Author Topic: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free  (Read 1672276 times)

0 Members and 10 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline walt

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: ua
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #875 on: September 15, 2011, 10:21:22 am »
..and in the next lesson we'll learn the difference between "gay" and "guy"  ;D

Sh...t, its to difficult for beginner.   :-[
Next time, I will only use Google-translator
 

Offline Crenwick

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: be
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #876 on: September 15, 2011, 01:46:07 pm »
and here as mentioned above my version of the 2.06.3 110909 (110908) firmware

wtf .. only 10 download?

Don't worry, this will not break your scope (and if, you will get new one from me), it will make it faster!

Hi all !

It's my first post here and it's to say THANKS to Tinhead for the patch. It's installed above last update and works like a charm  ;)

Bernard
 

Offline walt

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: ua
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #877 on: September 15, 2011, 03:50:56 pm »
Hi, all.
I hope here I'm not mistaken.  8)
A couple of screen-shots.
Self-calibration. Simple and by tinhead method.


Noise before- 4 pixels.
Noise after - 3. Trifle, but nice.


probe is very temperature-sensitive, tired every time they set up.
Therefore, the signal at the second screenshot is not perfect.
 

Offline drieg

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: cz
    • Silcon Electronics
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #878 on: September 15, 2011, 04:15:29 pm »
3. Display Dots doesn't work in 2ns and 4ns timebase
hmm, you mean when you enable dots, go to 4ns/div and stop you can't see any dots when
you go to 2ns/div ? Well, they are there, believe me. Even in 2ns/div when you stop they are there,
the point is, you always see interpolated dots between, when you would be able to zoom more
(like now from 200us/div to 20ns/div) you wil see them, but let me show you that on attached picture .

What on the picture is firmware with 200ps/div timebase, i did stopped acq. while in 4ns/div
and switched over to 200ps - and bingo, you can see all these points there.

When the interpolation would be really swichable on/off you would see only the real sampled dots
and not the interpolated between, but it is always on. How this looks like ?
Well, check another one picture, this is fw with interpolation off (2ns/div and stopped acq.)
Yes, that's is. Maybe I don't get the point of diplay Dots feature in Hantek/Tekway, but when I select Dots, I want to see real samples, not the "dotted line". So this doesn't work. If I sample at 20ns timebase (it says 800MSa/s), stop the acquisition and "zoom" timebase to 2ns, I see interval between points of 500ps which would corespond to 2GSa/s of sampling rate ;) If initial timebase is 8, 4, or 2ns, interval is even smaller. So if the display Dots doesn't mean it will show you real samples, what is it good for?

Bricked Rigol? This thread might be of any help.
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #879 on: September 15, 2011, 06:04:58 pm »
So if the display Dots doesn't mean it will show you real samples, what is it good for?

video, modulations, noise , FFT, etc - signals where the full spectrum can not be shown
with 8/9bit resolution or with vectors.

Interpolation on/off is what i added as minor bug to the fix-now list.
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3071
  • Country: cn
  • Born with DLL21 in hand
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #880 on: September 15, 2011, 07:03:21 pm »
In one Tektronix (old) digiscope have very nice feature.
If use Sin(x)/x then can select "highlighted" real sample dots.

(of course always can select display dots. In this mode it do not make any calculated "joke" dots. In this mode every displayed dot is just real sampled dots as is. .... Yes I know.. it have been expensive scope. So I do not compare but today these kind of things maybe more easy to implement.

---------------


Just nearly off topic lunch talk...:

In curiosity, this 2440 Tek use CCD for make it fast (not really fast). These old times ADC's was not so fast. So signal was captured to "analog memory" and they use CCD (without light of course). ADC work its own timetable reading CCD cells voltage. How they do "real" Sin(x)/x I do not know. But always line go exactly so that trace go exactly trough sampled real points what also can highlight. Why it is so difficult today?  All processors and other things as FBGA's etc... and they are really fast if compare to this old Tektronix logick and processors. (of course all proramd have carefully done with well optimized assembly) But it is sometimes amazing look how they do things in old times..  we can think that of course becouse equipment price ie ten times or more than these low-end scopes but there need also remember that if they did 100 scopes today some make 1000 or lot of  more. So why they (these chinese manufacturers) do not have money to do development and good FW's?  Maybe it is not money question at all? All they want only be as grey cheap mass. No one want really be high brand name and leader. What we have loose these years?

Oh, and if go more old. I have look old 7000 series analog where is digitizer and so amazing math and analyze functions with separate special keyboard.  Today it is extremely easy implement these to scopes. But when Tek do it... they test all math and things really carefully before start selling. (yes it was lab Rolls-Royce but...)

What are these FW programmers today? Customers need repair they loosy work, just as example tinhead.

I have not find any single bug from these Tektronix. All measurements, display scaling, cursors, voltages... all just perfect. And peoples in many professional labs can trust these (old times).  Peoples in labs around world use these and  trust numbers what equipment give  and all trust  these numbers. No need test if can believe or not - Tek have test that they do just right enough and all was documented. (of course it need that sertified calibration is valid and user have enough experience to do his works. If do this kind of serious work with some cheap buggy scopes it may be just as nightmare.)

What I want Hnatek take bug list. Three GOOD programmers and specialist for electronics... then design and test if buglist is ok. Collect all together. make deadline. Then these peoples go to isolated room. They stay there as long as all problems are solved and fully tested.  They must not listen anybody after deadline. Do they work fully ready and publice new FW. Mature FW.  After this process it is as it is. ready product. With its features, goods and bads. This is product... you look it... it is as it is. You buy... or you do not buy.

Also one note. Old times these leaders did not afraid publice full documents. Schematics, all details with thousend of sides expalanations in theory and practice. All test and calibration details... everything. They did not afraid as chinese or japanese.Everyone can copy...yes. Is it problem. NO. Becouse one secret thing. Quality is difficult to copy! This is key point!
« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 07:14:15 pm by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
-
Harmony OS
 

Offline vlindos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #881 on: September 15, 2011, 08:04:36 pm »
Hi there,
I have to post some bad news here. After the change of the L7812 voltage regulator to L7805 and the hack from the DSO5102M to DSO5202M I found out that scope is very noisy on one of its channels. See in the pictures.
I hope the hardware calibration will fix this but it is weirdo that one of the inputs is noise only. Can't wait the Hantek DDS 3X25 to arrive for the hw calibration. Btw I did the soft calibration after heat up I didn't made any difference.

Also after the recent fw upgrade - the official Hantek + tinhead's one I noticed that the update speed drops significantly when tune the scope to ranged > 20 milisecs. Any idea?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2011, 08:10:45 pm by vlindos »
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #882 on: September 15, 2011, 08:25:49 pm »
In one Tektronix (old) digiscope have very nice feature.
If use Sin(x)/x then can select "highlighted" real sample dots.

(of course always can select display dots. In this mode it do not make any calculated "joke" dots. In this mode every displayed dot is just real sampled dots as is. .... Yes I know.. it have been expensive scope. So I do not compare but today these kind of things maybe more easy to implement.

These "joke" dots are not what something chinese developers designed, this is actualy what known manufacturers are doing too.
The only difference is, that you can (well, on some models not) switch interpolation on/off where on HanTekway is always on
and only the way how the interpolation result will be displayed can be changed.

But as you saw i was able to find the right place in firmware and disable interpolation, so there should be no
issue for HanTekway engineers (when they can read and have DSO to test, haha) to implement it too.

I also asked for some other things which might be usefull, like avg. mode for 40k, from a hardware point of view
the can implement 4,8 and 16 avg. when in 40k.

And also some other features which can be easily implemented, like 20k memory depth mode - it is there
but disabled on 1GSs model, for what ? They can re-enable it, this will then work easily with 500MSs, from
my calculations even 1GSs should work.

What else, yeah, equ. sampling is crapy implemented. It works, yes, but they did it in wrong way (they using all ADCs).
It is enough to use 2 ADCs per channel (so sample with 200MSs) when in equ. mode - and collect samples over longer time.
This will reduce dramaticaly the distortion created by the jitter - whn i do it by disabling ADCs and patching firmware
to collect more, the waveform looks really nice (again, when i can patch something they should be able to implement
it into source).

I even proposed them my help in case their engineers don't know what i changed to get good result, of course for free.

Also one note. Old times these leaders did not afraid publice full documents. Schematics, all details with thousend of sides expalanations in theory and practice. All test and calibration details... everything. They did not afraid as chinese or japanese.Everyone can copy...yes. Is it problem. NO. Becouse one secret thing. Quality is difficult to copy! This is key point!

yeah, they afraid about everything. However japanese manufacturers are not that bad, i got service manuals
from Yokogawa after i asked with some help over my japanese customer email account - in EMEA/NA you
can only dream about it to get them.
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #883 on: September 15, 2011, 11:00:52 pm »
Also after the recent fw upgrade - the official Hantek + tinhead's one I noticed that the update speed drops significantly when tune the scope to ranged > 20 milisecs. Any idea?

ehm, 40ms is already updatting screen twice per second, from 80ms/div the screen scrolls - this is normal behaviour,
i don't see any difference btween my, org. or older versions.
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline vlindos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #884 on: September 17, 2011, 09:49:59 pm »
Damn you are right. It is logical with lower frequencies on that big display with lots of divs to get lesser updates.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2011, 10:25:22 pm by vlindos »
 

Offline Kampfwurst

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #885 on: September 21, 2011, 08:31:47 pm »
Hello

Today i got my Hantek DSO5102B  ;D
Is the Hack to update to 200Mhz still working?
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #886 on: September 21, 2011, 08:41:31 pm »
Hello

Today i got my Hantek DSO5102B  ;D
Is the Hack to update to 200Mhz still working?

yes it is
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline Crenwick

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: be
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #887 on: September 22, 2011, 01:50:48 pm »
Hello

Today i got my Hantek DSO5102B  ;D
Is the Hack to update to 200Mhz still working?

I did it two weeks ago and it was very easy, only problem was that the USART connector is no more a 0.1" pitch but smaller (not so easy to find or solder...)
 
 

Offline rf-freak

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #888 on: September 22, 2011, 11:00:55 pm »
The UART connector is a 2mm spaced one.
 

Offline ZeroKool

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #889 on: October 02, 2011, 10:18:22 pm »
Hi Tinman,
Can the Tekway DST1062B (Hantek DSO5062B) be hack to become Tekway DST1202B (Hantek DSO5202B) from  60MHz to 180MHz (200MHZ)? I would like to order this model if it is hackable.

I was about to order the Rigol DS1052E to do the hack until I bump onto this threat, this has been a very facinating thread for me. Even though the Rigol DS1052E seem to be much easier  to hack then the Tekway, however the Tekway (Hantek) with their bigger screen, higher screen resolution and better UI design impress me more. I plan to go ahead and order the Tekway DST1062B (Hantek DSO5062B) and hack it to the 200MHz model once the warranty expire. Reading through the thread in here, there are many hack revision updates since it was originally conceived which got me a little confused as to whether it will still work for the lastest hardware/firmware and what is the latest working hacking tool version to use. I just want to ask some questions to make sure I won't damage or brick my scope when I am ready to perform the hack. Today is 10/02/2011, so any Tekway (Hantek) scope ordered will hopefully come with the latest hardware and firmware version.

-Which Operating System to use (prefer to work with Windows, not familiar with Linux)?: Windows or Linux

-Do I have to modify any hardware?

-Do I have to roll-back the firmware to peform the hack? if so, which firmware version?

-Which utility softwares are used to dump/update the firmware? What is the latest working hacking tool version to use? What is the best hacking method to use for the Tekway DST1062B (Hantek DSO5062B)?

-Which I/O output (Jtag, USB, UART) is recommended for dump/update/backup the firmware? I can solder the missing I/O connector if needed, so long as it make the hacking process easy.

-Do I also need other special equipment/cable to do the hack?

Thanks,
ZeroKool
 

Offline aard3

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #890 on: October 04, 2011, 05:51:07 am »
I'm in the same boat as zerokool... I read through most of the thread, but there are so many posts, I'm wondering what the status of this is also...

I'm pretty sure you need a serial to USB board that you can get off ebay (5v serial, not rs232 levels), and you do the hack over that.

I'm more wondering about if you can hack a 60mhz version to 200mhz, and the quality of the hantek's firmware. It seems like tinman has released his own firmware to fix a couple things... but I'm not sure exactly. I'm a little nervous about some of the reviews (marmad's) talking about it crashing alot  :-\

Anymore info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3071
  • Country: cn
  • Born with DLL21 in hand
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #891 on: October 04, 2011, 07:15:43 am »
It is  3.3V level - not 5V!

(And you connect only TxD, RxD, GND.)

example this (I have buy this and this time seller send it fast but HK potst is going more and more slow... becouse trafic is over capacity):
http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-2-0-UART-TTL-Serial-Converter-w-Terminal-Strip-/170504226300?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_2&hash=item27b2d805fc

( ebay Item number: 170504226300 )

Then you need 2mm pitch connector! (simple adapter you can do)

Then you need terminal emulator for your PC. For commanding scope via UART.
Yes you can use windows hyperterm but but but... 
Example CryptoTerm 1.5 is good, free and well made. Install only terminal, no need FTP etc things..
It works well with default settings... only need set connection... Com port number and speed etc.

Then you need do some simply things.

Read agen tinhead first in this thread
(there are list of all files what you need handle and it is more simple as you may think)

It is extremely simple but need do exactly and careful.
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
-
Harmony OS
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #892 on: October 04, 2011, 02:31:22 pm »
Can the Tekway DST1062B (Hantek DSO5062B) be hack to become Tekway DST1202B (Hantek DSO5202B) from  60MHz to 180MHz (200MHZ)? I would like to order this model if it is hackable.

yes it can

-Which Operating System to use (prefer to work with Windows, not familiar with Linux)?: Windows or Linux

no matter, all you need is Terminal application

-Do I have to modify any hardware?

to get real 200MHz bandwidth (227 exactly) you have to modify hardware, to get ~180-185MHz you don't
have to modify it.

-Do I have to roll-back the firmware to peform the hack? if so, which firmware version?

currently all versions are hackable, no need to rollback anything

-Which utility softwares are used to dump/update the firmware? What is the latest working hacking tool version to use? What is the best hacking method to use for the Tekway DST1062B (Hantek DSO5062B)?

see my first post in this thread

-Which I/O output (Jtag, USB, UART) is recommended for dump/update/backup the firmware? I can solder the missing I/O
connector if needed, so long as it make the hacking process easy.

USB, it is the easiest way (and cheapest), the backup tool (see first post in this thread) is still working

-Do I also need other special equipment/cable to do the hack?

as rf-loop said, 2mm connector and UART<-> USB converter

I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline clonecrp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
    • http://theclonestore.com
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #893 on: October 06, 2011, 12:44:57 am »
An old DVD/CDROM sound cable to PCB (has right connectors on ends .. need wires moved around) worked here for terminal cable @ zero USD. If you are in US or CAnada, Hantek supplier in Toronto is reasonable..
Douglas

 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #894 on: October 12, 2011, 02:14:44 am »
How could I get that nice Mesurement bar instead of the standard one?
I'm using latest tinhead's 110909 firmware
Thanks !

« Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 03:26:53 am by carloscuev »
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3071
  • Country: cn
  • Born with DLL21 in hand
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #895 on: October 12, 2011, 05:04:52 am »
It appears after autosetup. It is standard feature.
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
-
Harmony OS
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #896 on: October 12, 2011, 09:26:00 am »
you mean probe check? I cant find it ! What buttons do I need to push to view this bar?
Im also having a LCD contrast problem I didnt had with 110531.1, contrast resets to minimum on every power-up, is there any workaround? (I have original HW 0x555583e8)
« Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 10:11:58 am by carloscuev »
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #897 on: October 12, 2011, 10:55:29 am »
you mean probe check? I cant find it ! What buttons do I need to push to view this bar?
Im also having a LCD contrast problem I didnt had with 110531.1, contrast resets to minimum on every power-up, is there any workaround? (I have original HW 0x555583e8)

the yellow bar ist standard in the firmware, it pops-up when you push AutoSet button AND when the signal has been identified as square/sinus.

Probe check is another button, after nearly 2yrs i still don't know what the real purpose of that button :)

The contrast is a bug, 110909 firmware is fixing it (partialy, because you have to set value <>8 to get saved),
the actual firmware 110923.1 is fixing it complettly.


I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline Crenwick

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: be
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #898 on: October 12, 2011, 11:38:36 am »
The contrast is a bug, 110909 firmware is fixing it (partialy, because you have to set value <>8 to get saved),
the actual firmware 110923.1 is fixing it complettly.

Hi,

Where is firmware 110923.1 available ?   ;)

Bernard
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #899 on: October 12, 2011, 08:40:26 pm »
Thanks tinhead! I also would like to try 110923.1 !!

Probe check is another button, after nearly 2yrs i still don't know what the real purpose of that button :)

The button that I can't find use for is "Force Trigger" Maybe my unit is defective but everytime I press it nothing happens, what is it for?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf