Author Topic: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72  (Read 29519 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline uncle_sem

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #100 on: April 17, 2019, 12:48:28 pm »
so, is it possible to hack 2d42 to make it 2d72?
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #101 on: April 18, 2019, 02:35:23 am »
so, is it possible to hack 2d42 to make it 2d72?

Yes it is, https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hantek-2c422c722d422d72/msg2220975/#msg2220975 but you will need to open your device and have a ST-Link v2 to reprogram de FW. The procedure is described in a few posts back.

If you try it just make sure to backup your device before do any change.
 

Offline crsojr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #102 on: April 24, 2019, 02:26:28 pm »
Good morning everyone. I'm Brazilian and I need help from geniuses. I have the 2C42 with the latest firmware that now appears for example in a sinusoid to FREQUENCY, MAX AND MIN. What would this MAX and MIN be? Because when it had the option of peak to peak the values gave different. In a 3db sinusoid I get the RMS value and multiply it by 1.4142 and find the peak value where multiplied by 2 I find the peak-to-peak value. Well these values did not hit before and now with this update. I calibrated the tip x10 and x100 and nothing. Please someone help me? Thank you.

FIRMWARE 2019030201
FPGA V04
PCB 000000001
« Last Edit: April 24, 2019, 02:35:25 pm by crsojr »
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #103 on: April 25, 2019, 05:43:49 am »
Hello crsojr welcome to the forum.

I saw your other post on Hantek's forum as well. The values showed by the device are correct. If I understood correctly, you are just mixing the concepts of peak-to-peak and maximum and minimum values.
I can understand the confusion because in the earlier versions of the firmware this scope used to show the peak-to-peak measure, in the latest FW Hantek changed it to show the MAX and MIN, that is the maximum (or minimum) amplitude of the signal from zero (ground).

This may help you: or http://www.newtoncbraga.com.br/index.php/ideias-dicas-e-informacoes-uteis/177-ideias-praticas/12290-tensao-de-pico-eficaz-e-rms-ip1315
 
The following users thanked this post: crsojr

Offline crsojr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #104 on: April 25, 2019, 10:45:19 am »
Hello Microchip grateful for your response. I understood what you wrote. I expressed myself wrong. What happens is that before the old firmware when it appeared the option pico-pico the value was not correct.
Ex. In the sinusoid at 60 Hz in 3 db the peak value is the RMS value x 1.4142. When I put the oscilloscope to measure the peak-to-peak value that should be 2 x peak went wrong.
So I updated the firmware of 2C42 where it now shows MIN MAX but it still shows wrong values ..
I left 2 videos in google drive one with the tip x10 and another with the tip x100.
Please see it.
There is a true rms multimeter with sinusoid value where the peak value should be rms * 1.4142. I can not find any parameters for this result on the oscilloscope.
Can you help me ?
Thank you very much.
Link :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1W1cfMEbwGr43AkVJR8kWncV-Ece-XWVc
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kAwDCebhwv3j2wE-dPbTFaX0BQ7gVX0-
 

Offline crsojr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #105 on: April 25, 2019, 10:49:06 am »
Olá Microchip grato pela sua resposta. Eu entendi o que você escreveu. Eu me expressei errado. O que acontece é que antes do firmware antigo quando aparecia a opção pico-pico o valor não estava correto.
Ex. Na sinusóide a 60 Hz em 3 db, o valor máximo é o valor RMS x 1,4142. Quando eu coloco o osciloscópio para medir o valor pico-a-pico, que deveria ser 2x, o pico deu errado.
Então atualizei o firmware do 2C42 onde agora ele mostra o MIN MAX, mas ele ainda mostra valores errados ..
Deixei dois vídeos no google drive um com a dica x10 e outro com a dica x100.
Por favor veja.
Existe um verdadeiro multímetro rms com valor sinusoidal onde o valor de pico deve ser rms * 1.4142. Não consigo encontrar nenhum parâmetro para este resultado no osciloscópio.
Pode me ajudar ?
Muito obrigado.
Link:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1W1cfMEbwGr43AkVJR8kWncV-Ece-XWVc
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kAwDCebhwv3j2wE-dPbTFaX0BQ7gVX0-
 

Offline crsojr

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: br
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #106 on: May 02, 2019, 02:57:19 pm »
Hello, how are you?
Please could you help me, I saw in your post that you also have a Hantek 2C42. I would like to ask a question if in a sine wave your device correctly marks MAX and MIN? For mine when I have a true rms multimeter and with 2C42 the MAX and MIN value that would be of peak peak is different from that marked by the multimeter and calculated according to grammar.
Can you help me?
Thanks
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #107 on: May 03, 2019, 04:10:27 am »
This handheld only gives you the peak value of the signal, your multimeter shows RMS values. To simplify, for a sine wave Vrms = Vpeak/sqrt(2).
You were reading 40Vp then, Vrms = 40/1.414 => Vrms = 28V, a little too high but not far from the 22V shown in the multimeter. Now, the reason for this higher value is probably because you are measuring a low frequency signal with AC coupling.
I did a quick test here with my scope and I noticed that for frequencies from around 100Hz to about 40Hz the amplitude of the signal will overshoot a bit with AC coupling enabled (that is a characteristic of the filter in the scopes's front-end). So, try to change the coupling to DC and measure again.

I strongly recommend this article for more details: https://blogs.keysight.com/blogs/tech/bench.entry.html/2018/10/18/when_to_use_ac_coupl-X0K7.html

By the way, you can get the rms and other types of measurement connecting the oscilloscope to a PC and using the software. Just be careful not to damage your equipment when poking mains voltage with the device connected to the USB port of a grounded computer:
https://youtu.be/xaELqAo4kkQ
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 11:51:21 pm by Microcheap »
 

Offline beltet

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: se
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #108 on: May 14, 2019, 08:59:44 pm »
so, is it possible to hack 2d42 to make it 2d72?

Yes it is, https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hantek-2c422c722d422d72/msg2220975/#msg2220975 but you will need to open your device and have a ST-Link v2 to reprogram de FW. The procedure is described in a few posts back.

If you try it just make sure to backup your device before do any change.

Then I start to wonder if the 2D82auto also have the same hardware and you can just flash the firmware there aswell.
Where do you source the firmware files? And can you provide a link to the forum that you are referring to, as my Google Fu was not enough.
Starting to want one of these especially with the specific car diagnostic feutures.
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #109 on: May 15, 2019, 05:05:35 pm »
I bet that the 2D82 is exactly the same hardware as the other models, the only difference being in the software.

To change the BW  of your scope, you will need a ST-Link and then connect it to the device as described a few msg back in this same thread: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hantek-2c422c722d422d72/msg2186756/#msg2186756
Extract the FW, open it with a Hex editor and look for the serial number in it, it will end with "-40" just change it to "-70" save and reprogram the flash memory. Now your handheld has a maximum BW of 70MHz.

I haven't test it yet but I would believe that to unlock the car diagnose features it is a similar process.
 

Offline gf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #110 on: May 17, 2019, 09:22:13 pm »
To change the BW  of your scope, you will need a ST-Link and then connect it to the device as described a few msg back in this same thread: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hantek-2c422c722d422d72/msg2186756/#msg2186756
Extract the FW, open it with a Hex editor and look for the serial number in it, it will end with "-40" just change it to "-70" save and reprogram the flash memory. Now your handheld has a maximum BW of 70MHz.

Do you have evidence that the bandwidth of the 2000 series can be really changed w/o hardware modification? Besides the 20MHz BW limit switch, I'm not aware of any component in the analog frontend which would enable a variable bandwidth. Did I miss anything?

gf
 

Offline IulianCioarca

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ro
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #111 on: May 22, 2019, 10:52:51 pm »
Does the 2D72 have autozero/REL mode for the multimeter?
 

Offline laurentiumarian

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ro
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #112 on: May 25, 2019, 08:56:49 am »
Hi Everyone, In short I have trouble with my 2C72 after FW updating as many of subscribers here, unfortunately. I followed the right steps for uploading the .bin file via USB/TTL converter successfully but the 2C72 device is still bricked. After reading some posts here, I think- having not so much experience in uC programming- the boot loader is missing or corrupt or whatever. Can you please help me with some hints?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 09:26:26 am by laurentiumarian »
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #113 on: May 25, 2019, 06:18:01 pm »
Does the 2D72 have autozero/REL mode for the multimeter?
No, I don't think this device has the REL mode.

Can you please help me with some hints?
In the installation folder of the PC software (C:\Program Files (x86)\Hantek2xx2) there is a file named "rescure_en.txt" check it and see if it helps in your case.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 06:34:15 pm by Microcheap »
 

Offline dimkadm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #114 on: June 13, 2019, 11:05:18 pm »
Hello,

Could you please provide the dump of 2D72 to flash the bricked device via St Link ?

Thank you!

 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #115 on: June 14, 2019, 01:42:36 am »
Have you tried the procedure described in the file "rescure_en.txt" ? Open the Hantek2xx2 pc software, click in Help-> Check Update, then mark the option "Rescue". See if it helps you
« Last Edit: June 14, 2019, 02:03:37 am by Microcheap »
 

Offline dimkadm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #116 on: June 14, 2019, 11:16:41 am »
Yes, I did try the described procedure ..

3 Press and hold F1, plug in the USB cable and connect to the computer.
4 Release F1 immediately after the lower right corner (RUN/Stop) light flashes

After I connect USB to computer, the "Turn On/Off" button starts to flash, but the "Run/Stop" button remains off :(

Clicking on the Start button in the does not do anything as well.
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #117 on: June 14, 2019, 09:40:39 pm »
Do you have the usb driver for the ARM chip installed? You need to install the Dfuse drivers first. You can get it either from Hantek's website or directly from ST's:
https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/stsw-stm32080.html

Anyway, in this thread: https://www.eediscuss.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=14722&extra= Hantek's support provided the files to restore this handheld. The links are expired but, fortunately I've saved the files, just in case I need it some day (this bricking problem seems a bit too common).

I haven't tried it but I uploaded the file here: https://fil.email/gHFYNcnk if you need it (link expires in 1 week). There are some instructions included in the same .zip.

I hope it will solve your problem.
 
The following users thanked this post: Heszu

Offline cliffyk

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: us
    • PaladinMicro
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #118 on: June 21, 2019, 08:28:38 pm »
I realise this is an older thread (though still a bit active, however as I had a stroke on Jan 9,2018 and have been recovering since I often find myself 1 to 1-1/2 years behind on the forums. In any event I just today received my Hantek 2D42 instrument and thought I'd offer some initial thoughts (mostly ergonomics at this point).

FWIW:

I ordered this as a replacement for a Jinhan JDS2022A I had for just shy of four weeks, though a capable instrument with a slightly larger display (3.4" v. 2.8", but still 320x240), I found that in just three weeks of casual use the membrane keyboard overlay had begun to crack. Having had more than one membrane keyboard self-destruct in the past it went back to Amazon;

The user interface does take some getting used to--the Jinhan seemed a bit more "intuitive" (though I genuinely dislike that word);
 
The silly rubber condom wrapped about the Hantek's body just made it difficult for my fat old arthritic fingers to attach/detach BNC plugs to the recessed (overly) connectors, as I am not the sort to bang about my tools anyway it had to go;

The equally silly and annoying rubber cover for the USB/charging connector came off while removing the condom--no great loss there;

The batteries showed 3 of 4 bars as received, connecting it to a 2.1A 5V source revealed it drawing 90 mA at that stage of charging; 1.2 A when powered up and charging.

I shall post again when I've had some time to properly evaluate the little beast.


<addendum 2019-06-23>

Sent it back yesterday (I really like Amazon).

The recessed BNC connections were a major PITA for me. Also the available waveform measurement values were quite meager and the small low contrast (yellow and lime green on light gray) was damned near invisible to my old eyes.THe built-in DDS generator was kind of cool, however I have plenty of signal generators.

So, I ordered an Owon HDS1021M-N. THis was with some trepidation as I have an older (2004) HDS1022M-N on which--past warranty of course--the power switch got flakey and then failed--then the plastic outer shell disintegrated, crumbling in my hands (crummy "green" plastic typical of the late 90s to mid-2000s) BUt, for functionality they cannot be beat. 20 MHz, 500 Msps with numerous measurement functions, FFT and periodic data recording (great for monitoring battery discharge characteristics

We'll see; it too can go back within 30 days.

</addendum 2019-06-23>


<addendum 2019-07/31>

WEll the Owon went back too--the display is smallish at 3.7", it is 640 x 480 resolution, however screen dumps are curiously save at 320x 240 ??? As I will be using this addition to my tool bin to document automotive waveforms for my doctoral dissertation I want/need the best looking images i can get. So i got a hantek DSO 1062B which seems a nice 'scope so far. great 5.6" 640 x 480 display, 1 GS/s real-time 25 GS/s repetitive. FFT and other math functions, a nice selection of automated measurements, and can save .BMP screen captures, .GIF animations, and waveform data to a directly connected USB jump drive (the Owon has an awkward dongle used to connect a jump drive). The multimeter capability is nice i guess, as it will allow me to capture metered values to image files for publication.

It was $389 from Amazon, twice the cost of the 2D42, and a bit more than the Owon--but an unfortunate fact of life--I.e. "If you do get what you pay for--if you buy the cheapest there is, there is a good chance you will get the cheapest there is"...

</addendum 2019-07/31>
« Last Edit: July 31, 2019, 04:38:35 pm by cliffyk »
-cliff knight-
paladinmicro.com
 

Offline madmedicine

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ca
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #119 on: June 25, 2019, 11:35:40 pm »
Hi guys,

I just registered to the forums to share what I found today and struggled the past week to figure out what was wrong with mine. If there's a better post this should be on, I'll go ahead and post there.

When I received my unit from banggood (a 2D42), I noticed the ohm readings were bad, always measuring 1kohm or 10kohm with no leads plugged in. DC voltage was off by maybe 0.3 volts but that kinda went away by itself after while. The buzzer also had strange readings. It would beep fine but measure ~300ohms

After opening and closing it up multiple times, I noticed that the relays would do a "double click" when switching back and forth from DC to Ohms with the meter completely open and the boards separated (side-by-side with cable still attached) and was reading fine. Then the issue would come back when putting it back together. I would only hear a single click when switching from DC volts and Ohms.

I think I found a design flaw. If you look at the through-hole pins of one of the relays, they line up with the screw that holds the front board.


 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #120 on: June 26, 2019, 12:32:04 am »
When I received my unit from banggood (a 2D42), I noticed the ohm readings were bad, always measuring 1kohm or 10kohm with no leads plugged in. DC voltage was off by maybe 0.3 volts but that kinda went away by itself after while. The buzzer also had strange readings. It would beep fine but measure ~300ohms

yep, It seems that Hantek had a batch of devices with this issues, they won't admit but I saw a lot reports of the same problem (the diode test doesn't work too). If you you have access to a rework station try to reflow the main IC from the  multimeter section (the Semico one) and the resistors around it. I've fixed my this way.
 

Offline madmedicine

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ca
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #121 on: June 26, 2019, 12:53:19 am »
I wasn't sure what would of been the best fix. At first I thought of removing the screw but I could see the board flex when pressing the buttons so I didn't like this. Either I try raising the relay, or put electrical tape, went for the simpler route. Anyways I know where to look for if the issues pops back.

I had issues also with the diode check, it works fine now after putting tape over the screw. It works on a regular diode but not leds (not sure if its powerful enough to power leds). But the capacitor tester doesn't seem to work (always showing 0nF) so I will try reflowing the IC you mentioned the next time I feel like opening it again.
 

Offline scatterandfocus

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #122 on: July 31, 2019, 03:31:33 pm »
For those of you who own one of these, is it a decent tool or junk?  Is it known whether there have been hardware revisions?  One thing that concerns me is that I don't see any U.S. dealers of these scopes, which might indicate too many problems to deal with.

I'm looking for my first dso, and the multi-functionality, battery power for portability and isolation, and low cost are attractive to me.  Use cases for me will be looking at signals in audio circuits, automotive, later on tube amps, and just general tinkering.  How I understand it, 2Mhz bandwidth is adequate for audio and automotive.  But I'm not sure whether the 3k/6k record length would be good enough.  And I have read that channel 1 is noisy, there are some software bugs, as well as the issues that madmedicine mentioned.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2019, 03:35:43 pm by scatterandfocus »
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5838
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #123 on: July 31, 2019, 03:35:22 pm »
I would put it more in a junk category rather than useful tool. It is useful, but the UI is horrific, so if you need to do anything beyond very basic observations, get a real scope.
Alex
 

Offline scatterandfocus

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 165
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #124 on: July 31, 2019, 03:37:33 pm »
What issues are there with the UI?  Lack of functionality?  Slowness?  Bugs?

Are there any similarly featured scopes out there that would be a better alternative?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf