Author Topic: How to calibrate Siglent SPD1000X / SPD3303X / SPD3303X-E series power supplies?  (Read 23357 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
The other day I got myself an SPD3303X-E (now converted to an SPD3303X). However, I had some questions:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/spd3303x-e-(unmodified)-curious-behavior-when-outputs-are-on/

The thread quickly turned to the question of how to calibrate these devices. I'd try dumping memory, etc, but there's no place to dump it to (unlike other Siglent devices there is nowhere to plug in a flash drive).

I installed NIVIEW and EasyPower and can connect to the device via USB (how I upgraded it) and I can use EasyPower's CmdCommandDlg to send SCPI commands to the device and get responses.

From a thread on the commands it appears to support, I found the following:

Code: [Select]
--Short Cmd-----------Long Cmd------------Set-Get-----Extended v1---------Extended v2--------
**READID                                  X
*CALCLS                                   X
*CALRCL                                   X
*CALST                                    X
*CPU                                          X
*DEL                                      X
*IDN                                          X
*LOCK                                     X   X
*RCL                                      X
*READALL                                      X
*SAV                                      X
*UNLOCK                                   X
*UPGRADE                                  X
CAL:CURR            CAL:CURRENT           X         CALIBRATION:CURR    CALIBRATION:CURRENT
CAL:VOLT            CAL:VOLTAGE           X         CALIBRATION:VOLT    CALIBRATION:VOLTAGE
CH1:CURR            CH1:CURRENT           X   X
CH1:VOLT            CH1:VOLTAGE           X   X
CH2:CURR            CH2:CURRENT           X   X
CH2:VOLT            CH2:VOLTAGE           X   X
CLREEPROM                                 X
CURR                CURRENT                   X
DHCP                                      X   X
FACTORY                                   X   X
GATE                GATEADDR              X   X
IDN-SGLT-PRI                                  X
INST                INSTRUMENT            X   X
IP                  IPADDR                X   X
IPST                                      X   X
MAC                                       X   X
MASK                MASKADDR              X   X
MEAS:CURR           MEAS:CURRENT              X     MEASURE:CURR        MEASURE:CURRENT
MEAS:POWE           MEAS:POWER                X     MEASURE:POWE        MEASURE:POWER
MEAS:VOLT           MEAS:VOLTAGE              X     MEASURE:VOLT        MEASURE:VOLTAGE
OUTP                OUTPUT                X
OUTP:TRACK          OUTPUT:TRACK          X
OUTP:WAVE           OUTPUT:WAVE           X   X
SCDP                                      X
SRLN                                      X   X   
SYST:ERR            SYST:ERROR                X     SYSTEM:ERR          SYSTEM:ERROR
SYST:STAT           SYST:STATUS               X     SYSTEM:STAT         SYSTEM:STATUS
SYST:VERS           SYST:VERSION              X     SYSTEM:VERS         SYSTEM:VERSION
TIME                TIMER                 X
TIME:SET            TIMER:SET             X   X
VIRKEY                                    X
VOLT                VOLTAGE                   X

I found *unrelated but interesting* SCPI calibration commands for a different PSU in another forum:

https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/equipment-and-tools/281868-source-firmware-software-programmable-power-supply.html#post4503727

Siglent seems to use a subset of typical SCPI commands, possibly with very different options.

The interesting commands are likely the ones starting in `*CAL` and `CAL:` here. However, every actual setting I've tried leads to a `SYSTEM:ERROR?` output of `9  Data out of range` (beeping accompanies such errors most of the time).

Code: [Select]
`*CALST` works with no errors
`CAL:CURR 0.00` gives the error but doesn't beep
`CAL:CURR 0.000` gives the error and beeps
`CAL:VOLT 0` and every permutation I've tried gives the error and beeps

Given that, I'm not even sure those arguments are sufficient or correct (I tried adding an extra number with and without commas to no effect.

Not sure what `*CALCLS` and `*CALRCL` are about. I suspect they (with `*CALST`) represent the set of "store/clear-stored/recall" operations, but I've no idea what context those are used in.

I'm told that a password (as mentioned for the unrelated PSU) isn't required.

`FACTORY?` is by default off, but I've tried this process with `FACTORY on` with no greater success (nor any other obvious effect).

Other commands I've tried from the list are effective to their purpose, so I know I'm on the right track, but I'm not sure what the process, command order, and command arguments are to achieve success with calibrating this.

(And yes, this was calibrated from the factory before I bought it but I'd like to fine-tune it, especially now that it's using an extra decimal place of precision. Besides, it's very useful knowledge.)
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
[ outdated reply removed ]

From a later post the Service manual is now available with Cal procedures outlined:
http://old.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Documents/manual/SPD3000X_Service_Manual.pdf
« Last Edit: July 29, 2020, 09:06:11 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: sjm

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
So far it's been... educational. I'm making use of PyVISA as the EasyPower CmdControlDlg is pretty painful.

Edit: It doesn't seem to be worth the effort without more information.

I saw your other post but thought it was just an old version of EasyPower - but clearly EasyTest is something else entirely, and I'm not sure where to get that...

I'll dig through the SDG scripts you referenced.

If I must contact Siglent directly, is there a preferred/expedient way? (PM me that answer if you prefer.)

That said, calibrations don't last forever: all the devices used to calibrate this have their own cal due date, yet the PSU itself does not (at least, not anywhere on the cal sheet). So how long is a factory calibration supposed to be good for, and what is one supposed to do after that time period?
« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 08:56:15 pm by MartyMacGyver »
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Where are you Marty as your profile gives no clues ?  :-//

Inquires to any of the branches will go through to local tech support that can answer most questions but of course this cal info shouldn't be in the public domain so that users don't brick their equipment.  :scared:
Generally cal is valid for 12 months however after looking through the SPD documentation a week or two for you I couldn't find any recommended cal interval.  :-//
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline Rerouter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4694
  • Country: au
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
The scripts Tautech linked are for the signal generators, Which work on a very different process to the power supply (doesn't reference any of the command for it)

Siglent seem to "borrow" definitions for commands from other manufacturers in places, so this may be a good place to start
http://literature.cdn.keysight.com/litweb/pdf/5959-3362.pdf
 

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
Where are you Marty as your profile gives no clues ?  :-//

Inquires to any of the branches will go through to local tech support that can answer most questions but of course this cal info shouldn't be in the public domain so that users don't brick their equipment.  :scared:
Generally cal is valid for 12 months however after looking through the SPD documentation a week or two for you I couldn't find any recommended cal interval.  :-//
Ah, I never got around to filling that out - fixed it. I'm in the USA.

I appreciate the info you've been able to help with so far. Hopefully I can get this completed soon.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
All the public contact info is here:
https://www.siglentamerica.com/contact-us/

The scripts Tautech linked are for the signal generators, Which work on a very different process to the power supply (doesn't reference any of the command for it)
Yes and they use Pysion for calibration however the SW and HW needed is listed in their service manuals whereas we don't have service manuals for SPD PSU's..........yet......not even on the Chinese website.  :-//

Might shoot an email off to see if there's one available.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
All the public contact info is here:
https://www.siglentamerica.com/contact-us/
Sounds good!

Edit: It's been interesting but as the original issue was the device acting strangely (there were a couple other glitches I didn't write down) and not being too well-calibrated to begin with (just comparing the two channels), I think I'm going to exchange it and cross my fingers.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 08:59:50 pm by MartyMacGyver »
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
It's been interesting but as the original issue was the device acting strangely (there were a couple other glitches I didn't write down) and not being too well-calibrated to begin with (just comparing the two channels), I think I'm going to exchange it and cross my fingers.
So are you saying it doesn't meet the datasheet spec ?  :-//
Please check the accuracy spec listed on P4/5
http://www.siglentamerica.com/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2017/10/SPD3303X_DataSheet_DS0503X-E01A.pdf
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
The outputs were a little off, not sure if at the edge of spec or just outside of them. There were a few glitches when I first got it, particularly involving the displayed readings (sometimes they'd be WAY off for no apparently reason).

After lots and lots of trying to figure it out and rectify it, it's only that much worse now. Rather than beat my head against the wall |O anymore this weekend, I'll look at my options next week and go from there (seller RMA, manufacturer, or credit card coverage). It's already eaten a solid day and that's enough given the lack of information.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
I saw your other post but thought it was just an old version of EasyPower - but clearly EasyTest is something else entirely, and I'm not sure where to get that...
Well after a few minutes hunting it seems like here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/easytest/

With a link to here:
https://github.com/EasyTestTeam/EasyTest

So it might seem all we need now are the Calibration scripts.  :popcorn:
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline MartyMacGyverTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
... and the calibration equipment necessary. I now have a better appreciation for electronic load testers, one piece of equipment I am least likely to ever have a reason to buy (unlike the rest of this stuff I have handy).

(Edit: also, good find! I hunted for several minutes trying to find it, but I also assumed it was Siglent-specific so that influenced my search parameters.)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2019, 06:41:43 am by MartyMacGyver »
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
On the matter of Service manuals for these Siglent PSU's, English manuals for SPD3303C and SPD3303X/X-E are currently being prepared and should be online and available to download within a few weeks.

I have a 900KB copy for SPD3303C if anyone wants/needs it.
PM your email and I can send it.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: MartyMacGyver, tubularnut

Offline arturfra

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: it
Any news about spd3303x service manual or the procedure how to calibrate it? On mine i’ve the issue on the right part, if i set example 8.000 volt it say me 8.006 sigh! Anyone knows how i can solve this issue? Thanks
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Any news about spd3303x service manual or the procedure how to calibrate it? On mine i’ve the issue on the right part, if i set example 8.000 volt it say me 8.006 sigh! Anyone knows how i can solve this issue? Thanks
Nothing is up online yet sorry.....and yes I do check for the X/X-E service manual every few days.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: kj7e

Offline dkggpeters

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: us
Any news about spd3303x service manual or the procedure how to calibrate it? On mine i’ve the issue on the right part, if i set example 8.000 volt it say me 8.006 sigh! Anyone knows how i can solve this issue? Thanks

I have a SPD3303X-E that is hacked and if I put something like 8.000v is will say in the lower screen something like 8.003 ish.  When I actually measure the voltage is is within .001 of my input value which will read 7.999 or 8.001 on the DM.  It is of no concern to me since is is only about .0125%.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
On the matter of Service manuals for these Siglent PSU's, English manuals for SPD3303C and SPD3303X/X-E are currently being prepared and should be online and available to download within a few weeks.

I have a 900KB copy for SPD3303C if anyone wants/needs it.
PM your email and I can send it.
The SPD3303X/X-E Service manual is finished and should be online soon. It's a 2MB file and if anyone is desperate for it please PM your email to me and I can send it on through.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: chickenHeadKnob, tubularnut, arturfra, n3mmr

Offline Gian2975

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: it
Hi to all,
I have a problem on my SPD3303X-E power supply.
I converted to the X model.
Now I have this problem:
The power supply is no longer calibrated, I have an error of about 200mv
I lost the serial number

I am looking for the service manual to see if I can correct this problem.

I can't explain why the serial number has changed, it never happened to me.

Help is appreciated.

Best regard
Gianfranco
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
@ Gian2975
Yes you have made some error and maybe a recalibration might fix it. I dunno.
Got your PM so I'll email that SM to you soon.

Maybe try rolling the firmware version back to an earlier one and check for accuracy again.
Good luck.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline Gian2975

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: it
I thank tautech for the help given to me.
Fortunately having the necessary tools I was able to perform an even more accurate calibration.

Now the last step remains, I would like to restore the serial number.
Could someone help me?
Suspicion is a command to be used under the calibration software.

Every help is appreciated

Thank you
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3212
  • Country: pt
Could someone help me?

Send the SCPI command:

:SRLN <serial_number>

 

Offline Tjuurko

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 94
Сalibration method with SCPI command list:
http://old.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/Documents/manual/SPD3000X_Service_Manual.pdf

Chapter 3  Calibration channel parameters
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, kahuna0k

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Great, thank you.....I only checked the websites for this service manual a couple of days ago.
Edits need be made in earlier posts...........
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: Bad_Driver

Offline ArthurDent

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
  • Country: us
I was looking at a photo of the back of the Siglent SPD3303X power supply and it looked vaguely familiar. Here is that photo next to a drawing from the manual of my slightly older GW Instek PSM-2010 power supply. I'd say that these were made by the same company. Not unusual to see a lot of rebranding on a lot of different types of test equipment. 
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28136
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
I was looking at a photo of the back of the Siglent SPD3303X power supply and it looked vaguely familiar. Here is that photo next to a drawing from the manual of my slightly older GW Instek PSM-2010 power supply. I'd say that these were made by the same company. Not unusual to see a lot of rebranding on a lot of different types of test equipment.
For these 2 PSU's I doubt very much they're even closely similar except for a rear on view.
Quite a bit of Siglent's equipment is rebranded however off the top of my head I'm not aware of any of their PSU's.

Wanna do a 'I'll measure mine if you measure yours' ?  :P

Actually there's no need to get that personal as here's the SPD3303X measurements: 225(W)×143(H)×278(D) mm
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf