Poll

How many cycles will the KeySight U1281A's detent spring last?

0-2000
7 (17.9%)
2k-4k
5 (12.8%)
4k-8k
14 (35.9%)
8k-16k
7 (17.9%)
>16k (most rubust meter ever made)
6 (15.4%)

Total Members Voted: 36

Author Topic: Handheld meter robustness testing  (Read 1149268 times)

Offline joeqsmithTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: Handheld meter electrical robustness testing.
« Reply #2350 on: February 04, 2018, 12:15:37 am »
Oh, no! You know now that you are mandated by TEA law to amend your warning statements, right?  "Warning: multimeters AND probes were harmed in the making of this video. TEA viewer discretion is advised."

I remember very well the HV probe discussion as I was interested in making one as well and even got the parts, etc. One thing lead to another and i still didn't find the time to finish this project...  :palm:

As a hobbyist, I enjoy designing and building projects like this and have respect for anyone who attempts them.   Making a DC probe is one thing but add over 10KV to the mix and top it off with AC responses in the MHz, it turns into several hours of play time. 

We are back in business.
https://youtu.be/kWOe803atvg

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2351 on: February 16, 2018, 12:19:00 am »
With the HV probe repaired and checked out, it's time to look at another meter.    I offered to let people pick the meter at 2000 subscribers and everyone wanted to see the 121GW.  Sadly the meter is still not available.   But I can offer to run another Fluke 87V which was peoples third pick after the Gossen.

We know the 87V I looked at could not come close to the performance of any of the the Chinese made Flukes I have looked.   I was asked about the revision of the meter I last ran and it was not the most recent.    What  I am thinking is to buy a brand new one, directly from Fluke and repeat all of the transient tests.  Maybe run a temperature sweep on it.