Author Topic: Playing with MSO58  (Read 3241 times)

Offline MurayamaTopic starter

Playing with MSO58
« on: August 01, 2018, 12:29:16 pm »
Hello everybody!

That's my first contribution to this website. At least I don't remember having written
anything. Today I would like to talk about a few odd things I noticed when using
Tektronix' MSO58. There are a few demonstrations out there, but I was looking for
something more down to earth, how is the daily use. As there is apparently very
few posts talking about it, here is a first run.

Some background: I have been using Teks for ages, starding from a very old analog
465 I was given, then a TDS 460A that I was also given. Now I have a MSO3000, about
8 years old, doing fine but which can get quite slow. I'm consiering the purchase of
an MSO58 because as an encoder designer, I need 6 high resolution channels. Not an
absolute need, I can do it with my MSO3000, but it would be more convenient, and
with a few extra digital channels, it would be perfect.

Tektronix has allowed me a free ride for a week. This week. Thanks guys! (although
I'm almost sure none of them is reading this message).

My first big surprise: I wanted to use SPI. I plugged the digital probe and set the
signals to the proper pins. Until here, no surprise. But I pressed the button for bus,
set it to SPI, and here I had only 3 signals: SCLK, SS and Data Input. No data output.
I contacted Tek, and it's not a bug, it's a feature. If you want the return channel,
you have to instantiate a new bus. Isn't that silly or is it just me? Check attached picture
SpiConfig.png.

Check the result in SpiBusAlone. What a loss of space if you dont' display the waveforms.
There is a lot of space on that screen, but is it a reason to use that much?
On top of that, if you have both MISO and MOSI (therefore 2 buses) and want to display
bus and waveforms, you end up with 2 identical clocks, one in each bus window.