Author Topic: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?  (Read 202269 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #450 on: September 30, 2017, 06:10:10 pm »
This is the reason why for now (as long as Siglent does not implement a major change in the FW structure), the only really important information for every new FW upgrade is: "Does the telnet access still work?"

Regards,
Vitor

Offline cv_pacifier

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #451 on: October 19, 2017, 03:22:16 am »
Hi guys. I am a newbie with limited experience with putty. Just got  new ssa 3021x. Connected LAN from PC to instrument. software version 1.2.8.5. ran putty in telenet mode after setting the IP address under static on the SSA. Will not communicate. No response from instrument. Any ideas?
thanks
 

Offline Ghislain

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: be
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #452 on: October 19, 2017, 12:38:11 pm »
Hi guys. I am a newbie with limited experience with putty. Just got  new ssa 3021x. Connected LAN from PC to instrument. software version 1.2.8.5. ran putty in telenet mode after setting the IP address under static on the SSA. Will not communicate. No response from instrument. Any ideas?
thanks

I guess you have already checked the basics (did the SA retain the user configured ip address after power off/on, is the subnetmask correct, is the ethernet cable used ok ...)?
When you write you have connected the LAN from PC to instrument, do you mean you have a NIC with multiple ports in your PC?
Usually you would connect the SA directly into a port of your LAN switch.

Can you ping the SA from your pc? If so, the PUTTY configuration is wrong....
 

Offline cv_pacifier

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #453 on: October 21, 2017, 02:16:44 am »
hello thanks for the help. I have the LAN connection can ping through the command window to the device and get a response. have verified pc will hook by the same lan cable to my modem. Have set the ip address on the built in network adaptor and used a similar address on the instrument  different by one digit. submask appears to be correct. After much trying started to work. not sure why. Appreciate your help. Assume can still hack  with this firmware 1.2.8.5?
 

Offline cv_pacifier

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #454 on: October 21, 2017, 05:10:16 am »
hello everyone.. as a newbie had trouble getting pc to communicate to ssa3021x. FW 1.2.8.5. tried gonzo's script but when rebooted came back up as 3021x.  Firmdata0 directory was showing that the NSP ... file was being renamed to the "x" version but the original file was still there preventing it coming up as a 3032x.  got message stating read only file system cannot delete. Went back to Gonzo's command for mounting firmdata0 and tried it again and this time file (original) was removed. rebooted and it came up as 3032x. Thank you all for this forum and the great contributors.
 

Offline homestea

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #455 on: October 24, 2017, 09:07:09 pm »
I just bought a SSA3021X from Saelig and it came with 1.2.8.3 firmware.  I updated it to 1.2.8.5a and followed the commands on gonzo's post 429 and everything worked just fine! now enjoying my SSA3032x!   Thanks to everyone for figuring this out.
 

Online trevwhite

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 807
  • Country: gb
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #456 on: October 24, 2017, 09:35:36 pm »
I just bought a SSA3021X from Saelig and it came with 1.2.8.3 firmware.  I updated it to 1.2.8.5a and followed the commands on gonzo's post 429 and everything worked just fine! now enjoying my SSA3032x!   Thanks to everyone for figuring this out.
Is it worth updating the firmware from 1.2.8.3? Have held back until now as it's working  nicely.

Thanks

Trev

 

Offline homestea

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #457 on: October 25, 2017, 02:56:47 pm »
I think there was some significant bugs fixed when going from 1.2.8.3 to 1.2.8.5 as well as some enhancements to RBW.  I believe there was only very minor fixes between going from 8.5 to 8.5a.  I even saw a few people complaining that 8.5a was causing hangs and freezes,  however I have not had any issues at all with 8.5a so far. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Online trevwhite

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 807
  • Country: gb
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #458 on: October 25, 2017, 03:16:06 pm »
I think there was some significant bugs fixed when going from 1.2.8.3 to 1.2.8.5 as well as some enhancements to RBW.  I believe there was only very minor fixes between going from 8.5 to 8.5a.  I even saw a few people complaining that 8.5a was causing hangs and freezes,  however I have not had any issues at all with 8.5a so far. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Is there a chsngelog anywhere?

Thanks

Trev

 

Offline homestea

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 51
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #459 on: October 25, 2017, 03:47:05 pm »
Yes a pdf of the change log is included in the firmware zip file when you download it from siglent. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
The following users thanked this post: trevwhite

Offline grumpy3000

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: gb
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #460 on: November 06, 2017, 06:52:53 pm »
Thanks to Gonzo_the_great. I followed his text in #428 exactly and now have a full unlocked SSA3021X

My procedure, Analyser delivered SW1= 1.2.8.3, SW2= 2017-05-12-1, SW3=000000D1, HW=07.03.00

1) Download firmware update from siglent v 8.5a, quick format a FAT32 usb stick San Cruzer 8gb, unzip update and copy .ADS file onto mem stick.
2) Insert into SSA3021X and boot.
3) system> system info> firmware update> update (system reboots a few times etc. reboot and confirm update is correct 1.2.8.5a
4) putty, telnet>login etc.
*i tried to update and mod the files here but after backup of 2 folders and mv (rename) was tried said filesystem was read only.
5)need to power off/reboot after firmware update first.

6)follow the instructions from Gonzo.

On a unit, brought last week, with rev 8.3 firmware, we used the following script:


plug in FAT32 formatted USB memory stick (to take a backup).
telnet to SSA30xxX
root/ding1234

cd /   
cp -R /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup /usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/SA-backup
cp -R /usr/bin/siglent/firmdata0 /usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/SA-firmdata0
mount -o remount,rw /dev/ubi2_0 /usr/bin/siglent/firmdata0
cd /usr/bin/siglent/firmdata0
mv NSP_sn_bandwidth.xml NSP_sn_bandwidthx.xml
mv NSP_trends_config_info.xml NSP_trends_config_infox.xml   
mv nsp_data_b nsp_data_bx   
cd /usr/bin/siglent/usr/backup   
mv NSP_sn_bandwidth.xml NSP_sn_bandwidthx.xml
mv NSP_trends_config_info.xml NSP_trends_config_infox.xml
mv nsp_data_b nsp_data_bx
cd /
sync   
logout

reboot



Works fine. All options enabled, including bandwidth extension, permenant licences. :popcorn: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
I'm happy!

Thanks again Gonzo_the_great.

Grump.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 06:55:20 pm by grumpy3000 »
 
The following users thanked this post: trevwhite, swixo, KA3YAN, MilkmanCDN

Offline omegat

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #461 on: December 01, 2017, 04:43:42 pm »
...and another successful hack.
Thank you guys, you are awesome!
 

Offline fanman

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: au
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #462 on: December 03, 2017, 02:26:29 am »
Thanks Gonzo_the_great.

So if we update the firmware in future to a new version does that reverse the upgrade?

Thanks

Fanman
 

Offline Ghislain

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 52
  • Country: be
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #463 on: December 04, 2017, 10:52:30 am »
^^^^ Going from 1.2.8.3 to 1.2.8.5a retained all settings  :-+
 

Online tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 989
  • Country: pt
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #464 on: December 09, 2017, 08:57:57 pm »
Contents of a decrypted nsp_data_b:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<sn_backup_root>
  <factory>TRUE</factory>
  <pro_mode>FALSE</pro_mode>
   <transit>TRUE</transit>
   <serial_number>
      <chip>SSA3XXXXXXXXXX</chip>
   </serial_number>
   <license>
      <_3032>
         <lic>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</lic>
      </_3032>
      <_Meas>
         <lic>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</lic>
      </_Meas>
      <_EMI>
         <lic>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</lic>
      </_EMI>
      <_TG>
         <lic>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</lic>
      </_TG>
      <_CAT>
         <lic>XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX</lic>
      </_CAT>
   </license>
</sn_backup_root>

Anyone knows what is the PRO_MODE?
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 10:54:07 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline kerrsmith

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Country: 00
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #465 on: December 17, 2017, 11:31:08 pm »
My SSA3021X currently has firmware version 8.2 and also has the hack as detailed in post #428. I am looking to upgrade to the latest firmware which is currently version 8.5a as my version looks like it is now quite out of date.

Is it possible to just apply this new firmware without un-doing the hack first? I have seen a few people have gone from version 8.3 to 8.5a without un-doing the hack but I have not seen anyone mention going from 8.2 to 8.5a...

Before doing the update I just wanted to check if I can do it without making any file changes?

Thanks in advance for the help.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2017, 11:35:24 pm by kerrsmith »
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16694
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #466 on: December 18, 2017, 12:03:34 am »
My SSA3021X currently has firmware version 8.2 and also has the hack as detailed in post #428. I am looking to upgrade to the latest firmware which is currently version 8.5a as my version looks like it is now quite out of date.

Is it possible to just apply this new firmware without un-doing the hack first? I have seen a few people have gone from version 8.3 to 8.5a without un-doing the hack but I have not seen anyone mention going from 8.2 to 8.5a...

Before doing the update I just wanted to check if I can do it without making any file changes?

Thanks in advance for the help.
There's nothing stopping you doing the FW updates in steps.
8.3 can be found here:
http://www.siglenteu.com/gjjrj-xq.aspx?id=3918&tid=15
And 8.5a on the first page of the FW list.
http://www.siglenteu.com/gjjrj.aspx?id=15
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kerrsmith

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 77
  • Country: 00
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #467 on: December 18, 2017, 09:20:31 am »
Thanks tautech - I will do it the way you suggest in two updates.

I just wanted to check as:

message #400 said 8.1 to 8.3 did not need any mod reverting
message #439 appeared to say 8.3 to 8.5 was also ok without a revert (but I was slightly unclear on this one)
message #464 said 8.3 to 8.5a retained all settings

I just wanted to double check that I was reading everything correctly.

Thanks again.
 

Offline ironcurtain

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: es
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #468 on: December 19, 2017, 06:10:54 am »
Any hacks to expand bandwidth and options for the SDS2104X? I'm probably going to grab the offer from Batronix before it expires, so I'm rushed to figure out which 4 channel DSO allows me to upgrade decoders and bandwidth to at least 200 MHz (300MHz even better) from either Rigol or Siglent. I'm a complete novice in the thread and just skimmed through.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16694
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #469 on: December 19, 2017, 06:30:13 am »
Any hacks to expand bandwidth and options for the SDS2104X? I'm probably going to grab the offer from Batronix before it expires, so I'm rushed to figure out which 4 channel DSO allows me to upgrade decoders and bandwidth to at least 200 MHz (300MHz even better) from either Rigol or Siglent. I'm a complete novice in the thread and just skimmed through.
Really this is the wrong thread to go looking at DSO's.
I guess the SDS2000X series can be tweaked but I've not heard of anyone that's achieved it.
Jump into another thread to further your search.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent's-new-product-sds2000x-series/
If you need 2Gsa/s then the 2000X models are your only option otherwise there's the new SDS1000X-E series with 4 channels and BW's to 200 MHz.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sds1204x-e-released-for-domestic-markets-in-china/
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sds1104x-e-in-depth-review/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline rfspezi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: 00
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #470 on: January 01, 2018, 11:57:30 pm »
Hi,
am i right, that when i buy a SSA3021X (TG option already enabled) today, i will be able to hack it to 3.2 GHz?
Since even the plain SSA3021X version is hardly affordable for me, i would be glad if somebody could confirm the hackability of the actually shipped versions.
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 02, 2018, 12:07:07 am by rfspezi »
 

Offline fact

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: nl
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #471 on: January 02, 2018, 10:24:48 am »
@rfspezi
Have you even bothered to look at the previous posts?
 

Offline rfspezi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: 00
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #472 on: January 02, 2018, 10:42:15 am »
@rfspezi
Have you even bothered to look at the previous posts?

Yes, however it's not clear to me if a "fresh" unit containing the latest firmware (not updated from a previouse, hacked version) can be hacked aswell.
That's why i was asking.
 

Offline Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 946
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #473 on: January 02, 2018, 10:48:07 am »
You can do the hack.

Offline AlphaBob

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #474 on: January 13, 2018, 08:10:20 pm »
I"ve read pretty much every post in the last 19 pages...

I have a unmodified 3021 with licensed TG that I purchased back in 2016.  It came with 7.07 firmware.  All the trial options have timed out and I've done no modifications to it.

Do I understand correctly that if I modify the version 7.07 file that had the lower case "t" enables to get all the options enabled in 7.07, THEN upgrade to 8.01, that I will be able to read the hex keys for all the options, something that I can do one time only. Are those hex keys the same ones that you would use to enter in via the UI for the  System Info Load Option ?

Thanks!  AlphaBob
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf