Author Topic: I want a R&S NGE 103  (Read 545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
I want a R&S NGE 103
« on: September 29, 2020, 03:08:01 pm »
Hi, i want to buy a good PSU with 3 channels.

The NGE 103 is more then 1000,- it is very expensive for me,
if i read online i seel all sorts of problem with this thing.
Why is the quality so different then the other more expensive PSUs R&S sells ?
It is not worth over 1000,- it need to be lower, 900 and i would consider.

What else can i buy ? another broken peaktech 6225A for 75,- to get + 15 and - 15 volt.
I also need a oscilloscope and the R&S is ripping you off with firmware updates for cash.
I hope this PSU dont need anything extras to buy, the cables are expensive enough.

So is it really not worth the money ?
thanks
 

Offline KaneTW

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: de
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2020, 03:54:01 pm »
Well, I haven't tried the NGE series, but I'm very happy with my HMC8043. And yes, it's expensive. But that's how it is with quality equipment.
 

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2020, 04:17:22 pm »
Yes i was always looking at the HMC8043, only the price is increased last year.
1500 euro is it now, the HMC8041 is what the price was of the 8043 for 1200.
If i pay 1500 i might as well take the one from 1800,- the  HMP 2030, only i have not so much money.

They release a bad model and increase the prices for all models so you buy the cheaper one.

I just have to buy it and find out, money is worth nothing.
Maybe i can find it somewhere for 900 new ?, i go mail them shops for discount.
 

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2020, 04:36:26 pm »
One more thing, i see no power button, only on front, that looks like always stand-by or not ?
I might not use it for months, that cost energy for nothing.
 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Country: de
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2020, 09:18:03 pm »
Have you seen the video by eHajo?

ht*****tps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wFbIlUiwg-Q

In contrast to the HMC8043 with its "soft button" in front and the "real switch" in the back - the same as with my HMC8012 multimeter, the NGE103 has clearly no soft button for stand-by usage but a real switch, like an old analogue Scope.

You can hear the switching sound at 2:21 min. in the video; also have a look at the depth of the switch.



...the switch it is also marked with O and I:




PS: I don't have one - only from observation...  ;)


Cheers!
Due to the massive "EEVblog forum attachement bug", I am now using an external picture hoster, till it is solved...
 

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2020, 11:27:01 am »
Tell me not to buy it before its to late.
I,m gonna mail the shop now for free cables.
 

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2020, 11:36:55 am »
Yes i seen the video, and the LEDS die because of the PSU slow safety-check.
Will my opamps burn also ?
 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Country: de
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2020, 01:29:17 pm »
In this price class you should ask for a demo unit for a week or so, to test at least your main projects, whether it works or not.

I would refer to the video and that you are afraid of your components because of the slow switching time, thus you want to check it before buying and not being disappointed in the end.  :'(

Good Luck!!!  :-+
Due to the massive "EEVblog forum attachement bug", I am now using an external picture hoster, till it is solved...
 

Offline KaneTW

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: de
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2020, 05:03:20 pm »
Be careful with using normal PSUs for powering components directly. They're not designed for that; too large output capacitance. That's what a SMU is for usually. BUT: it's probably fine. At least the HMC8043 has a softstart and I've been fine powering LEDs on it even with large voltage setting. Probing the voltage/current waveforms it soft-ramped the voltage over a short while and backed off once it hit the current limit, so there was only mild overshoot.
 

Offline ch_scr

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: de
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2020, 08:29:26 pm »
Batronix has some 15% reduced new-but-fully-optioned NGE103
https://www.batronix.com/versand/labornetzteile/Rohde-Schwarz-NGE-COM3a.html
If you need (W)LAN control it might be worth it, if USB is all you need maybe find a demo unit elsewhere.
 

Offline Jan Audio

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 520
  • Country: nl
Re: I want a R&S NGE 103
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2020, 03:26:49 pm »
Thanks, i was looking to the 103B, sounds better.
i am a GW fanboy now, and i dont feel ripped off.
Sorry R&S you are to overpriced, i dont want anything of you no more.
I did not know about the new GW PSU, i havent looked lately.

« Last Edit: October 01, 2020, 03:29:58 pm by Jan Audio »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf