Author Topic: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72  (Read 29896 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline salvagedcircuitry

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: us
  • Electrical Engineer | Hobbyist | Camera Enthusiast
    • salvagedcircuitry
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #25 on: January 17, 2019, 05:00:00 pm »
Just found this video on youtube on the 2D42 posted literally yesterday :scared:. The guy goes through a bunch of the functions on the handheld. The waveforms it generates look pretty noisy though, but I still can't get over how reasonable this thing is. $150ish for a not-much-larger-than-calculator portable oscilloscope instrument. Pretty cool. And it runs on bare 18650s! I would love to see this thing tested out with a voltage reference and side by side with a normal scope and function gen. I have no affiliation with youtube channel.

SalvagedCircuitry
www.salvagedcircuitry.com
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #26 on: January 17, 2019, 05:11:59 pm »
There is no need for a voltage reference, this this has accuracy of a toy. The traces visibly jump when you switch from battery power to the USB power.

Multimeter part may be better though, since it uses a dedicated multimeter chipset.

It is a cool all-in-one thing, but don't expect miracles. It runs on ADCs that are 6 times overcloked from their normal rated clock.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2019, 05:23:02 pm by ataradov »
Alex
 
The following users thanked this post: salvagedcircuitry

Offline Nikodrengen

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #27 on: January 25, 2019, 06:43:10 pm »
It looks like a fun device for use on the road.
For my use, I need a sinewave with 50 mV RMS amplitude.
Does anyone know the amplitude range supported by the AWG?
Thanks,
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #28 on: January 25, 2019, 06:47:07 pm »
Does anyone know the amplitude range supported by the AWG?
I will check when I get home, but I don't remember it being particularly adjustable. I think it changes in 0.1 V increments.
Alex
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #29 on: January 26, 2019, 04:00:15 am »
So it looks like it can do 0.01 - 2.5 V with 0.01 V increments. Amplitude you can set by up and down arrows has increments of 0.1 V, but you can call up a keyboard and input any number you like.
Alex
 

Offline Nikodrengen

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #30 on: January 27, 2019, 12:16:17 pm »
Thank you very much for the fast and precise answer, Alex.
Sounds like it will do what I need for my work. I will order one.
 

Offline RomanoCy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: cy
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #31 on: January 30, 2019, 01:32:21 pm »
Hi folks, Anyone knows if this mini mighty handheld oscilloscope is able to plot XY?
 

Offline gf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #32 on: January 30, 2019, 09:27:51 pm »
No, it does not, only "Y-T" and "Roll".
The Windows application offers X-Y (when connected via USB to a PC).
I Haven't tested it, thoguh.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 09:53:39 pm by gf »
 
The following users thanked this post: RomanoCy

Offline RomanoCy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: cy
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #33 on: January 30, 2019, 10:05:02 pm »
Thanks a lot, GF. But I need a even bigger favor now, can you please test XY plotting in the the software, when you get the chance, and please let me know? I don’t need it now or tomorrow, but I am looking for a confirmation that the XY works, because I really need that XY plotting on a smaller package than a bench oscilloscope. I have a 10 inches windows tablet, which can run the software.
Thanks a lot, and beers on me when you come for some holidays in CYPRUS 🍻
 

Offline gf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #34 on: January 30, 2019, 11:45:05 pm »
Well, X-Y basically works with PC, but I'm not so convinced. Particularly at higher frequencies the X-Y plot seems to be rather noisy. Generally, when the device is USB-connected (either to a power supply or to a PC) then it appears to be more noisy than with battery operation - a better PSRR would be appreciated. Furthermore, when USB-connected to the Windows application on a PC, the (already low) frame rate drops to only about 2 frames/s with 1 channel enabled, and about 1 frame/s with 2 channels enabled.

EDIT: I cannot reproduce the above mentioned relation between USB connection and noise, but the AWG seems to suffer generally from glitches at particular amplitude/waveform/frequency combinations (see https://www.eediscuss.com/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=14705&page=1#pid17746).

Hantek 2000 X-Y mode, 1kHZ sine wave fed with different cable lengths to channels #1 and #2:



Same with 1MHz sine wave (now we can see the phase shift caused the different cable lenghts):



For comparison, the same on my Hantek 6054BD (which was btw. even a little bit cheaper):





Regards,
gf
« Last Edit: February 17, 2019, 05:51:23 pm by gf »
 
The following users thanked this post: Technobabble_, RomanoCy

Offline gf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #35 on: January 31, 2019, 12:00:29 am »
I'm also not sure whether the Windows program is touch-screen friendly (I did not use a tablet, but a regular Notebook with mouse).
 

Offline RomanoCy

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: cy
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #36 on: January 31, 2019, 12:05:41 am »
I am so afraid that you are so right  :) It sounded line a nice idea, but most probably  I should Look for a better instrument. Thanks a lot, I really appreciate the effort
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #37 on: January 31, 2019, 03:27:46 am »
I just got one of these 2D42. Not sure why yet, but I couldn't resist (I think I need to subscribe to the TEA group)  :scared:

Anyway, @RomanoCy as already posted the software of this scope has the option of X-Y plot but it is useless, if you really need it don't bother. It is simply too slow.

Regarding the handheld itself, it appears to be a nice device. I am liking it. I will do some more tests with it before I give a definitive opinion but so far I couldn't find any big issue. The build quality is ok and looks like the firmware is more stable now but hantek will need to put more work on the PC software to make it useful.

I took some pictures of the pcb but the quality is not good, I will try take some better ones later and post it here.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 01:31:50 am by Microcheap »
 
The following users thanked this post: RomanoCy

Offline tsman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #38 on: January 31, 2019, 03:55:22 am »
The unpopulated module marked M2 in your last photo looks to be for a ESP8266 ESP-12 module. The pinout matches up for power, UART, RST and EN. Some of the GPIOs are connected as well. You'd need to write the ESP8266 code to actually make it do something though and this is assuming they finished the WiFi support in the main processor.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2019, 03:58:31 am by tsman »
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #39 on: January 31, 2019, 03:57:20 am »
What is the main processor in this? Can't read the markings on your photo.
The processor is STM32 and it is under the can (which is not present on my unit) on the last picture. EDIT: Actually no, the MCU is on the other side of the board with a shield.  So this looks like a newer revision of the board.

The big chip next to the ADC is a Lattice FPGA.

Also my unit has multimeter chip markings scratched out. No idea why if they already release devices with intact markings.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2019, 04:02:44 am by ataradov »
Alex
 

Offline tsman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #40 on: January 31, 2019, 04:05:10 am »
The processor is STM32 and it is under the can (which is not present on my unit) on the last picture. EDIT: Actually no, the MCU is on the other side of the board with a shield.

 The big chip is a Lattice FPGA.

Also my unit has multimeter chip markings scratched out. No idea why if they already release devices with intact markings.
Sorry. I edited out my question as I noticed that wpwrak had already noted what all the parts were.

Strange that they even bothered to grind off the markings on the multimeter chip in the first place. They're not doing anything special with it and it is just a basic 4000 count chip anyway.
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #41 on: January 31, 2019, 04:07:45 am »
Strange that they even bothered to grind off the markings on the multimeter chip in the first place. They're not doing anything special with it and it is just a basic 4000 count chip anyway.
It looks like may be my hardware is older revision, so they may have thought they will be able to keep it a secret. And then just gave up on newer units.

I'm personally more bothered by overclocking 80 MSPS ADC to 250 MSPS. That's more than 3 times.
Alex
 

Offline tsman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #42 on: January 31, 2019, 04:29:57 am »
It looks like may be my hardware is older revision, so they may have thought they will be able to keep it a secret. And then just gave up on newer units.
Yeah. There are some changes to the PCB between Microcheap's A09 PCB (2018.11) and wpwrak's A07 PCB (2018). Some parts have moved around and the silkscreen has changed in places.

Comparing the two boards, the AWG feature needs U12 (DAC?) which is near the FPGA and U13 which is near the output. U14 (some kind buck regulator) looks to be needed as well.

Quote
self restoring fuse: 200mA/250V, 4A and 10A range no fuse.
Mmm... Best keep this for low voltage stuff then.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2019, 04:31:57 am by tsman »
 

Offline Microcheap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 132
  • Country: 00
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #43 on: January 31, 2019, 05:00:19 am »
Comparing the two boards, the AWG feature needs U12 (DAC?) which is near the FPGA and U13 which is near the output. U14 (some kind buck regulator) looks to be needed as well.

I've noticed that. wpwrak's is an older revision an he's model has no AWG. U12 must be a DAC, but I couldn't read its marking. I forgot to check the markings on U14 and U15 as well (there is one for each battery) I will try to take some higher resolution pictures later and see if I can identify them.
U13 is a LHM6702MA opamp http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lmh6702.pdf there is a BAV99 missing beside U13 too. Everything else looks to be populated, so it should be possible do add the AWG function to the 2Cxx models.

Quote
self restoring fuse: 200mA/250V, 4A and 10A range no fuse.
Notice that too :palm: Hey, but at least they reinforced the tracks with solder
« Last Edit: January 31, 2019, 04:09:04 pm by Microcheap »
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1903
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #44 on: January 31, 2019, 02:26:11 pm »
I'm personally more bothered by overclocking 80 MSPS ADC to 250 MSPS. That's more than 3 times.

actually this ADC have two channels, so you have interleaved 2x125MSPS, which is only 25% (best case, if silicon is same, which probably is the case anyway) when comparing to AD9288-100. On the market, there are DSOs since 10yrs with these ADCs - overclocked to 125MSPS, and they still working. I don't think you will use that small cheap Hantek more than 10 yrs ...
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline tsman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #45 on: January 31, 2019, 02:30:49 pm »
I've noticed that. wpwrak's is a newer revision an he's model has no AWG.
You've got the newer version.

I forgot to check the markings on U14 and U15 as well (there is one for each battery) I will try to take some higher resolution pictures later and see if I can identify them.
Maybe +/- supplies for that opamp? I can't find U15 at all on wpwrak's photos.

Everything else looks to be populated, so it should be possible do add the AWG function to the 2Cxx models.
Maybe. Not sure how it determines your model though. Either something in flash or a pin strap somewhere? The firmware mentions "This model has no AWG" a couple times.

Looking at the firmware update file, it is just a ST DfuSe file. It contains a single image that is loaded at 0x80005000. Only 170KB out of the 512KB available in the STM32F103VET6. Start of the image has the interrupt vector table. Should be able to feed the firmware image into something like IDA once the DfuSe prefix/suffix have been removed.
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5860
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #46 on: January 31, 2019, 03:26:32 pm »
Maybe. Not sure how it determines your model though. Either something in flash or a pin strap somewhere? The firmware mentions "This model has no AWG" a couple times.
No, it must be something specifically for the batteries. On the older boards those chips are not present and the batteries are simply connected in parallel.

The power supply section is on the top right of the battery compartment. There are 3.3v and +/-5V supplies.
Alex
 

Offline tsman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 599
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #47 on: January 31, 2019, 03:43:32 pm »
No, it must be something specifically for the batteries. On the older boards those chips are not present and the batteries are simply connected in parallel.
Yeah. That makes more sense. There is unpopulated U15 next to the +5V PSU on the older A07 board. That disappeared on the A09 board though with U14 and U15 appearing next to the two batteries. No inductor so its not the same as the U15 on the A07.
 

Offline Stevie1966

  • Contributor
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 8
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #48 on: February 01, 2019, 08:39:17 am »
Hantek overclocked the ADC. Will there be a problem when the temperature is high? >:( >:(

Hantek's technical support said that they will offer new software for XY functionality 2 months later.
 

Offline AxGxP

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: ua
Re: Hantek 2000 series - 2C42/2C72/2D42/2D72
« Reply #49 on: February 03, 2019, 03:55:57 pm »
Is it official info?
I asked few questions on eediscuss.com but the support is silent...

Any body measured more then 400V in DMM mode?

Drop voltage in diode mode 0.999 V max, is it a hardware limit?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf