Author Topic: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response  (Read 5974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thebatosaiTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ca
Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« on: April 25, 2013, 07:24:57 am »
Hi Everyone, been following EEVBlog Youtube channel for a while and after going through Dave's review on multimeter I bought Fluke 87V. So, I just received my Fluke 87V and put it to different tests. I noticed while? performing the continuity test their is a delay of about half a second or so unlike what I have seen in reviews where it beeps instantly. Any ideas what could be wrong. Thanks.
 

Offline eKretz

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 870
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 07:44:24 am »
I can't answer your question, but I can confirm that my new 87 V is also instantaneous with the beep. I can't touch and remove the leads fast enough not to get a beep, even when I'm doing it like in a bouncing fashion. Could a low battery affect it maybe?
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1190
  • Country: gb
    • Smartbox AT
Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2013, 07:49:12 am »
Is it in warranty?
David - Professional Engineer - Medical Devices and Tablet Computers at Smartbox AT
Side businesses: Altium Industry Expert writer, http://fermium.ltd.uk (Scientific Equiment), http://chinesecleavers.co.uk (Cutlery),
 

Offline thebatosaiTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ca
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2013, 08:04:13 am »
Is it in warranty?

It is brand new meter, received it today. So I would suppose it has warranty. I think this meter should have lifetime warranty. It is strange why it is behaving in such a way?
« Last Edit: April 25, 2013, 08:09:04 am by thebatosai »
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1190
  • Country: gb
    • Smartbox AT
Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2013, 08:38:41 am »
I think you should call fluke service.
David - Professional Engineer - Medical Devices and Tablet Computers at Smartbox AT
Side businesses: Altium Industry Expert writer, http://fermium.ltd.uk (Scientific Equiment), http://chinesecleavers.co.uk (Cutlery),
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 38043
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2013, 09:49:56 am »
Are you in diode mode perhaps?  :-//
 

Offline retiredcaps

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3575
  • Country: ca
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2013, 05:44:52 am »
What firmware is loaded on the new 87V?
 

Offline hgg

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 960
  • Country: gr
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2013, 07:09:39 am »
Just a thought.  Have you cleaned the probes? 
When I bought the TL175 ones, they had that delay as well, when they worked...

All probes become oxidized after some time.
I used Glanol Metal Polish and after I cleaned them thoroughly the cleaning paper became
black as coal...  I removed the remaining residue with alcohol and since then, they beep even
without touching ...  :)   Now you can play music with them.

(While I am not sure if it is recommended, I did the same to my UNI-T probes but before
cleaning them with the metal polish I removed all the scratchiness with the finest file paper.
These now are my best probes for continuity!  Much better than the Fluke.)
« Last Edit: April 26, 2013, 08:14:48 am by hgg »
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1190
  • Country: gb
    • Smartbox AT
Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2013, 06:02:24 pm »
Ot: post a photo/link of your probe! ;)
David - Professional Engineer - Medical Devices and Tablet Computers at Smartbox AT
Side businesses: Altium Industry Expert writer, http://fermium.ltd.uk (Scientific Equiment), http://chinesecleavers.co.uk (Cutlery),
 

Offline Kompost

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: pl
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2013, 06:42:50 pm »
Ot: post a photo/link of your probe! ;)

Yeah, you're probably using too long probes, hence the delay.


Sorry, couldn't help myself :)
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1190
  • Country: gb
    • Smartbox AT
Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2013, 06:59:47 pm »
Delay of cables are a lot under our possibility to hear them.
David - Professional Engineer - Medical Devices and Tablet Computers at Smartbox AT
Side businesses: Altium Industry Expert writer, http://fermium.ltd.uk (Scientific Equiment), http://chinesecleavers.co.uk (Cutlery),
 

Offline thebatosaiTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ca
Re: Fluke 87V - Continuity Test Response
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2013, 10:56:54 pm »
Are you in diode mode perhaps?  :-//
Sorry for the late reply. Been busy all week. Some times simplest of things we tend to overlook. I am so use to using Diode/Continuity selection on my old multimeter, Equus 4320, that I kept using Diode selection for continuity test on my new Fluke 87V. But wisdom of Dave was spot on. I know this is probably the dumbest thing but that's what happened. Hope you all can forgive me, lol ;).



« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 10:59:03 pm by thebatosai »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf