Author Topic: How is the new Keysight 1000 x series scope compared with other low cost scopes?  (Read 56745 times)

Online nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
The 1000X probes are a total non-issue. If you don't like them then throw them away and spend $30-$40 to buy new ones. Personally I never use the probes which come with a scope anyway. I have a whole bunch (10 or so) of identical probes from Testec.
Even if it is cheap to replace the probes, it's a matter of principle:
One is not supposed to replace the probes of a brand new oscilloscope up front.
On a low cost scope? Ofcourse! If you buy a new car you have to pay extra for decent tyres as well otherwise you'll get the cheapest crappy tyres the dealer can get their hands on.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
The 1000X probes are a total non-issue. If you don't like them then throw them away and spend $30-$40 to buy new ones. Personally I never use the probes which come with a scope anyway. I have a whole bunch (10 or so) of identical probes from Testec.

And if decent quality probes are really so cheap, how come Keysight has choosen to deliver the 1000X with the most crappiest probes on Earth?

Current product management at Keysight in a nutshell:

Lack of quality control.
Lack of responsibility.
Lack of accountability.
Lack of respect.
No long-term vision.
Key-sightless.
Do you own any Keysight scope?  You seems to be more concerned than the actual owners of 1000X scopes.

Offline pascal_sweden

• Super Contributor
On a low cost scope? Ofcourse! If you buy a new car you have to pay extra for decent tyres as well otherwise you'll get the cheapest crappy tyres the dealer can get their hands on.

We are talking about Keysight here. An A-brand if I recall correctly.
Note that Rigol and Siglent probes are much better quality!