Author Topic: Fluke 185 Review  (Read 51727 times)

Offline mimi123

• Contributor
Re: Fluke 185 Review
« Reply #25 on: June 18, 2015, 02:39:14 pm »
Hello,

First, thanks for this review.

Second, sorry for my English, I hope all you understand it correctly, if not, tell me and will try to do it better.

I have a Tek TX3 and after a short circuit, the fuse F1 was dead. I changed it but did no work as it should be. It doesn't measure current correctly.

I think not only a calibration is needed but some part is dead.

I really wants to repair it because it's a very, very  good multimeter and I like it a lot.

Mine is physically immaculate because has very little use.

Board seems exactly as yours:

Regards

Offline WytnuclsTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2015, 05:26:02 pm »
Troubleshooting at a distance is not something I enjoy.
I'm not an expert, but if you ruptured the fuse with enough energy, you may have damaged something upstream. I would look closely at the current shunts, the MOSFETs and the A/D converter. Some parts will likely have to be replaced, if you can still find them.
Good luck with the fix.

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: June 18, 2015, 11:27:39 pm »
Second, sorry for my English, I hope all you understand it correctly, if not, tell me and will try to do it better.

I have a Tek TX3 and after a short circuit, the fuse F1 was dead. I changed it but did no work as it should be. It doesn't measure current correctly.
Your English is fine.  However, you could provide more information for us to help you.

1) How did you damage the meter?
2) What did you do get the short circuit?
3) If you measure a 1A current, does it show 1A or something else? 
4) Do the other functions like DCV, ACV, ohms work?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #28 on: June 19, 2015, 01:37:52 am »
If this is going to be a long back and forth repair attempt exchange, please start a new thread.

Offline mimi123

• Contributor