Author Topic: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers  (Read 321972 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Martyy2k

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1625 on: May 07, 2021, 04:35:24 am »
Hi Folks, Okay i have received my SSA3021X plus, it has FW 3.2.2.4.0. So.... if i follow this guide, what would be a trap for a non linux guy?  I have no Linux savy people around so i am alone on that side of things.

Thats basically what worries me the most and dont wanna screw up.

any tips are appreciated.

All the best to you all

Marty
 

Offline Ghislain

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Country: be
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1626 on: May 07, 2021, 07:22:34 am »
Marty, the safest thing to do in such case is to call upon the help of someone who is knowledgeable when it comes to working with Linux, the last thing you want to do is to mess up your brand new expensive piece of equipment!
But even in such case, be sure to have a detailed procedure at hand, there is a lot of information in here so it can be confusing, put everything together in a document so that the steps are clear.
The whole procedure is quite straight forward however requires editing of some files for which you need to know your way around with a linux editor (mostly vi).
Whatever you do, make sure to have a backup (if your procedure is complete it is one of the first steps), should you run into trouble, there are a lot of people around here that are willing to help :-)
Good luck  :-+
 
 
The following users thanked this post: Martyy2k

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2136
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1627 on: May 07, 2021, 08:49:59 am »
Marty,

I'll share this once again: https://files.fm/u/a3rnz873y

This allows a direct crossflashing from SSAX+ to SVA, assuming that the SSAX+ version is V3.2.2.4.0.

No previous modifications are required to the inside files!

If required, the after modifications are as usual (see point V in electr_peter's latest summary) .

PS: If it doesn't work 1st time, reboot and try a 2nd time...
« Last Edit: May 07, 2021, 08:57:35 am by tv84 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Kibabalu, Martyy2k, fr3nky

Offline Martyy2k

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1628 on: May 07, 2021, 03:21:54 pm »
Thank you TV84!  :-+

And a big thanks to members for their great time and patience for helping others. Your expertise is hugely appreciated! :-+ :clap:

Will let you all know when things have "Improved"!   8)

All the best to everyone.

Marty
 
The following users thanked this post: F64098

Offline samc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1629 on: May 09, 2021, 12:45:54 pm »
Just wanted to post yet another huge thank-you to electr_peter for the summary of the current flashing process, and to tv84 and everyone else who has contributed to this :)

My SSA3021X Plus has also become an SVA1032; everything went flawlessly.  For what it's worth, mine did already have the SMA cable installed as far as I can tell; purchased in March, with a 2.x firmware (I didn't note down the specific version) installed out of the box.

Thanks all!
 

Offline Martyy2k

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1630 on: May 10, 2021, 02:05:26 pm »
Thank you TV84!  :-+

And a big thanks to members for their great time and patience for helping others. Your expertise is hugely appreciated! :-+ :clap:

Will let you all know when things have "Improved"!   8)

All the best to everyone.

Marty

Well folks, here is my update…..here is another lovely “Improved” ssa3021x plus that is 100%. I would like to thank everyone who has contributed to the forums, as there is much knowledge to learn from on here and some very passionate people who are always up to helping out others. Special thanks to Tautech for your great tips and guidance, really gave me confidence in moving on when ready and also a special thanks to TV84 for his great help, guidance and in making the magic happen for this great piece of equipment, all the best to you all!

Marty
 

Offline Randmental

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: za
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1631 on: May 13, 2021, 12:00:36 pm »
 :-+  Another successful upgrade and conversion to a SVA3032X from a new SSA3021X Plus V3.2.2.4.0

Thanks guys - using electr_peter's summary above, it runs through perfectly except for my VI editor mishaps.
Once those were fixed, all sailing!     

 

Offline msquared

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1632 on: May 15, 2021, 12:16:11 am »
Hello Everyone,

Got a nice new shiny SSA3021X plus recently and decided to try to give it a boost. But now it's stuck somewhere between old and new. Hopefully someone can help me get it back into the original state or help it find a new life as an SVA.

Steps taken to attempt upgrade:
1. Successfully ran SSA3000X+_backup_11411.ADS and got a full backup.
2. Ran TV84's direct xflash SVA1032X_V3.2.2.4.0_11411.ADS, which seemed to work and rebooted.

However it's still an SSA3021X and the only change is I lost the TG option. Also the option names seem to have changed but I only looked at those briefly, just long enough to see the TG option was permanent before the "upgrade" so I may be wrong about the looking different.

Per the direct xflash instructions I tried it a second time but now it just runs for about a minute and returns to the file browser.

I was going to try to use electr_peter's steps to see if I could recover it or at least figure out what state is was in but I can't get telnet access.

1. Tried to run the telnet for the SSA3000 (SSA3000X+_telnet_11411.ADS) but this just says upgrading for about a minute then returns to the file browser and never opens telnet.
2. Tried to run the telnet for the  SVA1000 (SVA1000X_telnet_11410.ADS) but this just does the same as the SSA3000 version.
(Not knowing exactly what the TV84 direct update does I'm not sure what product ID is now in use so I tried both.)

I've tried all the above a few times and between attempts I've powered off the unit and I've even tried unplugging it so I know it's getting a complete power down.

Current state:
Model SSA3021X Plus

Versions:
SW1 3.2.2.4.0
SW2 20201220-1
SW3 000000D4
HW 00.00.00

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Took another shot after dinner....

I realized that xflash had probably gone fine, I checked what modes were available and VNA, DtoF and others were greyed out. :palm:

Of course.... I had to finish the process of Step 5 from electr_peter.

Tried the SVA1000 telnet again, and of course it worked.  :)

Quick run through of step 5 and all is good.  :popcorn:

Thanks to all that made this happen! TV84, electr_peter and others.

What a great community

Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 15, 2021, 03:52:42 am by msquared »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf