Author Topic: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes  (Read 901865 times)

edward-p and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline mrpackethead

• Super Contributor
  • D Size Cell
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #550 on: January 07, 2019, 08:16:29 am »

There is the very real risk that in future software updates all the 'bonus' features will disappear. Only you can decide if you want to take that risk.

For about 24-48 hours while rigolhack does its work no doubt.
On a quest to find increasingly complicated ways to blink things

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #551 on: January 07, 2019, 11:32:12 am »
So if I bought a rigol mso5000 in next week, can it then be hacked?
Sorry I am asking, it's because I am a noob and all those 22 pages of informations and comments confuse me.

Don't worry, people are still asking this about the DS1054Z.

Answer: Yes!

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #552 on: January 07, 2019, 11:35:33 am »
There is the very real risk that in future software updates all the 'bonus' features will disappear. Only you can decide if you want to take that risk.

We now know so much about the MSO5000 that whatever Rigol does will be re-hacked in a few hours.

(and nobody is *forcing* you to install updates)
« Last Edit: January 07, 2019, 02:19:47 pm by Fungus »

Offline rgwan

• Contributor
« Reply #553 on: January 07, 2019, 11:39:04 am »
These annoying bug will force you to install further updates.

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #554 on: January 07, 2019, 11:44:52 am »

The trick is not to install them two seconds after they're released.

Wait a few days until other people have done it.  :popcorn:

Offline mrpackethead

• Super Contributor
  • D Size Cell
« Reply #555 on: January 07, 2019, 11:50:13 am »

Have you relocated from China to the USA rgwan?

Offline tv84

• Super Contributor
« Reply #556 on: January 07, 2019, 02:11:20 pm »