Author Topic: HP E4406A Questions  (Read 487 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
HP E4406A Questions
« on: September 22, 2019, 03:45:07 pm »
Does anyone have activation codes or licenses for the E4406A personalities?

I installed a better flash memory board and updated the firmware.  I am getting a message that "synthesizer calibration coefficients" are not loaded.  Is there a way I can correct this?

Richard
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2019, 08:07:29 pm »
I upgraded to the latest firmware version when I purchased this instruments five years ago.
If I remember correctly the update software, before proceeding with the update, asks to save the calibration coefficients and saves them in a folder.
After the update you are asked to top up these coefficients (it seems to me that the procedure is not automatic).

Regarding the licenses, looking in this forum, there are instructions for activate them (the procedure requires good computer skills).

Could you tell me the HP part number of the Flash card (I guess it's the 64MBytes type) you updated?
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2019, 08:34:11 pm »
Thanks for your reply.

The card I purchased from eBay is HP part number: E4406-60236-79-0403-00075.

I have the HP maintenance floppy and downloaded settings from the original card onto a blank floppy.  After I installed the new eBay card and updated the firmware to 10.7 (latest), I started up the E4406A with the backup floppy in the disk drive.  The instrument ran the drive and appeared to load the data from the floppy.  However, the synthesize cal error continued to appear.

I have received help with the licenses from this board, thanks.

Richard
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2019, 08:04:43 pm »
I continue here because in PM I can't attach files.
I am attaching the folder with my configuration.
You should have two similar folders in both the E4406A and the floppy you used to upgrade.
If I remember correctly the calibration data should be in the "EPROM1" file.
If the files do not match (not with mine that I sent you now, but yours!) or are not present on the E4406A,
the error message you receive is explained.
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2019, 10:53:27 pm »
Thanks!  It's great to get some help with this!  I appreciate your expertise.

This file looks a bit like the one saved on the backup floppy I made.

I will check it out.

Richard
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2019, 12:58:58 am »
My EPROM1 file has zero bytes when I FTP to it on the E4406A. 

I had trouble moving your EEPROM1 file from a pen drive over to the E4406A via FTP.  The PC also did not want to copy any of the files you sent over to the backup floppy.

The Mac seems to handle this just fine, so I just copied all the CONFIG files you sent over to the backup floppy using my Mac.

I just tried loading the files via the floppy drive on the E4406A and IT WORKED!!  No error message.  THANKS!

It is so great to fix this error.  It was not that important, I guess, but it was annoying!

Richard


 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2019, 04:40:07 am »
The error message then was due to the "EEPROM1" file with zero bytes.
However you have not completely eliminated the problem yet because you put my file with the calibration data of my E4406A!
You should search and put the original file of your E4406A otherwise your instrument is not calibrated. (or you should perform a complete calibration of the instrument, a titanic undertaking |O).
Before removing the old Flash memory from your instrument you should have saved the configuration because it is through the old flash memory that you can get the right "EEPROM1" file you need!

P.S. The firmware A.10.08 (about 32MBytes) has been removed from the Keysight site, I can send it if you give me an email in PM.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2019, 04:58:19 am by picburner »
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2019, 07:05:24 am »
Thanks.  I did run the utilities disk and it backed up the old flash memory onto a blank floppy.  I don't know why the EEPROM1 file on that floppy was empty.

I guess I could FTP into the E4406A with the old flash board in place and manually save out the the EEPROM1 file.

Does that make sense?

Richard
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2019, 07:12:52 am »
I guess I could FTP into the E4406A with the old flash board in place and manually save out the the EEPROM1 file.
Does that make sense?

I think the thing is feasible.
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2019, 04:00:05 pm »
Is there a way to read and write HP-UX data on a DOS formatted floppy on the PC?  When I try to look at data on the backup floppies on a PC, I get error messages that the data are corrupted.  I can see the files (e.g, EEPROM1) in a command window, but not their contents.  I can copy files from one folder to another on the Mac, but not see their contents.  In fact, oddly, the Mac inserts some other text from somewhere on the Mac when I try to view files like EEPROM1.

I am just trying to look at several backup floppies I made to see if the EEPROM1 data are recorded.

Where are you located?  I am in California, USA.

Richard
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2019, 04:04:30 pm »
Well, to answer my own question, there is a web site that supports reading HP-UX files at:

https://filext.com/file-extension/HP-UX

Many of the Config files are binary and so can't be read normally.

Richard
« Last Edit: September 29, 2019, 04:16:40 pm by RCHRDM »
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2019, 04:45:50 pm »
With my PC I can easily see the contents of all files without problems.

Where are you located?  I am in California, USA.

Um, we're very far apart, if you look at my flag you understand how much.
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2019, 03:11:55 am »
I took the instrument apart again and put in the original flash memory board.  I FTPed into the machine.  For some strange reason, the EEPROM1 file on that board is empty!  No cal files!  What happened to them?  I am pretty sure that the missing cal coefficients error message did not appear when I first got the instrument.

So, I am using your cal coefficients.  What effect might that have on my instrument?

Richard
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2019, 03:14:19 am »
picburner:

I got the 10.08 firmware update.  I ran it and was able to use the first part of the installer where you input the IP address.  I was surprised!  I have always had to use the non-functional instrument method.  It saved the settings out of the instrument during that process and it looks like they were all re-installed.

Thanks!

Richard
 

Offline picburner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 186
  • Country: it
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2019, 08:04:46 am »
So, I am using your cal coefficients.  What effect might that have on my instrument?

The instrument works but is not calibrated.
If you have a calibrated source (1mW @ 50MHz of a power meter for example) you can do a check.

I got the 10.08 firmware update.  I ran it and was able to use the first part of the installer where you input the IP address.  I was surprised!  I have always had to use the non-functional instrument method.  It saved the settings out of the instrument during that process and it looks like they were all re-installed.

Check, making a file compare, that the "EPROM1" file is not always mine!
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2019, 04:15:33 pm »
I will check the file.

I do have a calibrated signal source and will try that out later today.

Richard
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2019, 11:29:37 pm »
I am attaching a screen shot of what I see with a 50 MHz, 2 dBm input.  I checked and the signal generator is accurate.  The measurement seems too low.

Richard
 

Offline RCHRDM

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 111
  • Country: us
Re: HP E4406A Questions
« Reply #17 on: October 01, 2019, 04:08:41 am »
I checked this measurement on my digital oscilloscope too.  I measured the 50 MHz signal in Vrms at 50 ohms and converted to dBm using an online calculator.  The result was 1.4752 dBm, similar to the E4406A's measurement.

There's something basic I don't understand yet about these measurements.  Why are the E4406A and scope measurements less than 2 dBm?

Richard
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf