Author Topic: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode  (Read 4318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nwfall

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: ru
Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« on: April 26, 2019, 03:25:43 am »
Hello everyone! I just bought a new Rigol DS1054Z!
But it seems like there is a problem with it  :-[
I'm not quite sure, maybe this is normal behavior... Please tell me if i'm doing something wrong.

I'm using single trigger mode to capture the signal waveform (it is shown on first two frames of attached image). I'm dialing horizontal scale and position knobs to inspect different places of the waveform.
Then, at random moment, a glitch suddenly appears on the waveform at random place - the waveform becomes corrupted. As far as I understand the waveform shouldn't change in stop mode, because it is stored in memory, right?
Ok, I'm dialing knobs again to take a closer look at the glitch and getting even more glitches. Not right away, but again, at random moments. Theese glitches appears during manipulations with the horizontal knobs.

I'm new to digital scopes. Is the scope has a malfunction? Or it is a normal behavior?

Software version: 00.04.04.04.01
Board version: 0.1.4
Boot version: 0.0.1.5
Firmware version: 0.2.3.11



 

Online ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5544
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2019, 03:53:31 am »
This does look like a bug of some sort.

So those glitches are not static, but appear and disappear wen you switch time scale from some value to some other value, and back to the original value?

Try saving the waveform on a USB drive and see if those glitches are present in the saved files as well.

Alex
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9603
  • Country: 00
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2019, 04:27:07 am »
I'm new to digital scopes. Is the scope has a malfunction? Or it is a normal behavior?

Definitely not normal.

Apply the latest firmware. Send it back if it still happens.
 

Offline nwfall

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: ru
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2019, 04:46:17 am »
So those glitches are not static, but appear and disappear wen you switch time scale from some value to some other value, and back to the original value?
Try saving the waveform on a USB drive and see if those glitches are present in the saved files as well.
Correct, glitches may appear when switching time scale back and forth and/or changing horizontal position. But glitches does not dissapear. They persist until I make a new waveform capture.
In attachment i used the standard 1khz compensation output of the scope. Caught a glitch and took a photo. Saved>cleared>loaded and took another photo.
So glitches do present in the saved files.

Now I'm trying to update firmware, hope this will help...
 

Offline nwfall

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: ru
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2019, 04:50:57 am »
Firmware update didn't solved the problem, still having glitches  :-[
 

Online ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5544
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2019, 04:54:12 am »
This looks like some memory issue. Just for fun, I would do a USB capture. But really, it is a broken scope, return it.
Alex
 

Online RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: ro
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2019, 05:15:46 am »
It's a defect.  Probably some RAM problems, don't know.  Definitely not normal.

If I were you, I will return that oscilloscope.  It's broken.

Offline ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2754
  • Country: de
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2019, 05:22:22 am »
Firmware update didn't solved the problem, still having glitches  :-[

Sorry to read about the bad luck you have with your new scope. It is certainly uncommon to have that kind of flaw; first time this has ever been reported on this forum, to my knowledge.

I hope you bought the scope from a decent dealer, and they will replace it without further hassle!
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2019, 12:52:40 pm »
I've seen that on mine as well. I don't see any other issues however. I think it is rather a bug, probably they all have it if you play back and forth with the capture.

Edit: Added screen shot. I'm curious if this a defect and I need to return mine or just a brand new, freshly reported bug.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2019, 01:18:22 pm by Miti »
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1865
  • Country: us
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2019, 01:10:24 pm »
Mine certainly doesn't do that.   

You have glitches; return the scope to the vendor and get another one.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2019, 01:19:42 pm »
Mine certainly doesn't do that.   

You have glitches; return the scope to the vendor and get another one.

Are you sure? It doesn't show up easily on mine. I had to play for few minutes.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2019, 01:45:58 pm »
I couldn't get mine to do it again but I found another glitch. On a single screen capture with the trigger point in the middle of the screen, after moving the capture left - right few times, the trigger point suddenly moved to the right side of the capture. I'm not sure if this makes sense, if I can duplicate it I'll take a screen shot.

Edit: Apparently it only shows up when cold, on mine.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2019, 01:53:52 pm by Miti »
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline nwfall

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: ru
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2019, 03:22:31 pm »
I contacted the vendor, described the issue and he forwarded it to RIGOL. So now I'm waiting for reply...
Miti, your screenshot looks very similar to my issue. I found that it easier to catch the glitch when i'm changing horizontal scale in/out very fast and moving horizontal position in between. It still happens when I changing scale in regular way, just not so soon.
 

Online RoGeorge

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: ro
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2019, 06:24:36 pm »
I've seen that on mine as well. ... I think it is rather a bug

Doesn't look like a software bug.  If it were to be a bug, it should affect most of the other DS1054Z oscilloscopes as well, yet this doesn't happen to others.

Mine doesn't show corrupted waveforms on stop mode.

Later edit:
How did you manage to get 125Msa/7.5M pts on Mem Depth on Auto?  Whatever I do, mine doesn't go to that combination of speed/points.  Nevermind, it goes to that combination for time base at 5ms/div, sorry.

What firmware version do you have?

(To check the firmware version normally, press UTILITY -> SYSTEM -> SYSTEM INFO in the “MENU” buttons group, but to check for more software details (undocumented):
Quickly press buttons MENU -> MENU -> FORCE -> MENU on “TRIGGER” buttons group, then go to info panel by pressing buttons UTILITY -> SYSTEM -> SYSTEM INFO in the “MENU” buttons group.)
« Last Edit: April 26, 2019, 06:37:08 pm by RoGeorge »
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5812
  • Country: 00
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2019, 06:27:44 pm »
DS-1104Z and friend's 1054Z that I used intensively never have this kind of problem.

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2019, 08:54:11 pm »
Quote from: RoGeorge link=topic=182934.msg2369412#msg2369412 date
Doesn't look like a software bug.
What firmware version do you have?

You're right, probably Rigol pushes the memories to the limits of their specs and some simply can't do it in certain circumstances. I bet there are many out there showing this glitch, is just pretty hard to catch. But then why only when scrolling left and right or zooming in and out? I haven't seen any other anomaly.
I just upgraded mine last week so it has the latest firmware 04.04.04.02.
We'll see what the resolution is for the OP.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2019, 08:56:36 pm »
DS-1104Z and friend's 1054Z that I used intensively never have this kind of problem.

Have you used intensively the scrolling and zooming feature?
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #17 on: April 26, 2019, 09:55:11 pm »
Yeap, it shows up pretty fast in the first couple of minutes after power up. Once it is warm, nada.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9603
  • Country: 00
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #18 on: April 26, 2019, 11:18:14 pm »
Yeap, it shows up pretty fast in the first couple of minutes after power up. Once it is warm, nada.

Sound like bad solder somewhere.

nb. It could get worse with time, if it's a brand new 'scope then get it exchanged ASAP.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2019, 11:22:29 pm by Fungus »
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #19 on: April 27, 2019, 02:44:28 am »
I contacted my vendor and I sent screen shots. A very nice gentleman there promised he''ll contact Rigol to see if they know anything about this issue. Most likely I'll get an RMA number.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1865
  • Country: us
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #20 on: April 27, 2019, 03:08:37 am »
Mine certainly doesn't do that.   

You have glitches; return the scope to the vendor and get another one.

Are you sure? It doesn't show up easily on mine. I had to play for few minutes.

Do you have to twirl two knobs at once in order to see the glitches?

Yes, I use scrolling and zooming very often. But I only turn one knob at a time!
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Online Miti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 422
  • Country: ca
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #21 on: April 27, 2019, 03:23:02 am »
No, only one knob at a time. Do this when cold, as soon as it boots up:

1. Connect the CH1 probe to the calibration output
2. Set the timebase to 500us
3. Press SINGLE to capture one waveform
4. Move POSITION left and right quickly while observing the waveform for artifacts.

On my scope they show up within 25 to 50 moves.
That big spark at power up was by design!
 

Offline form

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #22 on: April 27, 2019, 05:10:22 am »
I got the same new scope yesterday and i just noticed the exact same problem  :-BROKE

Here is a video of when the glitch happens:


The glitch happens at timecode 0:26.

Software version: 00.04.04.04.02
Board version: 0.1.4
Boot version: 0.0.1.5
Firmware version: 0.2.3.11
(All the same as yours)
 

Online ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5544
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #23 on: April 27, 2019, 05:13:32 am »
This is interesting. I've got the scope shortly after they first appeared, and I don't remember doing any software upgrades, just the feature unlock stuff. I used it quite a bit and did not notice anything like that. I'll check it again when I get home.
Alex
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1865
  • Country: us
Re: Help: Rigol DS1054Z waveform corruption in stop mode
« Reply #24 on: April 27, 2019, 05:34:37 am »
No, only one knob at a time. Do this when cold, as soon as it boots up:

1. Connect the CH1 probe to the calibration output
2. Set the timebase to 500us
3. Press SINGLE to capture one waveform
4. Move POSITION left and right quickly while observing the waveform for artifacts.

On my scope they show up within 25 to 50 moves.

OK, I'll try to reproduce using your instructions. But first... does this technique correspond to any actual use case of the scope?

I know that I generally warm the scope up for some minutes before I am ready to use it -- or it is ready to use. In fact to perform this test I'll have to shut down and let it cool off for a while.  :-DD

Old valve man me. And I know the encoders are physically sensitive and the software is velocity-sensitive so I use "safecracking fingers" when I twiddle the knobs.
 
I mean, my car isn't malfunctioning but if I start wiggling the steering wheel back and forth without a clear purpose in mind I might soon find it doing something I don't like, too.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf