Author Topic: Help me choose my first DMM (Price gone wild in my country)  (Read 13617 times)

Offline wildTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello folks,
I'm new to this forum. I have been following Dave's youtube channel for about 2 years now, but only recently decided to pour some money to get something really done in this field.
I'm not an electronic engineer. I'm from the other branch of engineering. So I'm certainly not an expert, and I need an advice from you folks.

So a little background, I'm interested in robotics & RCs. I'm about to start a project with the goals to develop an RC drone of some sort, for hobby purpose. And in the long term I also want to build a solid understanding of electronics, because that will greatly complements my knowledge from my own field. I want to start purchasing all the instruments that are required to build a simple robotics lab. A decent multimeter comes on the top of my list.

I haven't start this project yet, but I expect the multimeter would be used to measure the circuitry related to DC, servo, and stepper motor controller, and also the circuitry for the transmitter and receiver of radio signals. For the next step I also have an interest in Electronic Control Unit for a combustion engine, because who wouldn't love a jet-powered drones.  ;D

So there's a lot of things to learn, I don't know how long it will take but I have to start with the first step, getting familiar with electronics. Need a good meter for that. I'm willing to spend about $100 for a nice digital multimeter, and I already set my eyes on several models from reputable brands for that tier. Note that this price are the nett price in my country to get those meters to my doorstep. And all I can say is that the price here deviate pretty bad from Amazon as my source of reference.

I consider buying the following meters:
Extech EX330 $89 (only $60 on Amazon)
Amprobe AM-530 $151 (only $76 on Amazon)  :o !!
Agilent U1232A $98 (costs $173 on Amazon)  :o !?