Author Topic: How good are these PicoTech scopes?  (Read 29134 times)

Offline iceisfunTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
How good are these PicoTech scopes?
« on: July 04, 2013, 07:50:53 pm »
I am looking for a scope and have found these PicoScope things that also do logic, but its a lot of money for something with so few reviews. Does anyone have one of these things and how do they stack up?

PicoScope 3204 MSO 60 MHz mixed-signal oscilloscope with AWG

http://www.picotech.com/document/datasheets/PicoScope3200.pdf

• Regular Contributor
Re: How good are these PicoTech scopes?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 07:54:38 pm »
I should mention what I want to do also, I'm pretty new to electronics stuff with a strong programmer background.

I mean to get into pics, logic and fpga stuff, also interested in memory buses and other logic stuff. It might even be fun to implement a 8088 family project or something similar

Offline Ziltoid

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 08:28:57 pm »

Offline jpb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2013, 09:06:38 pm »

That video is aimed at cheaper USB scopes. Picoscopes shouldn't be lumped in the same category.

I've not used one but I did investigate them before choosing to buy a different scope.

The pros are :

i.) small and portable.
ii.) generally lower cost for a given spec (though the cheap Chinese scopes perhaps are cheaper).
iii.) very good software support which doesn't cost extra and is upgraded (e.g. various serial decodes)
iv.) large display via a computer monitor

The cons are :
i.) low voltage (maximum is around 20V I think)
ii.) grounding depends on the grounding of your USB connection which might not be what you want
iii.) less convenient to use - people generally seem to find USB scopes a pain to use in terms of having to set things up with a keyboard and mouse rather
than twiddling knobs on a real scope