Author Topic: First logic analyzer for canbus work  (Read 1199 times)

Offline rockdude14Topic starter

First logic analyzer for canbus work
« on: May 22, 2022, 10:40:14 pm »
I'm a mech engineer and using an automotive canbus project as a way to brush up on both my EE and programming skills.  I know these kind of posts suck but did a lot of research so hopefully you can help fill the last couple gaps and I'll have my first LA soon.

Problem- Working on three canbus networks (not all at the same time) with just an arduino and canbus shield.  First two networks are 33.3kbps and 500 kbps and I'm having no problems there but the last is 1000kbps and for some reason it seems like I'm getting nothing from it.  I can tone out the wires with my DMM and that seems fine but now I'm stuck.  Figure this is a good excuse to buy a new tool.  Eventually I could imagine doing tome i2c or spi work, but nothing specific right now.

Since this isnt the most demanding application I think the actual LA probably wont be the most important part but probably the software and how usable it is (especially since this isnt my area of expertise so I can focus more on my problem less on the tool).  Also any features that might be handy for me that I dont even know I want yet.

Currently considering (my best guess at ranking)
Digilent Digital Discovery - Seems like the signal generator and integration with matlab could be really nice.  I think this would probably be my top choice, but like I said I know next to nothing about this.
Saleae Logic 8 bit lower hardware specs, no signal generator, but sounds like both a good company for support and nice software
DSlogic Plus - bit cheapear but still seems plenty capable for what I need
Lots of options + sigrok - pretty much anything on here https://sigrok.org/wiki/Supported_hardware, doesnt sound as easy to use but price is really nice