Author Topic: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free  (Read 1693283 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline snowl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1525 on: January 22, 2013, 01:53:22 pm »
Hi,
are those Hantek firmware updates cumulative or do I have to apply them in sequence? And if they are sequential, where do I get older ones?
 

Offline campodea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1526 on: January 22, 2013, 06:01:19 pm »
I'm pretty sure they are cumulative...
 

Offline morris6

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: nl
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1527 on: January 23, 2013, 12:54:23 am »
A tip for those of you that do the LA board addition to prevent this disaster:
OK guys,

Let this be a warning to all of you upgraders. Be very carefull when fitting the MSO add-on card to the mainboard.

My glasses are not strong enough, it was off by one row when I did a first test after loading the new software.

A flash, some smoke and the S3C2440 SOC is looking very dead now with its newly formed bubble.  :palm:

Maurits

When you didn't yet solder the strip of contacts in the mainboard consider this:

The strip I received with the LA-board was 34 pairs of pins instead of the needed 30 pairs. I cut of 4 pairs. However, you can make a kind of fitting slot or shroud by cutting of just two pairs. Now push or pull the pairs of pins at both ends upwards, flush with the bottom of the strip and then bend the tops inwards, like a square hook. This way you cannot push the LA board on the pins in the wrong, one row off, position. I think there is room on the main board for the extra pin pair at either end.

Good luck, Maurits
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1528 on: January 24, 2013, 06:15:07 pm »
Backup tool for the new MSO models :

 - Tekway MST1062B, MST1102B, MST1202B
 - Hantek MSO5062D, MSO5102D, MSO5202D
 - Voltcraft MSO5062B, MSO5102B

simply download, unpack and read how to use ... it contains also some informations and tools to allow restore of the backup
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 11:34:24 pm by tinhead »
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1529 on: January 29, 2013, 08:31:32 pm »
DSO1062D received.
 
2.06.3 (121023.0)
10070x555583eb
DAC LTC2601

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1530 on: January 29, 2013, 09:25:33 pm »
Thanks!

I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1531 on: January 30, 2013, 07:36:57 am »
I must read a ton of pages now to properly update to 200MHz.
Thank you, Tinhead.
If you need a pic, ask, it's open right now in the bench at home waiting for me.

Offline LEECH666

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 392
  • Country: de
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1532 on: January 30, 2013, 01:27:03 pm »
I found the DSO-BW-Changer Tool that you can find here fairly easy to change the bandwidth to 200 Mhz.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/hantek-tekway-dso-hack-get-200mhz-bw-for-free/msg91877/#msg91877

Basically all you need is a USB (A to B) Cable that you hook up to the PC / Scope and then you click the setting you want.
Not sure if I needed the USB driver from the Hantek page installed, but IIRC I did install it.

http://www.hantek.com/Product/64Driver/DSO5000.rar
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1533 on: January 30, 2013, 02:04:14 pm »
Thank you LEECH666.

I have read many of the pages and I think am ready to change it. I will use the USART connection, rename and edit files to change it to HANTEK DSO5202B. First a backup will be done.

I have downloaded also the files with the correct icons, I have yet to find in with folder they must be stored. I'm reading...

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1534 on: January 30, 2013, 07:05:38 pm »
W
 
 
What is the correct commad:
 
mv dso1062d dso5202b
or
mv dso1062d DSP5202B

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1535 on: January 30, 2013, 07:23:43 pm »
I can not see any files in / ??????
ls clears screen on terminal and nothing appears.

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1536 on: January 30, 2013, 07:30:33 pm »
W
 
 
What is the correct commad:
 
mv dso1062d dso5202b
or
mv dso1062d DSP5202B

none of them!

internally, and this is what makes the difference, the 60MHz benchtop model name is dst1062b, and the 200MHz model name is dst1202b. So the proper command, for benchtop models, is

mv /dst1062b /dst1202b
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1537 on: January 30, 2013, 07:33:39 pm »
I can not see any files in / ??????
ls clears screen on terminal and nothing appears.

and this question was answered as well :)

1 - you connected vice versa (txd and rxd) -> when it is wrong you will not see any messages while booting,
simply power cycle dso and watch the terminal output.

or

2 - you connected properly, but your DSO already booted, then simply push space and ctrl+c keys
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1538 on: January 30, 2013, 07:37:36 pm »
This is a Voltcraft DSO-1062D and I want a DSO5202B as target.
 
I'm logged as root, I can go to /bin or /logo but can not list any file.
I killed dsod too.
 
If type ls screen blanks and promt dissapears. When press ENTER, promt appears again.

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1539 on: January 30, 2013, 08:30:39 pm »
This is a Voltcraft DSO-1062D and I want a DSO5202B as target.

and still does not matter, Voltcraft DSO-1062D is nothing else than Hantek DSO-5062B which is Tekway DST1062B <- therefore the DSO name you need to change from is /dst1062b. You wish to change to Hantek DSO5303B, which is nothing else than Tekway DST1202B  <- therefore you have to change to /dst1202b.


I'm logged as root, I can go to /bin or /logo but can not list any file.
If type ls screen blanks and promt dissapears. When press ENTER, promt appears again.

i have no idea what you doing, when you in, and you killed dsod and dso.exe you should see dirs and files ...
but hey, maybe you shoudl ensure you killed really all

killall dso.exe
killall dsod

when there is no process to kill, linux wil tell you this. Simply type it few times (and push enter key hehe), ok?
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1540 on: January 31, 2013, 07:09:02 am »
I start the oscilloscope.

I see all the boot log through terminal aplication.

When the DSO has started: space control c ENTER.
root promt appears. Oscilloscope screen freezes.

killall dsod ENTER (if not the timer reboots the oscilloscope).

If I type ls ENTER the terminal screen clears completely and nothing appears.

If I hit ENTER again the root promt appears again.

I can go into bin directory if I type cd /bin ENTER.

I can go to logo directory if I type /logo ENTER.

But I can not list any file or directory if I do ls ENTER

vi /sys.inf ENTER clears terminal screen completely too, another ENTER shows promt again.

mv /dst1062b /dst1202b seems to work, I do not received any error about files not found.

I will try including killall dso.exe

Thank you again Tinhead.

Offline paul

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1541 on: January 31, 2013, 01:44:49 pm »
I have been testing the new firmware and checking if the delayed sweep bug has been fixed, I started to record the result (attached below) against the 1KHz  probe calibrator with the trigger point offset to 500uS  and then 1.000mS to see if any errors were cumulative. Which they are not, the error is the same at 1.000mS as it is at 500uS.

At first it looked as if the bug was fixed at 4K memory depth (with some small issues) a bit strange at 40K useless with 512K but still perfect at 1M

However with the offset / delayed sweep set to 1.002mS with 1M memory it all goes horribly wrong. See screen grab attached.

As this is a 1KHz square wave the rising edge should be just to left (a couple of pixels) of the middle of  the screen with a offset of 1.002ms. Not 184uS (2.3 squares, best estimate) as shown in the screen grab.
BTW it is spot on with 1.000mS, it just jumps over if you set more than 1.001mS.


Delayed Sweep Bug (Bug number 15 on Tinhead`s list) with firmware 1301114

 
Time Base   Error at memory depth.   
               4K         40K        512K          1M
200us     ok           ok           ok            ok
80           ok         -12us        ok           ok
40           ok         -6us        +94us       ok
20           ok         -3.2us     +297us*   ok
8             ok         +18us     +418us*   ok
4             ok         +10us     +459us     ok
2             ok         +29us*   +479us*   ok
800ns     1.8us    +41us*    +419us*  ok
400ns     900ns   +495us                    ok
200ns     440ns   +495us                    ok
80ns         *                                         ok

 * off the screen, trigger point adjusted (in stop) to find error time.
Delayed sweep set to 1.000mS,  using built in 1KHz calibrator.

(Sorry the table looks horrible, I have now attached it as a doc file)

Delayed sweep works, sort of, but use with caution.

Paul.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 10:44:05 am by paul »
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1542 on: February 01, 2013, 07:18:26 pm »
i've got new firmware - for testing - for 1Mpoint benchtop Tekway/Hantek/Voltcraft models, so if someone wish to test
it use this link:

http://www.mikrocontroller.net/attachment/168234/dst1kb_2.06.3_15202b_fact_130131.0_.zip

and let me know if you found something. I've checked with the bug list, and almost all bugs are fixed,
but few things are not yet as they should be.

Btw, check measure menu, all the "cryptic" named measurments got icons.
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1543 on: February 01, 2013, 07:36:22 pm »
I have been testing the new firmware and checking if the delayed sweep bug has been fixed, I started to record the result (attached below) against the 1KHz  probe calibrator with the trigger point offset to 500uS  and then 1.000mS to see if any errors were cumulative.

first of all thanks for the effort. If you don't mind, could you repeat your measurments with the firmware 130131.0 from link above?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2013, 09:34:56 pm by tinhead »
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1544 on: February 03, 2013, 09:26:36 am »
for 1Mpoint benchtop Tekway/Hantek/Voltcraft models

Just to be sure, that's the classic "B" model? because I have that, and I remember being able to do 1Mpoint, but now I've checked and now I can't select 1Mpoint, currently running FW 2.06.3(130114.0) maybe It's disabled in this version.
 

Offline mightyzen

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: nl
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1545 on: February 03, 2013, 11:18:23 am »
Just to be sure, that's the classic "B" model? because I have that, and I remember being able to do 1Mpoint, but now I've checked and now I can't select 1Mpoint, currently running FW 2.06.3(130114.0) maybe It's disabled in this version.

The 1Mpoint option is only available when a single channel is active.
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1546 on: February 03, 2013, 11:29:25 am »
The 1Mpoint option is only available when a single channel is active.

Just re-checked and nope, in this version (130114.0) it's disabled, can anyone double check that?
 

Offline mightyzen

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: nl
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1547 on: February 03, 2013, 11:39:07 am »
Just re-checked and nope, in this version (130114.0) it's disabled, can anyone double check that?

I'm running tinheads latest (test) version 130131.0 and 1M is enabled when only single channel active.
 

Offline carloscuev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Country: mx
    • Spanish Freescale Developers Forum
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1548 on: February 03, 2013, 11:59:20 am »
I'm running tinheads latest (test) version 130131.0 and 1M is enabled when only single channel active.

Just updated firmware to latest 130131.0 and I still can't :(
 

Offline fresher

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hantek - Tekway - DSO hack - get 200MHz bw for free
« Reply #1549 on: February 03, 2013, 12:50:31 pm »
Hi, first post her :)

I also have this Scope. I notice right now that the 1Mpoint option is only on 200us not available. When you turn to 400us or 80us than you can select 1Mpoint. Is this a bug??
« Last Edit: February 03, 2013, 12:52:21 pm by fresher »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf