Author Topic: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.  (Read 505 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline --Oz--

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« on: June 23, 2021, 07:28:50 pm »
Fluke DMM Bug, Models: 87-1 & 87-III

The BUG:
Select ohms on the dial (preferably connect a resistor above 500 ohms for a reference), then go into continuity mode by pressing the button, when switching out of continuity mode (by using the button, not rotary dial) and back into ohm mode, ohms does not read above ~500 ohms, it just reads open (it's stuck in 400 ohm range used in continuity mode).  Under ~400 ohms it reads correctly.

Turning the selector to another mode and back to ohms fixes the issue, it's not a big deal, but it can be giving you wrong info which does not help troubleshooting. This was tested on several 87-1 and 87-III meters with the same results. Its a small bug with easy workaround "if you know" the issue.

The 87-V does not have this issue. On the 87-V, you can see the LCD screen flicker when its resetting the ohm range (fixing the bug).

Here is a video I made testing four 87's.


If anyone else tests this on their 87-1 or 87-3, please report back their results.
 

Online bdunham7

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3231
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2021, 07:38:34 pm »
Did you notice that the AUTO indicator doesn't reappear?  So selecting continuity switches to the lowest ohms range and turns on the beeper.  Turning off continuity disables the beeper but leaves it in the lowest manual ohms range.  That's  a pretty mild bug.
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.
 

Offline --Oz--

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2021, 08:08:32 pm »
Yes, its mild, until your troubleshooting and your going off in a tangent because of the wrong info its telling you, dont ask how I know, haha  :-DD
It should go back to auto mode (if it was in auto), thats why they finally fixed it on the 87-5. Thanks for your reply.
 

Online floobydust

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4630
  • Country: ca
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2021, 08:41:54 pm »
In testing S/W you'd look for the same issue (did not remember previous range/function/mode) in other places.
If you were on manual range ACV, then pushbutton to FREQ or %, what does that then take you back to as you toggle it? It's only important really if you end up in an unsafe mode/range.
 

Offline BeBuLamar

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2021, 02:27:38 pm »
That's not a bug! You may not like it but not a bug. It's no more different than the 87V default to AC current.
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7219
  • Country: gb
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2021, 03:13:30 pm »
That's not a bug! You may not like it but not a bug. It's no more different than the 87V default to AC current.

Yes Fluke fanboy, it's a bug. Switching to continuity mode and back should not leave the meter sat in a fixed range.

It's not a bad bug, but it is a bug.
 

Offline --Oz--

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 87 DMM Bug when exiting continuity mode.
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2021, 05:45:39 pm »
That's not a bug! You may not like it but not a bug. It's no more different than the 87V default to AC current.
Patato Patato  :)
Then why does the 87-5 "fix" this "not a bug"?

I think its a bug, I was not in a fixed range on ohms, and then it puts it in fixed range. I am only posting this for other to not be sent down the wrong rabbit hole, knowing the issue can save time.

Quote
Yes Fluke fanboy, it's a bug. Switching to continuity mode and back should not leave the meter sat in a fixed range.

It's not a bad bug, but it is a bug.
  :-+
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf