EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Products => Test Equipment => Topic started by: Liteace on March 29, 2017, 10:31:23 pm

Title: Fluke fuse
Post by: Liteace on March 29, 2017, 10:31:23 pm
Ive got here an like new old Fluke 23 series 2, the large fuse has popped inside, i only use this tester for automotive testing, volts, amps & residence.

I cant get a new fuse locally and will have to order it,  it wouldn't make any difference if i put a normal 20 amp fuse in would it?

Thanks
Title: Re: Fluke fuse
Post by: retiredcaps on March 29, 2017, 10:35:40 pm
No, don't put in a bigger rated fuse. Use the proper rated fuse and specifications for your meter.
Title: Re: Fluke fuse
Post by: ModemHead on March 30, 2017, 12:01:10 am
Yes, stick with the proper fuse.  But when you search for a replacement, look for KTK-15 (Bussmann), KLK-15 (Littelfuse), and Fluke 820829.  It may expand your options.
Title: Re: Fluke fuse
Post by: james_s on March 30, 2017, 12:01:51 am
You can't guarantee that you or someone else will never use the meter on mains voltage or higher. These fuses are special for a very specific reason, and should never be substituted with a cheap ordinary fuse.