Author Topic: Fluke 177 for electronics use?  (Read 7350 times)

Offline ticktock3tTopic starter

• Contributor
Fluke 177 for electronics use?
« on: February 27, 2013, 05:22:03 am »
I'm currently talking to a someone who wants to sell me a fairly new condition Fluke 177 for $100. I'm an EE student and I would love to have a good multimeter. I'm only looking to spend about $100 and was thinking about either the 87 or 87III. Would the 177 be good for my use and is this a good buy?

Offline Lightages

• Supporter
  • Canadian po
Re: Fluke 177 for electronics use?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 05:58:07 am »
There are some that will say that a multimeter without a microamp range is not meant for electronics, Dave Jones included. However this meter would be good reliable instrument. IMHO, it would be better to buy an Amprobe AM-270 for $90 new. It has more functions, same safety, and is new with a warranty. There might be other options too but without knowing where you live pricing is a bit variable.

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2013, 07:20:34 am »
I'm currently talking to a someone who wants to sell me a fairly new condition Fluke 177 for $100. I'm an EE student and I would love to have a good multimeter. I'm only looking to spend about $100 and was thinking about either the 87 or 87III. Would the 177 be good for my use and is this a good buy?
I think you are better off getting a Fluke 87 or 87 III for $100.  These two give you

- microamp range
- 20,000 count option
- relative function
- ability to adjust pots if needed for calibration (177 is closed case calibration)
- peak min/max
- current measurement defaults to DC (177 defaults to AC)

Now you can present these points to the seller and hope he/she drops the price of the 177 down to around $65?

PS. I have used all 3 multimeters.

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2013, 09:06:46 am »