Poll

which one?

siglent sds1104x-e (stock/no hacks)
8 (57.1%)
rigol ds1054z ("free" unlock licence for all features)
6 (42.9%)

Total Members Voted: 14

Author Topic: Help me chose my first oscilloscope  (Read 8625 times)

Offline NEoXTopic starter

• Contributor
Help me chose my first oscilloscope
« on: August 12, 2018, 09:34:16 pm »
Hi! I'm new here on forum! :box:

So, I'm a student of electrical engineering  8) and I want to buy an oscilloscope to learn more about stuff and have in mind some projects to do. At the moment I'm working on project "supervision of pellet furnace" with ESP8266 and automatic refilling. For that project I build my own schematic and board, but it has some problems and I want to debug it.
So I need an oscilloscope, and also in next semester I have a course about oscilloscope and measure.

My budget is 450€ max!  :-BROKE

1. I was looking at some models like Rigol ds1054z but i don't know if this scope is best buy for that money in 2018. (I will unlock to 100MHz if still can and all other things like I2C,RS232...)

2. My main interest is digital electronic/microcontrollers/serial comunications (I2C,UART,RS232....)

3. I want to buy a product that I can use for long, long time as a student and to do hobby stuff with it and maybe one day for work  :blah: :blah:

Please suggest me some oscilloscopes that will last.

Thanks!

Sorry if this topic doesn't belong here.  :popcorn:

Offline pilotchup

• Supporter
Re: Help me chose my first oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 09:57:46 pm »
At that price range, you only have a few options.

The Rigol you mentioned, probably one of the best options.
The Keysight 1000 series, only 2ch though (well, 2.5ch you can say)
The Siglent SDS1000X-E series scopes - thinking about this myself.
Or there's also OWON that make Zynq based scopes

Basically, at that price range, you have the Rigol or Keysight and then any other scope that is based of the Zynq FPGA MCU, in my opinion.