Author Topic: Good cheap multi-meter?  (Read 16832 times)

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Good cheap multi-meter?
« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2020, 02:24:31 am »
Rather than opening a new thread, I decided to reply here.
Not looking for a cheap DMM but not going to spend a kidney on it either. My thoughts were to get a fluke 117 but then found out I can get a brymen 869s for the same price. Any advice? I’m a mechanic and have a cheap innova multimeter. Looking for something better.
Welcome to the forum.

Get Daves 235 from his shop.
A good sound trustworthy DMM.
https://www.eevblog.com/product/bm235-multimeter/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

The following users thanked this post: zabov

Offline wizard69

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2020, 06:45:21 am »
The first question I have to ask is what sort of Mechanic?   If an automotive mechanic I'd suggest looking at Flukes automotive series of meters.   Yes a bit pricey compared to their low end models but they are worth it if you work regularly on internal combustion engines.    Interestingly Snap-On has some meters that may be worth considering for that field as they are not so extremely over priced like some of their tools.

IF some other sort of mechanic then we will need more information.   Given that I almost always steer people to Fluke so get on line and pick a meter that looks good to you.   As for the Fluke 117 ask yourself this, can it do everything you need to do with a meter!   Further when looking at meter cost, think about that cost in cents per day over the expected lifetime of the meter.   

Too put it bluntly too many people look at the cost on the price tag and don't think about how long the meter will last them.