Author Topic: HP 3457A or 34410A?  (Read 5810 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AlfBaz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2153
  • Country: au
HP 3457A or 34410A?
« on: March 28, 2013, 01:15:36 pm »
Just wondering what peoples thoughts were if they had to choose between the two

The 3457A appeals to me cause you can get them a lot cheaper on ebay

The 34410A or11A is more but it has support, better display, better connectivity, more measurement types...

Its seems, at a quick glance, they both have similar accuracy and resolution. Are there any other things  should consider (being able to get the 3457A for about a third the price of the Agilent is a pretty strong point)
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7336
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 01:21:57 pm »
For sure 34410A calibration data is not stored in those pesky battery backup ram.  :-\

This factor alone is a good advantage point among others that worth a consideration against 3457A.

Offline AlphZeta

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 244
  • Country: us
    • Kerry D. Wong
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 01:26:33 pm »
Well, if money is not objection, I'd go for the 34410A 'cause it's more modern (not obsolete yet). Of course you pay a premium for that. But it all boils down to what you plan to do with it.

For hobby uses though, 3457A is more than adequate already :)
 

alm

  • Guest
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 01:39:28 pm »
If the features, form factor and display suit you, then the 3457A is a very inexpensive way (compared to the 3441xA) to get the high resolution. I haven't looked at recent eBay prices, but a few years ago you could get one for around the $200 mark.

The 3441xA series has several advantages, including features, speed, display, communication interfaces and support. You do pay quite a premium for these advantages, however. If price is a concern and you don't need the extra features, then I wouldn't mind buying a used 3457A.

As for the backup battery. Buy a new one for a few bucks, don't screw up the replacement, and you're good to go for ten years or so. I prefer leaving the meter powered on and using a floating (unplugged) soldering iron to desolder and solder the battery. You might want to consider temporarily connecting a second battery in parallel if your area has a flaky mains supply.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 01:44:45 pm by alm »
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2013, 01:41:28 pm »
Another vote for the 34410A if you can afford it, but neither if you don't really need the precision. They're both expensive; make sure you actually need it.

You might want to consider connecting a battery if your area has a flaky mains supply.

We have never lost power at my house, and I still do this. It'd be just my luck to have it go out for the first time while changing the backup battery on something expensive and expensive to adjust...
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 01:44:44 pm by c4757p »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline robrenz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3035
  • Country: us
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2013, 03:24:19 pm »
Yes I am a fanboy as you can tell by my avatar.  But if you are considering buying new 34410a I would seriously consider a  Fluke 8846A. Compare features, ranges, and specs for your self and see what is more bang for the buck.

Offline quarks

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 872
  • Country: de
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2013, 04:03:28 pm »
I have done a lot of comparisons and for me also the Fluke 8846A / TEK DMM 4050 seems to be the very best buy, when looking for a new Bench DMM.
 

Offline madshaman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 699
  • Country: ca
  • ego trans insani
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2013, 04:15:07 pm »
Another older meter to consider would be the Keithley 196, for some reason I just really really like it, I find myself shamefully plugging it everywhere since I bought one off of eBay.
To be responsible, but never to let fear stop the imagination.
 

Offline casinada

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 600
  • Country: us
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2013, 04:22:57 pm »
Is like comparing apples with bananas :)
I like my 3457A but is old school and only goes to 300V. The 3441X Agilents are the Current generation of Bench multimeters that means that they're fully supported, guarranty, much more connectivity, firmware updates, speed.........
 :)
 

Offline KJDS

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2442
  • Country: gb
    • my website holding page
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2013, 04:26:56 pm »
I've just got a pile of Keithley 2015THDs in stock

Offline AlfBaz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2153
  • Country: au
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2013, 01:03:08 am »
Thank you all for your replies.
Bit the bullet and just purchased a 3457A with the 44491 relay card. All up with postage to Oz around $400 (270+130postage)
My thinking is that if work pans out I'll get the 34410A in the near future.
I still have to build my lab and am looking to get controlled humidity and temperature. If I get back to full time employment I might even see if I can pony up the doe for a 3458A! There's one on ebay right now that's busted but they still want 3.5k!

Robrenz, Had a very quick look at the fluke specs but I need to spend some time to look at them and features closer. The one thing I found a little annoying is how shit fluke's web site is compared to Agilent's, no price (call for quote), and trying to navigate to their bench meters is not intuitive. Hoping their web designers are in a building far, far away from their meter interface designers :)
 

Offline robrenz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3035
  • Country: us
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2013, 01:46:27 am »
All the info you need is here for download.  Ask for a quote and you will get a lower price than posted.  Ask for a full calibration certificate when you purchase and it will be included for free. Dont forget to consider the trend plot feature, it is extremely usefull.

Offline AlfBaz

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2153
  • Country: au
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2013, 02:38:54 am »
All the info you need is here for download.  Ask for a quote and you will get a lower price than posted.  Ask for a full calibration certificate when you purchase and it will be included for free. Dont forget to consider the trend plot feature, it is extremely usefull.
Thank you.

It just struck me, I wonder if it would be a worth while investment to purchase a 240/120V transformer to take advantage of "cheaper" equipment available for the states
 

alm

  • Guest
Re: HP 3457A or 34410A?
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2013, 10:29:29 am »
Most modern equipment is switchable between mains voltages, either by a switch on the back or some internal jumpers. Equipment with a SMPS will usually accept anything from 100-250 V or so. Check the service manual before buying, because there are exceptions, like the HP power supply Dave bought a while ago. In general it's cheaper to produce just one unit for all the mains voltages, however.

For some older bench meters, you should also pay attention to the mains frequency. They used crystals for the ADC clock, and it would be a multiple of the mains frequency to reject mains interference from DC measurements. Changing from 60 Hz to 50 Hz would require a new crystal for best NMRR. The HP 3456A is an example of this. Newer equipment often uses a PLL to tune the ADC clock to the mains frequency.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf