Author Topic: HP 70K/HP 70000 Modular Measurement System Thread  (Read 22056 times)

Offline pquadrat

• Regular Contributor
Re: HP 70K/HP 70000 Modular Measurement System Thread
« Reply #50 on: January 24, 2022, 08:03:24 pm »
Hi all
My name is Paul Bicknell and I live on the south coast in England

Although I am new to this site I have been playing with HP 70 K for a few years now
And I might know a few of you from the Groups IO site 

I am presently trying to decide on the replacement capacitors to rebuild the power supplies in
3 off 70900 A local oscillators that have failed

My next project is to modify a 70900 B local oscillators to have
The latest firmware and 512 K of memory upgrade
also the receiver personality could anyone please help me with the following

Dear PQUADRAT  Could I take you up on your offer of how you did your upgrade
Also could you please let me have the make and part numbers of the sockets you used
For your upgrade of the firmware memory ?
Also What equipment do I require to program the firmware / ROM chips for the 70900B ?

Could you also explain the memory upgrade hopefully a picture before and after the 512 K memory upgrade

I have a 8705A 512K memory card how can I find out what is on it  ?
Can anyone help me with putting the receiver personality onto the 8705A 512K memory card ?

Regards Paul   PS sorry about the long list
Hi Paul,

For the capacitors I use good quality Panasonic ones, working perfect.

All my picture of the upgrade are in this thread. I don't have more.

the RAM Chips are: TC551001BFL-70
The EPROMs are  Intel N27C010-150, AMD AM27C010-150, or Flash chips 28F010 also work.
ROM content is on the net, You will have it.

I did use sockets on the first one, PLCC28 sockets should fit. But I had more problems with the sockets, so I soldered the other two boards without sockets.

For the RAM Upgrade, You have to change one PAL. Type is PALCE16V8. Not many programmers can programmers can program it. File is attached.