Author Topic: Fluke 87V (2021) teardown  (Read 7948 times)

Offline SerjPTopic starter

• Contributor
Fluke 87V (2021) teardown
« on: March 07, 2021, 02:13:23 pm »
Good day, EEV bloggers!

New member here. I'm a former EE but am currently writing "boring business software" as someone said well on this forum. So, already being an amateur, I felt that I needed a good new reliable tool.

I read all these battles here on the forum, comparing one in a yellow holster to another in a red one. Yelow or red? Hmm... good question. And I'm already have one DMM in a red which is Uni-T UT71E. Which sometimes has glitches (smth. with selector contacts?), too loud beeper, fluctuating digits, terrible continuity mode, etc. So I decided to buy a more reliable one.
The things I considered for new DMM is:
  • long-term stability (as I believe I can't afford going to certification labs every xx years)
  • reputation/brand (well I never had anything from the top echelon before)
  • and perfect internal design (look at that 87v board and the number of elements - the simplicity is a key; "beautiful" as Dave likes to say)
So finally I selected to buy the yellow one. It will be my only top grade DMM on the bench.
I think the number of digits is not that important to me and can be distracting. While less crowded dial is a plus.

The phrase on the Dave's blog I love the most is - "don't turn it on, take it apart!!!". Cool! This is exactly what I planned to do.
Of course I checked if it works correctly before doing that. I have also compared and recorded the readings in all ranges with the Uni-T (I can share results). So that after assembly I can make sure that the readings are the same and that teardown does not affected the accuracy.
Some teardown justification: I wanted to see the overall build quality, to check if shield is not bended (I've seen pictures on this forum) and to check the fuses brand.