Author Topic: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters  (Read 202054 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Hexley

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Country: us
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #700 on: January 18, 2020, 10:13:30 pm »
The continuity test feature in my 34465A is acting oddly when the meter is first powered on: the beep sound extends for a long time after continuity is broken. In other words, a brief touch of the probes will produce a few full seconds of sound.

After 3 or 4 test touches, with the prolonged beep period getting shorter on each test, the meter seems to recover and it operates as expected from that point onward.

I suppose Keysight should take a look at this. Before sending it in for service, I wanted to ask if any forum members have seen a similar issue?

BTW, the meter is running v3.01 firmware.
 

Offline TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3390
  • Country: ca
  • Living the Dream
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #701 on: January 18, 2020, 11:25:21 pm »
I don't see this on a 34461A running 3.01 but I know in the past the performance of continuity was broken on the 34461A when they first added support for the 34465/70 so there is a difference somewhere. Hopefully another 34465A owner can comment.
VE7FM
 

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4797
  • Country: de
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #702 on: January 18, 2020, 11:36:19 pm »
The continuity test behavior of these instruments never went back to how it was when the 34461A was released first with the original FW.
My guess, its probably such a minor issue that will not be addressed again in the future with new FW updates.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline kj7e

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 873
  • Country: us
  • Damon Stewart
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #703 on: January 19, 2020, 12:10:59 am »
Running FW v3.01 on my 34465A, just fired mine up and found no issues with odd tone or tone latch behavior.
 

Offline Hexley

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 104
  • Country: us
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #704 on: January 19, 2020, 12:18:26 am »
Running FW v3.01 on my 34465A, just fired mine up and found no issues with odd tone or tone latch behavior.

Thanks for checking. Looks like it is not a widespread issue, just something idiosyncratic here.
 

Offline idolclub

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: us
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #705 on: February 14, 2020, 09:47:30 pm »
Keysight Releases New Firmware v3.02 for 3446xA / 34470A series.

Firmware Update 3.02 Release Notes (Previous release: 3.01)

34460A/34461A/34465A/34470A Revision 3.02 Enhancements and Fixes:

1. Resolves the memory leak associated with LAN traffic that occurred when the DMM is connected to a LAN network but remains idle for several days.



34460A/34461A/34465A/34470A Revision 3.01 Enhancements and Fixes:

1. Improvements to reduce the occurrence of a memory leak associated with LAN traffic that occurs when the DMM is connected to a LAN network but remains idle for several days.

2. Changed the 100 kΩ range calibration to internally select 100 NPLC rather than 10 NPLC to better reject noise associated with selected Fluke 5730 calibration values.

3. Removed Option AVG from the list of available options (Help – About window) as it is not available to all customers.
 
The following users thanked this post: Sparky, Keysight DanielBogdanoff, kj7e, eplpwr

Offline NoisyBoy

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 414
  • Country: us
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #706 on: February 15, 2020, 02:12:29 am »
Thanks for the heads-up, as I wasn't expecting another firmware update so quickly.  Apparently the memory leak fix in 3.01 must not be doing the trick, I will update my meters later tonight.
 

Offline TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 3390
  • Country: ca
  • Living the Dream
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #707 on: February 15, 2020, 04:08:18 am »
Updated without issue!
VE7FM
 

Offline NoisyBoy

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 414
  • Country: us
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #708 on: February 15, 2020, 07:06:13 am »
X2, update went smoothly on both the 34461A and 34465A. 

Thanks Keysight for being so responsive and proactive on firmware update.  This is one of many reasons that separate Keysight from most tier-B brands, for me, it makes the decision to go Keysight easy to justify. 
 

Offline eplpwr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: se
  • Junior VoltNut
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #709 on: October 03, 2020, 11:10:42 pm »
Has there been any solutionss for the ACAL problem with the 34470A's? It has been some time since they started working on a solution ...
 

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4797
  • Country: de
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #710 on: September 19, 2021, 09:55:46 am »
New Firmware Update 3.03 is available on the Keysight website:

https://www.keysight.com/de/de/lib/software-detail/instrument-firmware-software/34460a34461a34465a34470a-firmware-2367633.html


Firmware Update 3.03 Release Notes:
34460A/34461A/34465A/34470A Revision 3.03 Enhancements and Fixes

1. Multiple fixes on Web UI Interactive IO.
- Resolved a defect where Web UI Interactive IO was not able to fetch all available readings. 
- Resolved a defect where instrument will display error message “Error caused by remote command” before the entire command is entered and executed via Web UI Interactive IO.

2. Changed the “Slave” terminology to “Secondary” on the error message.


Too bad, the ACAL problem with the 34470A was not addressed.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 
The following users thanked this post: mawyatt

Offline imo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3004
  • Country: li
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #711 on: September 19, 2021, 10:03:53 am »
..
2. Changed the “Slave” terminology to “Secondary” on the error message.


Too bad, the ACAL problem with the 34470A was not addressed.
But all is politically correct now..  :D
 
The following users thanked this post: nctnico, purpose, Kjelt, HighVoltage, eplpwr

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4797
  • Country: de
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #712 on: September 19, 2021, 10:45:12 am »
..
2. Changed the “Slave” terminology to “Secondary” on the error message.


Too bad, the ACAL problem with the 34470A was not addressed.
But all is politically correct now..  :D
I did not want to say it, but so true !

There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline Kjelt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6192
  • Country: nl
Re: Keysight's new 34465A (6.5 digit) and 34470A (7.5 digit) bench multimeters
« Reply #713 on: September 19, 2021, 02:57:02 pm »
Priorities  ;)
 

Offline branadic

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1913
  • Country: de
  • Sounds like noise
Now that ADR1399 is available, someone already replaced the LM399 inside their 34465A?

-branadic-
Computers exist to solve problems that we wouldn't have without them. AI exists to answer questions, we wouldn't ask without it.
 

Online HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4797
  • Country: de
Now that ADR1399 is available, someone already replaced the LM399 inside their 34465A?

-branadic-
I got very lucky with my 34465A,  it is in such good condition and spot on in the DC calibration that I am not planning to play with the ADR1399. Hmm, but maybe getting a second 34465A for upgrading and comparison would not be a bad idea.
 
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf