lot of investigation, the CRTU-RU is basically a CMU200  with two RF modules (CMU-B96) but no audio analyser (no CMU-B41). So it should support the CMU200 basic functions. I can confirm that it does. I talked to R&S and they sent me a copy of the CMU200 firmware/software/installer. No charge  :clap: I installed this on a SSDD (Compact Flash in an adaptor). The only issue I had was that the installer expects the low level and boot formatting of the disk to have been done with DOS 6.22 FDISK and FORMAT/S. If this is not the case, e.g. FREEDOS or Windows is used it won't run.
Having installed it the CRTU now acts like a CMU200 with all modulations of the signal generator enabled etc. The installation software reproggrammed he module FPGA where required and read the calibration constants OK. The base system won't access the second RF module but you could use other software if you wanted to. I'm sure you could set up a dual boot system to keep the CRTU-RU functionality I have no need for it so didn't bother.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2020, 11:56:25 am by Robert763 »
 

Offline senseless

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: de
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #79 on: April 26, 2020, 01:22:25 pm »
Which version did you get from R&S?
So there are new modulation types available after installing CMU200 software?
With which software can you access the second RXTX module?

Thanks!
 

Online Robert763

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: gb
Re: Anyone with R&S CRTU-RU experience? (WTF is this thing anyways...)
« Reply #80 on: June 19, 2020, 06:42:14 pm »
Hi,
sorry for slow response, been busy. I now have CW, AM and SSB modulation as well as the original CW and FM.
AM shown below.
[attachimg=1]

Software was base 4.35, this is not compatible with the 1138.4000.82 (CRTU-G or CRTU-S) which I have, so the Application Software won't run with it installed, but who wants to test GSM phones  :-//. With it instal/ed the unit functions as a basic CMU 200 without the AF analysis option (B42). 
I've not tried controling the second RF unit.

Robert G8RPI.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf