Author Topic: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?  (Read 202803 times)

videobelu and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #175 on: December 04, 2016, 04:16:05 pm »
Do not flash P08.01. It will limit your future choices.
But do try to flash a stock P07.07.
It could be that your root password was changed in factory. This would indeed close the loop hole, especially if future FW versions do not contain the passwd file,  or leave the existing one intact.
I am not sure if reflashing P07.07 will restore your password to default,  but it is worth a try.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline DL4RAJ

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #176 on: December 04, 2016, 04:22:09 pm »
DL4RAJ thanks for the response.
Yes you are correct:
When you type in the password nothing happens on the screen,
i.e. the cursor is staying on the same position as before!

I tried what you suggested, pressed backspace,

Despite there is nothing happening ON THE SCREEN the password is gettting into the system
while you are typing .Don't press 'Backspace' after entering but 'Enter' !

regards
 

Offline Tobey

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #177 on: December 04, 2016, 05:19:30 pm »
I did a sw update to 07.03 and still the same problem, I cannot get past the "Password" prompt.  Re-updated again to 07.07, still no go.  I am a little hesitant to upgrade to
08.01 at this time because I cannot login to the SSA in the older update versions.  I would have tried other sw versions but that was all I could find at Siglent.  Hoping someone knows how to get into the SSA that will work!
Thanks everybody!
 

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #178 on: December 04, 2016, 05:44:20 pm »
Don't dispair, nor do anything in a rush.

IMHO, there are the following possibilities:

a) Your device has been edited in factory to carry a different root password - I don't really believe that
b) Your device has a fault
c) Your network has a fault
d) Your computer(s) has/have a fault when it comes to telnet

Try this:

a) Use PuTTYinstead of telnet
b) Here is how it looks on my side:
Code: [Select]
_____                    _____           _         _
|  _  |___ ___ ___ ___   |  _  |___ ___  |_|___ ___| |_
|     |  _| .'| . | . |  |   __|  _| . | | | -_|  _|  _|
|__|__|_| |__,|_  |___|  |__|  |_| |___|_| |___|___|_|
              |___|                    |___|

Arago Project http://arago-project.org am335x-evm

Arago 2013.05 am335x-evm


am335x-evm login: root
Password:
Login incorrect

am335x-evm login: root
Password:
root@am335x-evm:~#

Note that in the first attempt, I entered a wrong password!

c) Try downloading and flashing this firmware, which does use the known root password (checked with CRC32 code = 8470CDE0): http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Firmware&Software/firmware/SSA3000X-P07.07.rar

d) This HAS to work, if not, something is wrong (defective device, network or computer).

Good luck.

Regards,
Vitor



Offline Tobey

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #179 on: December 04, 2016, 06:00:09 pm »
Success at last!  After reloading sw P07.07 I tried to enter SSA again and got in.  It must have been my fault.  When trying to enter the password, the cursor was having no response as if
nothing was being typed, and I assumed it was not taking the pw.  So, I entered "ding1234", even though there was no response at the cursor, and pressed Enter.  I was in.  I feel foolish that
I assumed there was no response from the machine.  I am do not use Linux very much.  Is this the way password entry works on the SSA?  I will now try to "liberate" the SSA.
Thanks all of you for your help, I am very appreciative!
 

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #180 on: December 04, 2016, 06:03:39 pm »
What you experienced is the Windows telnet, which does sometimes lack feedback. This is why I recommended PuTTY.
With the Rigol DS1054Z it is even worse, no response at all, unless you issue a propper command.

Regards,
Vitor

Offline DL4RAJ

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #181 on: December 04, 2016, 06:17:44 pm »
When trying to enter the password, the cursor was having no response as if
nothing was being typed, and I assumed it was not taking the pw.  So, I entered "ding1234", even though there was no response at the cursor, and pressed Enter.  I was in. 


You may want to re-read what I had decribed in my previous posts.
Exactly THIS:
"Despite there is nothing happening ON THE SCREEN the password is gettting into the System while you are typing .
Don't press 'Backspace' after entering but 'Enter' !"


regards




« Last Edit: December 04, 2016, 06:19:42 pm by DL4RAJ »
 

Offline Tobey

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #182 on: December 04, 2016, 07:01:49 pm »
Thanks DL4RAJ.

I did read your post about nothing happening on the screen and that is what caused me to rethink how
the password was entering the system.  Your help was taken to heart and worked!  I thank you very much
for your input and the help of everyone.  I'll try to "liberate" the SSA within the next few hours.

Again, thank you.

 

Offline Tobey

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #183 on: December 05, 2016, 05:21:19 am »
Liberated my SSA 3021X tonight!  Now a 3032X with all options permanent.  I am going to leave the firmware at P07.07 for the
time being.

Many thanks for the help everyone. It was much appreciated.
 

Offline jobber

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: ru
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #184 on: December 10, 2016, 09:19:29 pm »
Hey! I decided to connect to the debug port to see what is going on during boot. I looks like the kernel can not start but the UBOOT is working. I have attached the log for you to see and comment.
 

Offline TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 697
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #185 on: December 10, 2016, 10:54:47 pm »
@jobber:

Seems like there went something wrong with the defect management in your nand flash chip, i.e. defective blocks haven't been mapped out properly or have developed after the SSA has been installed. This can be just the result of repeated firmware updates even though it  definitely shouldn't be. I'm almost certain that this problem isn't related the your hacking attempts at all and would have occured even if you had updated the firmware on an otherwise "clean" machine. Have you got a chance to have the SSA replaced under warranty or is this option not available (for whatever reason)? In the first case, I strongly recommend to go for it. If not, things become more difficult but not impossible. I can provide images of all the partitions but the way to go would be to prepare a micro SD memory card with a bootable operating system (there's a slot on the digital PCB close to the USB device connector) and get the machine running from this, run a new defect scan (don't know if this is even possible) and install the system on an otherwise blank, freshly re-partitioned hardware. This would be a lot of work and require considerable skills but if this job is successful, it means that with this sd card, any failed system can be re-installed. I guess that's the way the SSA3000X machines are installed at the Siglent factory.

Please find attached a boot log of my machine (must have been a 7.05 firmware I guess).

All the best,
Thomas
 

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Text attachment of modifications
« Reply #186 on: December 11, 2016, 07:27:19 pm »
I attached a .doc file of all the related posts starting Nov 9th regarding modifications up to the above post.
The username is in bold with the date following (no time) at the beginning of every entry. I did not included any quotes with any of the posts since that replay usually responded to the previous post. Comments such as "regards" or thanks were not included to keep the document as short as possible. A few posts were combined into one when one followed the other from the same poster.

Hope this helps as it's not easy to follow this, considering that document is 10 pages long (nor was it easy to C&P all of those posts, then remove all the unnecessary text.)   :o
(v2 corrected some missed bold text for username's)
« Last Edit: December 11, 2016, 07:43:13 pm by videobruce »
 

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #187 on: December 17, 2016, 11:15:44 pm »
That is about 5MHz, not 5GHz!

The signal of your GPS antenna is probably so faint, that your SSA3021X picked up something at 2.493333MHz.

Regards,
Vitor
 
The following users thanked this post: kr5j

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #188 on: December 18, 2016, 01:04:25 pm »
Wrong thread
 
The following users thanked this post: rf-loop, nugglix

Offline B1nary

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: ca
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #189 on: December 20, 2016, 07:19:26 pm »
New SSA3021X just arrived with 8.01 installed. It cannot be rolled back to an older FW - I tried 7.03 and 7.07. Snooping around I didn't see a file anywhere called NSP_system_info.xml. The files I found are NSP_sn_bandwidth.xml, NSP_trends_config_info.xml, calib, fun_opt_valid_config.xml and nsp_data-b. It seems the upgrade path may have been closed after the 7.07 FW. Has anyone been successful after the 8.01 update?
 

Offline bozidarms

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: ch
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #190 on: December 21, 2016, 12:26:54 am »
Hi,
yes upgrade is still possible  ;)- read in the thread before.
Regards
« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 01:02:15 am by bozidarms »
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16729
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #191 on: December 21, 2016, 12:34:55 am »
Hi,
yes upgrade is still possible  ;)- red in thread before.
Regards
Might a new guide for dummies be required ?

I'm one and I'd have no idea where to start.  :scared:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: videobruce

Offline bozidarms

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: ch
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #192 on: December 21, 2016, 12:57:54 am »
Unfortunately, i am not a right man for software at all.
I have done that, but i have had more luck than knowledge :palm:.
Just read more times a  whole thread and try to understand
what is all about.
Good luck!
 
« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 01:01:13 am by bozidarms »
 

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #193 on: December 21, 2016, 12:15:14 pm »
Might a new guide for dummies be required ?
I'm one and I'd have no idea where to start.  :scared:
There isn't enough in this thread to do it properly except for the 1% that are at the software 'code writing' level.   :-//
Too many assumptions that everyone else is (or should be) at that level.  :--
 

Offline BlauerElefant

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: at
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #194 on: December 29, 2016, 04:58:36 pm »
I could go back to 7.07 with the ecomb copy-trick. Thanks for the help!

Can I ask you a few things?
a) If I had that monster.txt file - where would it be?

b) I had 08.01 on my machine, copied the 07.07 ecomb back on the machine. Then I deleted the "new" files in the firmdata0.
Now I have
NSP_system_info.xml
NSP_trends_config_info.xml
fun_opt_valid_config.xml
and the calib folder in there

Is this right?

c) When I try to update again with the "peter" method now the machine says "Update could not be cpmpleted" (yes, with typo...) - I guess because of downgrading...
In my /usr/bin/siglent/upgrade folder I have two files with 0 bytes each
datafs.img
and
firmdata0.img

Is this normal? Could this be the reason why I cannot update anymore? Should/Can I remove them? Do you have them on a proper 08.01 installation?
Or could there be somewhere else files that are a problem for the update? Any suggestion?

Thanks for your help... :)

Edit: I attached the three small Error / Warning / Info-files that are generated when I try to upgrade... I'm not good enough into Linux to know what it is the real issue. To me is looks like a mounting thing? Or a owner / chmod thing? Maybe there is a good Linux guy here that can help me?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2016, 07:45:25 pm by BlauerElefant »
 

Offline kr5j

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #195 on: December 31, 2016, 08:54:00 pm »
It was mentioned in one of the comments that a 50-75 ohms capability was added in a FW update.
I have I think the latest FW 1.2.8.1 and cannot find a choice of 50 or 75 ohms on any of the screens.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16729
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #196 on: December 31, 2016, 10:39:43 pm »
It was mentioned in one of the comments that a 50-75 ohms capability was added in a FW update.
I have I think the latest FW 1.2.8.1 and cannot find a choice of 50 or 75 ohms on any of the screens.
Welcome to the forum.

You are quite right, it was FW version 7.07.

2.   Add “input impedance switching function between 50? and 75?”


I'm running the latest FW but I'll have a check if it's there for you.  :popcorn:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16729
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #197 on: December 31, 2016, 11:01:37 pm »
It was mentioned in one of the comments that a 50-75 ohms capability was added in a FW update.
I have I think the latest FW 1.2.8.1 and cannot find a choice of 50 or 75 ohms on any of the screens.
Welcome to the forum.

You are quite right, it was FW version 7.07.

2.   Add “input impedance switching function between 50? and 75?”

To Find the 50 or 75 \$\Omega\$ selection:

Amplitude> Corrections> RF: 50 or 75 \$\Omega\$


Edit
Reply linked here too:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/
« Last Edit: December 31, 2016, 11:09:01 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline B1nary

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: ca
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #198 on: January 03, 2017, 03:47:55 am »
Hi,
yes upgrade is still possible  ;)- red in thread before.
Regards
Might a new guide for dummies be required ?

I'm one and I'd have no idea where to start.  :scared:
I've read this forum several times and as is started in this post we, yes me as well, need a upgrade for dummies step by step guide. It's confusing to read to replace ecomb from 8 with the one from 7 and then what?? You can now roll back upgrades? That's great if I read that correctly but chances are high I didn't. There are some pretty incredibly talented users in this form and if one or a few could help those of us who need the upgrades for dummies methods I think we and everyone else who is trying to do the upgrade and failing or just afraid to try would be very grateful.

Does please and thank you work?  :-+

 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16729
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #199 on: January 03, 2017, 04:15:36 am »
Hi,
yes upgrade is still possible  ;)- red in thread before.
Regards
Might a new guide for dummies be required ?

I'm one and I'd have no idea where to start.  :scared:
I've read this forum several times and as is started in this post we, yes me as well, need a upgrade for dummies step by step guide. It's confusing to read to replace ecomb from 8 with the one from 7 and then what?? You can now roll back upgrades? That's great if I read that correctly but chances are high I didn't. There are some pretty incredibly talented users in this form and if one or a few could help those of us who need the upgrades for dummies methods I think we and everyone else who is trying to do the upgrade and failing or just afraid to try would be very grateful.

Does please and thank you work?  :-+
I feel your frustration too and I believe the reason that nobody's offered a guide is they think it will get reported to Siglent and the chance to improve them will cease as the holes will be closed. Fact is these are flying out the door almost faster than they're being produced and are at least their #2 best seller.

If the members here think Siglent is unaware of this thread and its contents, well............you're joking, right ?
Are they frustrated by this ? I guess they might be but they've never expressed such to me.

I say: go for it and IF holes get closed I'm quite sure there's enough smart guys here to find a way in again.  ;)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf